We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Manchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Manchester to your Saves list
Malmaison Manchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Close to the station and the city centre. I had room service one night and it was served promptly and was reasonably priced. The breakfast in the restaurant was very nice and the pastries were fresh and warm :-) Nice gym. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    445
    213
    99
    71
See reviews for
52
501
52
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Malmaison for the Robbie Williams concert. We arrived around 3:30pm and our room wasn't quite ready, so they took stored our luggage and offered us vouchers for a cocktail each at the bar. The place was bursting at the seams, but we managed to find a couple of spare seats so we sat at the bar. The service was quite slow, but they were really busy.

We didn't have to wait too long for the room (although it would have been annoying if we were on a tighter timeframe) and the room was great. Admittedly, not much of a view, but then the hotel's position is right across the street from Piccadilly Station, so we went for the convenience rather than the view.

The bed was extremely comfortable, clean and well appointed. The bathroom was stocked with great toiletries, and unlike other hotels there was more than just a "squeeze" of shampoo - there was more than enough for the two of us, with plenty left over.

One thing to note, the blackout curtains were VERY effective - so much so that we woke up thinking it was still the middle of the night...It was gone 9am and we had overslept! So, if you need to be up for a specific time, set your alarm!

Our rate included breakfast, which was excellent! We both had a version on eggs benedict, which we wolfed down (partly because we'd overslept and breakfast closed at 10am!) There was a wide range of choice, which I think would suit just about everyone.

And so to the raspberry mojitos - not for breakfast of course, but when we'd come in from the concert, we fancied a night cap. I'd spotted someone drinking one and they looked amazing, so I decided to try one (actually two!). If you go to Malmaison, Manchester make sure you have one (or two) ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here on a work trip for one night. The hotel and rooms were so dark, which is not my thing really. I was given a disabled room with a wet shower room, but the floor was not sloping in the direction of the drain so the water was running towards the bedroom and carpet instead. I had to put a few towels along the floor to stop the water from flooding the room. Apart from this, I had a good nights sleep and the breakfast was nice. A good selection of hot and cold food to wake me up before a long day at work was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

we have stayed here a few times and the rooms are very clean and comfy, the staff are well mannered and with a bit of bartering you can even get a bargain on the room!it walking distance from all amenities in Manchester center and a stones throw from manc train station

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

we booked here for a business night away the rooms were great but when going down to the bar we had a couple of rude staff upon asking if they sold snacks the bar tender went on to tell me they don't have free snacks which wasn't the question asked as nobody expected them to be free to then get another rude girl we left hotel for a night out when returning the door man stopped us walking in the hotel where we were staying and rudely asked for our room key like we were just trying to walk in with no apology for the way he spoke to us, we did report this when checking out but never heard anything back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I was staying one night. Staff was very helpfull with assistance if I liked to to anything. I place I can recommend to anyone. The bar on the hotel is good to get a night cab in. I can say gin and tonic is very good here and very friendly staff

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A really nice place to stay in a Manchester, definitely one of the nicest hotels in the area located in a good area. The hotel has a nice feel upon entering and the room we stayed in was really spacious. Likewise the bathroom and had everything we needed for a short stay.
The bar area is also great for a drink before heading out into the city. If I was staying in Manchester again I would definitely consider this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Address: Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
#40 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Malmaison Manchester 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.