We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surpised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manchester Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Manchester Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Manchester Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4WP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #50 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surpised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

We stayed at the hotel overnight before our Holiday to Barbados and we used the parking facilities too. We have stayed in many hotels and we were pleasantly surprised at this stay for it is ultimately an airport hotel.
The check in and welcome greeting was above par and pleased us enormously. We have a ten year old boy and the family room was good with two doubles, all clean and of a good standard.
We had an evening meal in the hotel and it was of a high standard, the food was delicious and the service was truly excellent.
The parking facilities were good (off site) and all organised well.
We had a free shuttle to the airport in the morning.
Overall, very impressive and we will be staying again next year. Thank you Hilton, you made the start of our wonderful Holiday stress free and enjoyable.

  • Liked — The way we were treated by the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    546
    321
    149
    89
See reviews for
274
638
128
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tranmere, wirral
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed here the night before flying out on our honeymoon,we arrive at lunch time and treated ourselves to lunch in the bar which was excellent and quite reasonable too our room was ready by 1.30 pm which was fab as check in wasn t until 3.
We settled in our room we booked a deluxe room which had tv and playstation and was very roomy and spacious.
We then went and sat in the bar where they had football on an watched that the service was excellent and they kept topping up the drinks fab.
We also booked a table in the restaurant for dinner and it was nice to have the choice between a la carte and the normal menu i had the steak which was the best steak ever it was fab when we got talking to that waitress she asked where we were going and brought over champagnes for us as a congratulations on our honeymoon which they never billed us for it was greatly apprecited. There was a school ball on that night in one of the function rooms but we never heard much of it they were very quiet.
The airport shuttle bus in fab got us to the airport in plenty of time check in and out of the hotel was a breeze too all in all we couldnt fault this hotel.
We loved it so much that we are going back to this hotel in october and have booked a room for my parents too cant wait

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

Following from my stay in Warwick the previous evening, I booked into the Manchester Airport Hilton as it was the closest Hilton property to Liverpool where I was visiting friends. There is a Hilton being built in Liverpool which is scheduled to open in 2009, but since the St Helens property transferred from Hilton to Park Inn earlier this year, the Manchester properties are closest.

I arrived earlier than the advertised check in time and unfortunately my room was not ready. So I headed off, saw family, and then cam eback to the hotel later in the day.

As with Warwick, check in was smooth and efficient, and my room was upgraded once again. The room again was nice, with a newish flat screen TV and the usual amenties in the bathroom. Interestingly, they tubes of shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom in Manchester were far bigger than those in Warwick, depsite being the same brand!

I didn't use the hotels leisure or dinig facilities. Unless breakfast is included in the room rate, I have a fundemental problem with paying more for breakfast in a hotel than I do on groceries in a week.

Parking was also expensive, but as this was an airport hotel that was expected. And the internet access cost was the same massive £15 as at Warwick.

I would otherwise recommend this hotel - it is clean and comfortable and has very few things to grumble about.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Internet Prices (again!)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

We booked this hotel using points earned on the Hilton Honors loayalty scheme and actually received an upgraded 'deluxe' room upon check in, although only at a silver level.
The free transfer was fast and we had no problems on the pick up or drop off at 4am on a Sunday morning!
The check in was fast and the staff polite.
There was a problem when we discovered we could not close the window in the room. After various staff tried to fix this, they established they needed a key, which was not to hand.
We were then swiftly moved to a similar room with no problems.
As previously mentioned by otheres, the building looks a bit drab on the outside, but the lobby is fine and the rooms are certainly larger than the Crowne Plaza also on the airport site.
We had no time to check out any of the food on offer or bars so cannot comment on these.
Overall a great functional airport hotel you could just about walk to from the airport if not for various roundabouts and road works!

  • Liked — Airport Convenience
  • Disliked — Getting up at 4am
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm on Tees UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Stayed for one night with 15 nights car parking. Disappointed on arrival to be told we had to take our car to parking compound & get shuttle back which was not what we booked.
On return to UK to pick up car we had a very long walk from Terminal 2 to the Shuttle bus pick up which was a long way from Terminal 2 and required us to negotiate an escalator down with 3 heavy cases and hand luggage - Not what we were expecting before a longish drive home. There may have been a lift nearby but not mentioned on transfer instructions from hotel and too tired to look around after a long trail. No help putting cases on a rather large shuttle bus - on arrival at car parking compound had to wait 25min in long queue to pick up keys - a most unpleasant return to UK. Other people in queue were moaning that the parking company had changed its pick up point and pick up procedure for the worst and would use someone else next time - SO WILL WE
Hotel was quite comfortable and reasonable facilities except for very limited Menu in restaurant. We were fortunate to have to wait for a table and after reading menu whilst waiting decided to have a meal in lounge which had a more varied and less pricey menu

  • Liked — Comfortable room
  • Disliked — Rubbish Car Parking system - poor quality pricey restaurant
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for one night in May08. I'm a regular hilton guest and I turned up to this tired looking airport hotel as a business user. The hotel exterior is pretty drab, and the tight car parking doesn't do much to help the experience, however as soon as I got inside, I had the impression that someone took great pride in the place.
The staff were very courteous, and the internal appearance was bright, contemporary and relaxing. Being a business user, I didn't get round to using any leisure facilities, however I got a big shock when I sat down for dinner, and breakfast, as the quality of the food was surprisingly good. Hilton's forte is in making business men and women come back again and again, thats what they do best. Thats why a lot of their services (such as food) are quite generic and unimaginative. And thats why their food is usually 'nice' rather than exceptional. I enjoyed a very well cooked halibut dish, which felt like it had been cooked by head chef, rather than reheated by a commis chef. In addition, a competent pianist took to the baby grand at around 9, creating a real buzz in the room. The deserts, and hilton breakfast were typical hilton - buffet style. But of all the hiltons I have stayed in, this was the best breakfast I've had so far.
The bedroom was clearly a delux room, however I got the impression it didn't matter how often you renovate them here, you'll never get a great room (clunky triple glazing, car park views, small dimensions etc).
I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, I spent most of my time in the lounge/bar/restaurant areas, and came away with a good impression. Good for preflight pitstop, great for business. Not so for a romantic getaway, no matter how good the food is!!

  • Liked — Clearly a passion for the food and beverage side of the business
  • Disliked — the bedroom was boring and 'motorway-ish'!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

stopped overnight at the hotel as we were going on long haul flight next day. The hotel staff were lovely the rooms very modern and light. We had a three course meal for 27.00 which was excellent value, and the price of drinks were reasonable as well. We parked the car there for two weeks and found this service was excellent the driver was waiting for us when we got of our flight.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manchester Airport

Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4WP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#44 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveniently situated only 5 minutes from Manchester International Airport terminals and 8 miles (15 minutes by train) to Manchester City Centre, this modern hotel is home to Mason's Restaurant& Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester
Airport Hilton Manchester
Manchester Hilton
Hilton Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manchester Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.