We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
Gardens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good central location, but a hotel that promised a lot and delivered very little...
Hotel was in need of a good face life throughout, and service was not great.
Would not recommend this hotel, and would not stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: In need of a face lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    284
    180
    71
    51
See reviews for
52
161
160
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great location in centre of Piccadilly. Room was clean, but could do with a touch up of the decor. The window view we had was awful, was facing other rooms and could see in their windows! Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

stayed here last weekend with some friends for my birthday. room was fine although could do with a bit of a freshen up on the walls but was OK .on checking in was good and friendly staff throughout our weekend . And a special mention to Paris on nights who did so much for my friend who lost his phone he could not of been more helpful. on checking out on Monday 15th April was very disappointed with lady behind recp no smile or even an ask of how our stay was it was room number right goodbye very unprofessional maybe just a bad day for her but don't bring problems to work a nice smile and hope u had a good weekend would have been nice

Room Tip: ask for room facing front nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A hotel that suited all my needs: excellent location in central Manchester, good prices relatively around New Year 2013, a bit old and need refresh but was generally excellent. Public transport is within a minute walk from the hotel, and the hotel is in the busy area. WIFI was good and included. The staff were all friendly and helpful, especially when I needed to have my football ticket sent to the hotel and also when I needed to book coach tickets to London. I'm going back again to this hotel for sure in my next visit to Manchester.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times when traveling over for football games. Overall the hotel is a bit dated and could do with a refresh. The rooms are basic but ok. The location of the hotel is excellent and is the main reason I would return,the hotel offers free wifi which is handy. Overall this hotel is great value and in a good location.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed as stayed here before and got a Loverly spacious room in the attic 507 I think all freshly decorated and mint bathroom .so booked again but what a different s the room was too small for a double tired and very shabby the bathroom needed a good scub out the door was discussing and the floor .the furniture in the room was depressing I was going to book another night but soon changed my mind as it was so cramped and run down .it was my 50 th birthday so on the booking form I mentioned this and asked for a nice spacious room if possible .but did not even get a clean onedon't stop in room 407 it needs ASAP attention .we booked out at 7 in the morning as the room was also to hot as you can not turn off the very hot radiator .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens Hotel

Address: 55 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardens Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.