We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Before a Flight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Preston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One Night Before a Flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed for one night before a flight to the States. Got the room for £64, which I was pleased about. The hotel had a good feel to it because everyone was going on holiday! Had a good nights sleep and the transfer to the Terminal was well organised. They even lift your assortment of suitcases into the van!! It meant we didn't have to get up at 4am. I'd certainly do it again before a long haul flight. The room was clean & welcoming with some nice touches. Didn't eat at the hotel though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    720
    301
    107
    74
See reviews for
251
865
119
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night before our flight on 25th March 2012 and paid £80 for room only and 8 days worth of parking following this, which I think is a very good deal!

The rooms are comfortable and extremely spacious and we had a very good night's sleep. The hotel is a 3-4 minute transfer time to Terminal 1 (where we flew from) and we found everything to be well organised and satisfactory. The room included tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary mineral water and 'this works' sleep products to aid a restful sleep, the bathroom also had complimentary toiletries but strangely there was only one of everything in the room and it was a double, we had all our own products anyway so it didn't matter, I am sure they would have sorted it if we had asked them though.

We arrived late on the night of our stay so I can't comment on the bar/restaurant or on the breakfast the next morning as we were room only. But based on value for money, comfort of the room, ease of transfer and the facilities in the room I would recommend this hotel, I would consider booking again if this offer was available.

There is a free 24 hour gym which we didn't get chance to use but looked decent and the restaurant looked fairly full when we arrived so must be ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds Yorkshire England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here the night befor we flew out of Manchester airport. Excellent value for money. We ate in the Thai restaurant, Good good and well served. All the staff were nice and the transfer to terminal 1 the next morning couldn't have been easier. I will certainatly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Fabulous hotel, expensive to park and eat, but this is expected at the airport. Room excellent, quiet considering the location and the turnover of guests and the times people leaving rooms. excellent parking but expensive, breakfast, all you can eat for under a tenner was fabulous. bar was very nice and surprisingly not too expensive for drinks. Staff excellent throughout the hotel from reception to cleaners - all chirpy, polite and willing to assist. unable to comment on conference facilities as this was at the Hilton, but would definately use the Crowne in future for overnight stay prior to flying out.

Room Tip: unable to comment. rooms at back overlooking carpark are excellent. clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I must start by admitting that my stay at the hotel was coloured somewhat by being very weary when I arrived. My flight was cancelled after 4 hours of sitting in the plane, and by the time I got to the hotel it had been about 7 hours since I had last eaten anything resembling a meal.

While the hotel is walking distance from the airport, the way to it is not currently easily passable by pathways, due to various roadworks. They do offer transfers apparently, but I wasn't aware of this so did the late night wander instead.

To their credit, I was very quickly dealt with and given my room. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. There was a bath, which is a lovesome thing at the end of a very long day.

Breakfast is a buffet and is served from 4am, which is I am sure very useful to the commuting traveller.

So why do I rate this hotel as only average?

1. They charge for wifi, which I think in these modern days is completely unjustifiable, and simply greedy.
2. I ordered room service, and got the wrong dish. To his credit, the waiter was very nice, apologetic about the error and fixed it promptly.
3. When they delivered the room service, payment in cash was required. As I had been expecting to depart the UK that day, I had no pounds on me. I offered to go down to pay via credit card, but this was not acceptable. They did accept euros but the amount they charged 3 euros over the real conversion rate - a rather hefty whack, on top of the 3.50 "tray charge"

In general I would say that my stay was ok, but not great.

I can imagine choosing to stay there again, but only if I had an early flight to catch. Otherwise I think I would travel the 20 minutes to stay in Manchester itself.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Kiriel,

Thank you for your review, and stay. I'm sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service received, but pleased you enjoyed the accommodations. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed here last week the night before an early flight. Although the hotel is quite nice, there were a few niggles.

The room was ok, more than comfortable, with mod cons.

My issues lie with some of the restaurant staff. the 2 of us went for a meal, which was good. But the service was dire. Simple requests we're met with grunts, huffs/puffs and a general attitude that they did not want us to be there. Not what I wanted to see after spending A LOT of money on food and wine. This let the hotel down big time for me.

All other aspects, ie wake up calls and tranfers were perfect, so cant complain about that.
But when your going to spend in excess of £300 for the hotel stay, and something to eat and drink, I feel we could have been treat a lot better.

Sorry, but its back to Bewleys for me. This was my first, and last time at the Crowne Plaza. I only choose this as my companion stayed here before a New York trip a couple of years ago and highly recommended it and wanted to go back, even though Im a regular Bewleys traveller and wanted to stay there.

My apologies to the staff this does not refer to, but the restaurant staff are letting the place down. Service with a Smile??? Erm... not at this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear pheelinphunki,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

stayed here for one night, room is fine but cld do with a bit of TLC. transfer to terminals and train station very smooth. staff are lovely, especially in the bar and food was plentiful and tasty. well worth it if you get a gd deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear ClayDublin,

Thank you very much for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the observations you sent regarding our Hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 294 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with APCOA. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.