We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice for overnight stay and holiday parking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #35 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Best choice for overnight stay and holiday parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We make a bee-line for the Crowne Plaza when travelling from Manchester Airport. The reception staff are pleasant and efficient, the rooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable and well-equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer etc, linen and towels are top quality, White Company toiletries provide a bathroom treat, and the beds are comfy.
The hotel's drivers provide speedy and courteous transport to and from the airport.
Get up in the early hours for a long drive and straight into airport hell, or have a relaxing evening in a nice hotel followed by a five minute transfer to check-in the next morning? A no-brainer!
One word of caution though - bar prices are high if like us you're from the sticks!

Room Tip: We've had several different rooms; they've all been quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. It is our aim to create Great Hotels Guests Love and I can see from your comments that we achieved this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    809
    331
    115
    79
See reviews for
282
968
133
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We arrived at the Crowne Plaza ahead of an early morning flight. After some difficulty finding a car parking space we then waited for 20 minutes at Reception to be dealt with (there were only 2 Reception Staff on duty).

We explained we had booked a room and parking for 2 weeks and gave our name. The Receptionist then said that we had booked for the previous night (we had done so in error then amended the booking at an additional cost to the correct night). They said the hotel was fully booked and directed us to the Holiday Inn where we could pay £90! For some reason the Receptionist then changed and we had to repeat the same information again. The Crowne Plaza could not find any amended booking for us and again said the hotel was fully booked.

Fortunately we had a copy of the email confirmation with us.

When we handed the confirmation over and started to complain - the Receptionist spoke to another member of staff and miraculously the hotel wasn't fully booked after all!

The room was as expected and of a good standard.

The following morning we handed our car keys into Reception and enquired where we had to wait for the transfer to the airport. We were told 'outside' (not particularly helpful) and spotted a few other people walking around outside looking for a sign/information. One of the other guests had to go back into the hotel to clarify where we should wait. You wait underneath the canopy area. 20 minutes went by - still no sign of the minibus. Again, one of the other guests went to Reception to enquire as it was now the time we should be checking in at the airport. The minibus arrived and as it only holds 6 people and luggage, this created a back-log. Fortunately we were in the first 6 people but others were complaining behind us that they wouldn't be staying at the Crowne Plaza again as they were now late for their flights.

The only positive thing I can say for the whole experience was that our car was ready for collection as soon as we arrived back.

The room itself was acceptable but at no point did we receive an apology/sorry for the inconvenience from any member of staff. So, unfortunately, our first experience at a Crowne Plaza hotel was not an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Make sure you have printed out confirmation to take with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. We strive to make sure every guest has a wonderful experience here and greatly appreciate the feedback if they don't.
We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable and hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Excellent choice for overnight stay and two weeks parking.The room had everything needed for a comfy night before your flight and the bathroom was spotlessly clean with free toiletries too!Important to us Ladies when you may have checked in your luggage early.
Good Reception staff, very friendly and efficient check in and our keys were waiting as we checked out.
We will use the Crowne Plaza for future trips.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. It is our aim to create Great Hotels Guests Love and I can see from your comments that we achieved this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amlwch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Nice hotel, friendly staff, food OK, airport shuttle good.

Family room very comfortable and fairly large.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birtley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Often stay here due to its proximity to our Manchester offices and always offers good value. Never had a problem with parking as some reviewers have, checkin is always fast (especially for priority club members!). Rooms are a nice size & spotless as is the rest of the hotel. The food in the main bar, irish pub & asian is of a good standard as is the service. Breakfast can get a little hectic but is perfectly adequate. Whilst at the hotel i enquired about park & fly and this seems to be very competative for 15 nights parking plus 1 night in a family room for £119 !! Finally i left my Kindle behind in my room (no hangover involved....;-) ) and rang the hotel that evening and was asked to call back 1st thing the next day. My kindle had been found & was posted out to me that day, it arrived next working day which is an excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. It is our aim to create Great Hotels Guests Love and I can see from your comments that we achieved this.
I will ensure to share your comments with the rest of the Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is the third time my wife and I have booked a night in the hotel plus two weeks parking. The staff are efficient and helpful. Check in is easy. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Transportation to the airport and collection from the airport upon our return has always been pretty quick and straightforward. We collected our car keys from reception upon our return and were on our way home in no time. We ate in the main restaurant near the bar for our evening meal and the food was fine but a little on the expensive side. Overall a good package.

Room Tip: Club rooms have king size beds and a little more space. They are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
I was delighted to read that you had a great stay, our aim is to provide great hotels guests love and I was especially pleased to read you found our team friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have stayed here a few times, great food, nice bar, lovely rooms but they need more reception staff on at busy times in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the tripAdvisor website.
I have noted your comments to have more members of staff available on Reception at busy times and will ensure these are passed on to our Front Office Manager for consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#35 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 294 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with APCOA. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.