We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average airport hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“An average airport hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The location is very conveniently located near the terminals though too far to walk with luggage. The hotel's courtesy bus solves that issue however and runs at regular intervals. Parking in the hotel car park not a problem and costs £15 per day.
Reception Desk staff were very helpful and courteous.
Hungry late arrivals (after 10pm) will be disappointed though I guess room service might be available. I am surprised at the number of airport hotels that are unprepared to cater to 24 hour guest traffic arriving from all time zones and starved of decent food by airline catering. I arrived at about 9pm and was lucky enough to get fed in the restaurant adjacent to the bar. The food was good but the service indifferent. The staff seemed more interested in preparing the restaurant for closure that evening than anything else.
The room allocated to me was clean but claustrophobic. A double bed was crammed into an area so small that a suitcase would have to be opened on the bed. To avoid having my suitcase as a sleeping partner I found a space for it to rest on the tiny desk. Possibly the hotel architect had anticipated 2013 airline baggage policy. The bathroom was also an example of the architect's genius, squeezing a shower, toilet and handbasin into a space that would be considered mean on an aircraft. Having said that, everything worked fine. The bed was comfortable, the room quiet and the curtains effectively dark. Ideally the hotel should convert two rooms into one but this would probably kill the economics.
Overall reasonable value for a Crown Plaza label, though nowhere near the league of Crown Plazas elsewhere. More in keeping with the regular Holiday Inn brand.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, and stay. I'm sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service received on this occasion. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    733
    307
    108
    76
See reviews for
255
877
122
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Booked two rooms with parking as we had a 4am check in at Manchester Airport. No problem finding a parking space in Crowne Plaza car park, then they take your car off site. Efficient friendly check in. Two rooms were next door to each other as requested, massive beds, all very clean. Restaurant very good value, kids eat completely free, food good. Despite proximity to runway, we had a very good night's sleep. Would definitely stay here again. Only didn't score excellent because on our return we were given the wrong information about where one of our cars was parked, had to go back to the desk, and even they had difficulty finding it! The last thing you need when you return home from holiday is a half hour looking for your car! Very good value - recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night, dined at sampans and the food was delicious and filling. We paid for the executive lounge upgrade but as the free cocktails and canapés were served between 6 and 8 pm we missed out due to a traffic accident on the motorway. The staff are very helpful and friendly the breakfast next morning was very good with everything available ( couldn't see yogurts though) parking the hire car for one night cost 12.50 but I expect long stays would have deals available. Situated very close to the airport with a regular shuttle bus to the terminals. Good value for money but no free wifi. Comfy bed , big tv, well stocked bathroom toiletries

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport.
I was delighted to read that you had a great stay and was especially pleased to read you found our team friendly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great value for money, lovely friendly staff and efficient transfers to airport, comfortable clean quiet rooms - felt like our holiday started a day early! Would definitely recommend as we have tried others a bit further from the airport which have been just awful for similar money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
It is our aim to create Great Hotels Guests Love and I can see from your comments that we achieved this.
I will ensure to share your comments with the rest of the Hotel team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have used this hotel before and again it provided a great 'value for money' location for getting a good nights sleep before an early morning flight. We arrived by train at the airport and the free shuttle bus was very efficient as was the transport to the airport the following morning. We had dinner in the hotel and this was good quality although the food and drinks are both expensive. I would recommend this hotel but if you are on a tight budget don't use the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay following your recent experience at the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport.
I was delighted to read that you had a great stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza (although we could have quite easily travelled on the day). The check in was efficient and parking was no major problem (although glad we arrived when we did). The room was well equipped (although more coffee would have been beneficial due to pre-holiday insomnia). We stayed on the bed and breakfast deal with parking.

We had a drink in the bar and ate in Sampans restaurant which was excellent quality. The breakfast option had a good range and was of a decent enough quality. There was everything ranging from fruit to a cooked breakfast.

Having stayed at the Radisson before we were slightly apprehensive about staying over at the airport but we enjoyed it so much as a start to the holiday that we have booked for next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I am delighted that having chosen to stay at our hotel you had such a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back and to delighting you even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Perfect location for one night. It is walking distance from terminal. You can call also shuttle bus from hotel. Clean room , standard breakfast , reasonable price. No free wifi is a low standard. Big parking arround.Good for one overnight.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post a review. I hope you will consider staying with us again as I can see you did not feel you had a perfect experience on this occasion. I would welcome the opportunity to show how great our hotel really is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#34 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 294 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with APCOA. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.