We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Dumfries, Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We previously stayed at Crowne Plaza several years ago as we regularly fly from Manchester. A couple of months ago we booked a "Mystery Hotel" on an intermediary website and when we found out it was Crowne Plaza we had doubts as our previous stay was not great and the hotel certainly needed a facelift.
We were delighted to see straight away on entering the reception that it had a very modern makeover. Staff were courtious and helpful and our room was fabulous. Very tastefully decorated with a personal touch (toiletries in bathroom, complementary water, relaxation spray for pillow!!).
We have rebooked to come back in January and are staying one night before holiday and one night when we come back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your latest stay, our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    730
    306
    108
    76
See reviews for
254
876
122
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 20 September 2012. Welcome at check in was good and bar and restaurant staff friendly and attentive. Food of good quality. Room was very noisy though and if it wasn't for the fact we arrived much later than we would have liked and exhausted after having to deal with Monarch and their dodgy Eastern European leased planes (apparently we had been originally due to travel on the one which slid off the runway the followind day at Birmingham) would have requested a move. From the conversation we had with another couple the next morning, they'd also had a noisy room and were moved. The hotel needs to get a grip of this as it seems to be a common complaint.

It was good to be able to have an early breakfast although the waiter in the restaurant seemed unable to cope with us sitting down at a table where he hadn't put any cups out (easily solved by me borrowing 2 from another table in the otherwise empty restaurant) but very disappointed that there was a member of staff vacuuming the carpet virtually around our feet at one stage - this really shouldn't happen whilst guests are eating there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry your stay was not a perfect experience on this occasion and hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night before flying from terminal 2. Arrived by train and rang hotel for the shuttle bus which arrived within seconds. Check in quick and friendly and room more than adequate. could not get a seat in the main restaurant so had a reasonable meal in the bar. The next morning the shuttle bus arrived within minutes to take us to the airport. Will certainly stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Tried 3 occasions to ring reception and no answer despite being told that's all we had to do. Wi-finis chargeable per hour and can only be used on one device - at no time did anyone point ths out and its not on literature - duty manager was really unhelpful and took no responsibility even when he told me there was a way to help - the access doesn't last an hour either - be careful you get things just right or its a real waste of money and total frustration - not the relaxing start to my trip I expected

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. We strive to make sure every guest has a wonderful experience here and I sincerely regret that our manager on duty was not able to resolve your issues satisfactorily.
I do hope this experience will not deter you from staying with us in the future as this is not an example of the usual high standards of service on which we pride ourselves..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We think this is a very good value for money hotel. We tend to stay here when we arrive late on a friday night from the airport prior to a weekend city break (for football and shopping) as its much cheaper than hotels in the city centre. Its walking distance form the ariport and train station so perfect for taking the trina into manchester on the saturday morning. The breakfast is reasonably priced and a nice buffet. The rooms we have stayed in were a little small but of a acceptable standard. We haeard no noise from the planes at all and slept very well. The only thing taht woke us up was the delivery of the paper and bill under the door in the morning so we won;t be asking for that again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Very dirty room, I had to chase house keeping for two days just to have my tea and coffee replenished never mind the bins not emptied, bed not made, dirty glasses left each day. I stayed here for 1 week and am scheduled for next week also, I will try and be moved as I am disgusted at the poor standard. There has been a sofa bed half up at the corner of the room with cusions stacked on top of it, this has been like that for 5 days! The glasses at breakfast are disgustingly filthy and if you complain then you can expect to wait a while to be seated the next day. There was no mini bar in the room or bathrobe as advertised. There is no double glazing so expect a noisy night with flights. Over all not worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the observations you sent regarding our Hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs
It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have therefore sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robtt
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have stayed here a few times and have watched with dismay as the standards have dropped and the hotel is now overdue a full refurb as it is dirty and frayed round the edges. I know it is busy all the time but Crown Plaza can do a lot better. This year we stayed next door at Bewleys Hotel.It was cleaner and the staff much more helpful.It was also substantially cheaper on a stay and park combo. But we did pop into the Crown Plaza to eat (to see if it has improved) and were once again disappointed to see standards have slipped .You are better next door

ps our meal in the bar was ok no complaints

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.
We realise you have many choices when it comes to lodging at Manchester Airport and hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#34 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 294 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with APCOA. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.