We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff, rooms just a little disappointing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff, rooms just a little disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here not because of flying out, just convenient for a party we were attendinf. Staff were welcoming and attentive, just shame we didnt get an upgrade as we normally do as platinum card holders. Club room well appointed but small, bathroom even more so. Paying a premium does not mean larger room it would appear. No aircraft noise though and great breakfast. Would stay again and take advantage of Sampans restaurant, which smelt lovely as we passed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we were not able to upgrade you on this occasion and that you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received, but pleased to see the staff interaction was a highlight of your stay. We look forward to having another opportunity in the future to show you how great our hotel is
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    730
    306
    108
    76
See reviews for
254
876
122
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed there over night before our flight to Orlando. The staff were so friendly. We went to the Chinese restraunt which had a great range of food at great prices. The hotel also had an Irish bar, we spent most of the night in there it had a great atmosphere. Our room had a double bed and a single with the most comfterble mattresses and we had a great nights sleep. The next morning we were took to the airport on a shuttle bus and they helped us to find the check in for our flight. Overall it was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I would recommend it and I will be re visiting in the near future.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. It is our aim to create Great Hotels Guests Love and I can see from your comments that we achieved this.
I will ensure to share your comments with the rest of the Hotel team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed one night £126 for bed and breakfast, (we looked a few days before and same board basis had been £150 so I suppose we got a bargain) we booked through booking.com but kept checking traverepublic.com as they are usually cheaper.
It is a nice place to stay if you want to be near to the airport, free airport shuttle runs very often, parking for 1 night was £12.50
The room although nothing special, had everything we needed, tea and coffee making, TV was great as my other half wanted to watch rugby, we could see the planes landing from our window but the room was very quiet, the bed was clean and comfortable, the bathroom had toiletries supplied.
We were pleasantly surprised with the breakfast, a hot and cold buffet with plenty of choice, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, nuts and dried fruits, cheese, cold meats, bacon, decent sausage, beans, toms, mushrooms, toast etc. and everything was really fresh - there was a chef to cook your eggs which I thought was nice for a airport hotel. Tea and coffee are brought to your table and us asking for refills was not a problem for them. (Breakfast at the hotel is about £15 per head so good to have it included in the price)
All the staff we came across were really friendly and helpful.
You can eat at the hotel but we got a cab to a nearby town and ate and drank there. Food and drink at the hotel is very expensive.
The only real downside was the housekeeping - when we arrived in our room the TV was on, the bed unmade and room untidy, we phoned down to reception and someone came up and said they would take us to another room, the lady said they were giving us a better room but when we got to the room she looked at the door and key then decided it was yet another room, she let us in and the room was smaller than the first room we were given and not as nice. The bin had not been emptied and the toilet un flushed, but it was 8.30pm and we had a taxi booked for 1/4 to 9 so could not be bothered to mess about again. To give them credit though- when we checked out they asked if we had enjoyed or stay so I told her what had happened, she was very apologetic and told me to email her if we stayed again and they would give us a free upgrade. (watch this space to see if that ever happens)
It would not put us off staying there again as it was a very busy time and we all make mistakes plus everything else was spot on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced with the preparation of your room for your stay. I am pleased to learn that despite this you did have an otherwise enjoyable stay with us. I am particularly pleased that the front desk team were able to address your issues on check out and that they offered you a complimentary upgrade on a future stay which hopefully went some way to restoring your faith in our hotel.
Thank you once again for the observations you sent regarding our Hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnetic Island, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Overnight stay. Check in and check out quick and efficient. Rooms comfortable and clean. Friendly and helpful staff and room service was quick, delivered with a smile. Convenient shittle service to and from hotel. Would recommend that they advise clients that the hotel has to be phoned from the bus stop to avoid a wait.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay, our aim is to provide great hotels guests love and I was especially pleased to read you found our team friendly and helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel itself is fine, clean comfortable rooms, bar and restaurant provide freshly cooked food and service is fine.The hotel is very close to terminal 1 but noise is not an issue.The hotel provides no problems but as it is an airport hotel and the vast majority use it prior to flying then shuttle service is far from ideal.
However we were told we only needed to be at reception 20 minutes before we needed to be at the airport as there were 2 shuttle buses running all the time.They do not take into account the number of people travelling at any time and there is no prebooking as some hotels have so they have no idea how many people may need to travel at the same time. Shortly before we needed to depart there was a very large family group and when 1 of the shuttle buses came back the driver got off and said there was only 1 bus running. As the buses only hold 8 people this soon caused a huge back log. After we had been waiting over 30 minutes ( and were getting late for check in) I went back inside to question why there was only 1 bus and was told the driver was doing a ''security round'' and had to finish this first. Fortunately a senior person in reception over rode this decision and the driver was told to go to the bus. Although the hotel is fine we wont be using again as we saw numerous buses from the adjacent hotel whilst waiting for our single bus and again on return the adjacent hotel had several buses before ours turned up.
My advice to the hotel is find out how many people wish transfers at what time and provide more buses at the busiest times.

Room Tip: If you want an efficient shuttle service use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your experience when taking our bus over to the airport terminal is very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

An overnight stop. Desk service excellent, room on the 3rd floor quite small for a double, bathroom could do with a spruce and good clean.
Incredibly if you want to check the weight of your suitcases they charge 1 GBP for 30 seconds of weigh time !
Service within Chinese Restaurant in the Hotel was average, one got the impression that they were too tired to serve, and in fact after several requests for the bill only brought it as we decided to walk out.
In all the our stay was average at best, I just with the hotel bill had reflected that !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We strive to make sure every guest has a wonderful experience here and greatly appreciate the feedback if they don't.
I sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered with the dining in our hotel and want to assure you your comments were shared with the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

From booking in, Meal in Restaurant, Shuttle to terminal, Shuttle back to hotel on return, and collection of car after holiday,. Whole experience very efficiently and courteously carried out.Have used this hotels facilities now on numerous occasions and never been disappointed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed another stay at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future when we aim to give you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#34 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 294 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with APCOA. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.