We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Etrop Grange

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Etrop Grange to your Saves list
Etrop Grange
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thorley Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Very friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night whilst attending a function nearby.
I was struck by the excellent customer service and friendliness of all the staff that a encountered.
The room was very comfy as was the bed although they are very high and quite hard work to get on to. They were just ordinary sized double beds which was fine for me but would have been too small to share. This is not just the fault of this hotel but lot's now who should realise that not many people share an ordinary double bed at home.
Drinks were pricey as they usually are in hotels.
The breakfast was really good and there was a large selection to choose for. the service here was very good and welcoming. I would recommend. very near to the airport.

Room Tip: It is a bit like a rabbit warren so if mobility is an issue ask for one nearer reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    221
    97
    81
    53
See reviews for
82
311
38
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Etrop because of the parking and direct transfers to the airport. The hotel itself is in a very good location very near T2. .The hotel staff were really lovely when we arrived we were shown to our room which was of excellent quality we had dinner in the restaurant and it was VERY good indeed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and myself, stayed at the Etrop Grange, for one night, before flying out, on our holidays. This is the forth time, we have stayed, at this lovely hotel.
This time, we had a four poster bed, in the room.
The room was well decorated, and had a large ensuite bathroom.
We ate at the hotel restaurant, and were delighted with the food, and the service.
We will definately be using the Etrop Grange again.
Well done!!

Room Tip: We had room 15, which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Etrop on a recommendation and because of the parking and direct transfers to the airport. The hotel itself is in a good location very near T2. The interior is dated and shabby in places but the room was clean and had the faculities that would be expected in a 3* hotel.

The hotel staff were really lovely however they didnt tell us that we needed to call the secure car park when we arrived back in the UK to get them to bring our car to the airport which resulted in a 20 minute wait in the cold followed by a further trip to collect the car. The young man on reception was extremely helpful and understanding and helped to get our car back but anyone staying should make sure they understand the process of getting your car back as it was not explained to us.

We did try to ask the man who took us to the airport of the process but he was exceptionally rude - he didnt speak one word to us during the transfer. I could have understood if our transfer was at 2am but it was 8.30am - when he dropped us off I asked if he would be the one picking us up he just said "nothing to do with me" and drove off.

Overall the hotel was adequate to our needs but they need to make sure they explain their proceedures better and have a nicer transfer driver.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Etrop grange was a perfect start to our holiday to Mexico. Ideal to stay there to catch an early mornng flight, few mins away from the air port. Reasonably priced. When we arrived we were shown to our room which was of excellent quality, and then visited the trafford centre. We didnt have a plan for evening meal, and went down to the hotel restaurant which was very busy but we were on holiday and had all night. Because we were waiting for a table the manager got us a drink and some olives on the house andd was very apologetic and friendly.
When we had the meal the food was top class restaurant food!
Overall very impressed with this recent stay on the 12th November 2012.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel provides a combination of comfortable and quiet rooms, a nice restaurant and free parking for your car when you fly off from Manchester Airport - just 5 minutes away by the free shuttle. It is not expensive, especially if you take the room and dinner deal - and there is a very pleasant menu with plenty of choice. No hidden charges oir extras. Very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is the 5th time we have stayed here the night before our flight, but it will now be our last!!!
We checked in and went to our room, usually lovely rooms very clean but this time we were very diasappointed there was only one towel for 2 guests, the cup had a chip in it and the hospitality tray consisted of 2 milks, 2 teabags,2 coffees and 1 biscuit. On asking for another towel we were told there is a spare towel in the bag in the wardrobe!!! funny place to put a towel, they were rock hard!!! the shower dripped constantly while we were there the room walls were very stained from what I dont know We decided to eat in the restaurant in the evening and I ordered the steak, which came and after a mouthful realised it was off!! the chef confirmed this and offered something else instead to which i declined, when the bill came they tried to charge us for the meal!!! sorry Etrop Grange you really have gone down hill and it is such a shame as you used to be a fantastic hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Etrop Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Address: Thorley Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Etrop Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etrop Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.