We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Machester City Centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Manchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Manchester to your Saves list
Malmaison Manchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Machester City Centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

A good hotel in Machester city centre, however rooms are a little small for the price you pay. Very handy for Picadilly. Rooms are clean and well kitted out, but we found the bed quite firm and for me uncomfortabe. Breakfast selection is good and meals are excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    447
    213
    99
    71
See reviews for
53
502
52
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

after my meeting at the hotel i was off to the airport,i was asked by reception would i like a taxi ordered,i replyed i would use the b-cabs outside she told me they charge £35 and she could phone a private hire firm that charge £30 ok i said,with this i walked outside and asked the 1st cab on the rank how much to the airport he said no more than £22 so i got in the black cab and off we went,the driver explained the staff at the hotel have a thing going on with the private hire drivers who if they use them the driver gives them £5 and they charge the passenger £30 so they end up with £25.so the staff are using the guests to make money on the side.my fare in the black cab was on the meter and it clocked £21.30.

Room Tip: i did not sleep at the hotel,business meeting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I cannot rate the malmaison highly enough. My lifelong friend & I (an annual girls' trip) booked at a brilliant rate. Ate one of the best burgers I've ever eaten for lunch (home made bernaise & mayonnaise on the side) in the warm and relaxing restaurant. Staff were smiley, helpful and efficient - never more so that when they upgraded us to the Moulin Rouge Suite.
An amazing room, quirky touches (5ft deep tub in the lounge) really comfortable couches and a great bed.
Next day the lovely breakfast didn't disappoint. Very civilized dining times (finishing at 11am) the homemade bircher museli and yogurts were served in rustic wooden tubs. Great coffee (cafitiere) and perfect sized portions (sometimes off puttingly large) for eggs benedict.
finishing off with a relaxing (inclusive) back massage at the basement spa, with complimentary champagne.
Go to the Malmaison in Manchester - perfect location for station & shopping and some cool bars. But more importantly make sure you spend some time in the hotel - a definite recommendation from my friend and I.
Amanda, Cheltenham

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great hotel, the suite with the massive bath in the living room is amazing. Wasn't so keen on the Manchester suite however not their best suite, and we couldnt close a couple of the windows.
Very clean hotel, Breakfast generally good unless the hotel is packed with george Michael fans- just very busy - chaotic in fact. But I have stayed before when there were no George Michael fans and it was perfect.

Lunch from the grill restaurant is great, can recommend the burger.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is now an update on the below review that I did in 2011

I felt I had to update it because a couple of things have changed that I mentioned

One of the reason we wanted to return to this hotel was the cocktail bar Ember.

After checking their web site it said it was still there, however what the web site does not tell you, it is no longer open to Hotel guests, which we only found out on check in.

This was not only disappointing but crazy that paying hotel guests cannot use it any more, if we had known I would have booked the Raddisson Edwardian instead as they have a great cocktail bar.

Room this time was much bigger and just spot on and clean

Staff as before very friendly and helpful, although I have to say that the barman who was there during our whole stay needed some smiling lessons as he walked around with a long face all the time.

They also had no draft lager for the period we were there which in a city is unforgivable,

I still rate this hotel but see some cracks forming, don't let them get any worse

I have been visiting Manchester since the 1980,s and never get bored of it. Apart from the recent upset by a small number of morons, Manchester people are great.

I have stayed in many different hotels in Manchester, Midland, Hilton (don’t bother) Parkinn (don’t bother) Edwardian Raddisson, Lowry to name a few, but my last visit on 2nd of this month I stayed at the Malmaison on Piccadilly a boutique hotel.

Bit of a pain to get to by car, but there is a NCP car park in the next street, overpriced but ain’t they all.

Hotel is worth a mention and we would stay there again.

Now I am not saying the other hotels are not friendly (apart from the Hilton & Parkinn) but my god a breath of fresh air at the Malmaison, great staff our check in was great very enthusiastic girls at reception, couldn’t do enough for us.

Really Great bar, great restaurant called the SMOAK, food was spot on, they have an open kitchen so you can see whats going on, and the food is on show so you can go and see the cuts of meat, great idea.

Hidden in the back and via reservation only is a cocktail lounge called Ember, which I am sure is going to get the normal celebs knocking on their door once words gets around, nicely decorated and cosy, and a cocktail barman that’s knows his stuff, not stuck up like the staff at Hilton Cloud 23, you are made to feel very welcome.

Stayed in standard double room, it was clean and cosy, only downside to the room was no full length mirror and difficult to shave if you wet shave, lighting not good enough and there was no small mirror to use the large one was too far away to be any good, other then that happy with the room.

All in all great hotel, good location for the city centre and Canal Street 2 minutes walk for some great nightlife, and great staff every single staff member we came across we friendly and happy, it was nice to see smiles.

Great job Malmaison

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for my husbands birthday in a standard room. Our welcome was warm and friendly. The room was very classy. No street noise which was good for a city center hotel on the 2nd floor. Loved the little extras like the toiletries, tea ad coffee etc. Free wi-fi, DVD player so make sure you take some DVD's, snacks, mini bar... there was everything you needed and the chic decor made it feel like somewhere really special. Air con a tad noisy and I suppose a bit of mould was round the shower area but you could hardly notice the mould as the shower knocked your socks off.
Breakfast in the Smoak restuarant was excellent, spoilt for choice and really recommend it even if you are not staying there. It was really good.
Check out was pain free and they couldn't do enough for us. Offering to validate parking and hold luggage. First class customer service. Really looking forward to going back.
** One complaint - £8.50 for a glass of wine in the bar is a little rich for my blood, take a bottle with you **

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times, both for business and on a weekend away.

The first thing to say is that the service is excellent, very friendly and helpful staff - the iron in my room was broken and was replaced in 10 minutes, room service within 15 minutes and an iphone charger in 10 mins as well.

Try to get a room not facing the street, as the Manchester party crowd can be a little noisy.

The bar is good, if a little busy and noisy. The breakfast was also really good - good value at £14.95.

The rooms are a little dark for me, (like all Malmaison rooms), but they are a decent size.

All in all, a good hotel with excellent service - just a little pricey for Manchester.

Room Tip: Not facing the station/street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Address: Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
#40 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Malmaison Manchester 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.