We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night before flying off on holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Etrop Grange

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Etrop Grange to your Saves list
Etrop Grange
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thorley Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“one night before flying off on holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed one night and left my car in their care for two weeks. I might have been unlucky as they were catering for a large wedding party when i stayed and the staff were running around like headless chickens. It felt frantic. I had fancied the idea of a peaceful countryhouse hotel and it looked ideal in the pictures. The young man on the desk had not developed sufficient customer care skills, just determined to get his forms completed but not offering any helpful information, and I struggled with luggage to find my room up flights of stairs and along corridors - there is no lift. It was a matter of using your own initiative to get what you needed. The bedroom was fine and it was quiet being away from the hub of the hotel. No plane noise either. Really handy to be taken to the airport by taxi but it did take a while for my car to be returned at the airport on my return. So overall it was OK for one night - just not as relaxed as i had hoped.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    221
    97
    81
    53
See reviews for
82
311
38
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Myself and my wife had been booked to stay at this hotel on our return from honeymoon on the 17th September however 5 minutes before boarding our plane we received a phone call from them stating they had double booked us however they would pick us up at the airport and take us to the Marriott hotel.

Once we got off the plane at half eleven at night we got picked up in a taxi and taken to the Etrop Grange where we were told we would not be going to the Marriott but instead taken to another hotel 3 miles away from the airport. We were told by the Etrop we would not have to pay anything and the nights stay would be covered by them. We were happy enough with this even though we had been messed about.

A couple of days ago my wife checked our bank account and noticed the Marriott hotel had charged us £120 even though we have never stayed at any of their hotels. We therefore phoned the Etrop who confirmed they had passed over our card details to the Marriott and also booked a room for us there and failed to cancel. When we didn't turn up the Marriott charged us with a nights stay. This was a ridiculous mistake to make by the Etrop who have finally agreed to refund our money however because they decided to double book us which apparently happens all the time, they have had to pay the hotel we did stay in which was over a hundred pounds and now also the Marriotts bill. I will never stay at this hotel again and would advise anyone to book any of the other hotels near the hotel because theywill be a lot more professional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel right at the airport in Manchester for one night. The staff there is the greatest. They shuttled us to the train station and back, stored our luggage (there were 6 of us in our party) and really took good care of everything and everyone. The rooms were nice and and we noticed no noise from the outside. The food was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A quiet oasis of calm almost in the airport, it is a chain but has the atmosphere of a private country hotel. Rooms are well furnished and have tea and coffee making facilities, and no noise, surprising the hotel being so near the airport. The food in the restaurant is excellent with an interesting assortment of dishes for all tastes,and budgets, with preparation and presentation second to none, the mussel risotto was superb The staff are all very professional, the shuttle drivers, and Geoffroy in the restaurant being worthy of mention. The building is not new and the rooms are a little tight on space, but are clean and well maintained, although a little carpet cleaning would be in order. All in all, for that night before a long flight a haven of calm before the security line.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have just stayed in this Hotel for 1 night following a business trip. I was very disappointed and unimpressed with this hotel, I have stayed in many business hotels in Manchester and can say this is the worst by far.

I stayed in room 40 on the 2nd floor, below i have listed my issues with this hotel.

1. Unhelpful reception staff
2. Slow check in.
3. 2 flights of stairs, no lift. Told "It's a listed building"
4. No heating in room. Freezing cold, sash windows, no double glazing (Listed building!) Had to sleep in a fleece! Although sleep was the next problem as my room fronted a busy main road with traffic all night which could be heard due to no double galzing!
5. No remote for TV, Rang reception told they could not help me or provide another as all rooms fully occupied. Very unhelpful!
6. Only sandwiches provided after 2130hrs. I checked in after this time. So no hot meal for me after a 15hr day.
7. Room size no more than 12' x 12'. Presume i stayed in a single room.
8.At check out the following morning I complained about the cold bedroom and told I should have contacted reception to be moved. This was a very strange thing to say as earilier on asking about the TV remote, all rooms were fully occupied! No appology.
9. The only positive I can think of is that they run a complimentary shuttle to the warm airport terminal.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 40 if you want to sleep and pack your thermals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at Etrop Grange on the 4th August, as part of our wedding day, booking a Bridal Suite - and recommending the hotel to all our guests, most of whom took up the offer, leading to it becoming fully booked.

The room itself was really really nice. A touch of grandness and a world-gone-by.

However, there were issues with our stay which I think point to bigger issues at this hotel. Readers should be aware that we were charged £130 on check-out for the Bridal suite rather than the original emailed quote of £110. When we challenged this, the receptionist simply went into 'repeat mode' insisting we pay this despite our explanation and evidence of the email, and refusing to investigate their records of the previous quote being made. We eventually complied because the queue was building up behind us and it was becoming embarrassing.

This followed one of the breakfast staff (we think she was called Ruth) charging us £27 for breakfast - despite this being included in the original quote. Without exaggeration, she basically approached us to ask our room number, as we were eating, and then returned to slam down the bill as we were eating with no further explanation. This was only waived when one of the bridesmaids went to reception to complain.

We have since complained to Etrop Grange. They have refused to refund the extra fee, blaming it on previous management, and made no comment on the attitude of their staff. We have been offered an upgrade there next time we stay and then no response when we said this wasn't good enough.

The stay was for the most part enjoyable, but I would like you to be aware of these issues which naturally left us with a bad taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We chose this hotel due to proximity to the airport and out choice was right!!!
The hotel looks very nice, our room was great - right size, cozy and well equipped.
The staff is very friendly - we called them for instructions how to reach it from Manchester center - and reception offered us free pick up from the airport (which we reached by local train). The shuttle driver (unfortunately I forgot his name) was very amicable and found time to drop us to the famous pub at end of runway (my husband is big aviation fan).
Can't comment on breakfast - we had very early flight to catch.

Will definitely choose it again if we are again in Manchester.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Etrop Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Address: Thorley Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Etrop Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etrop Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.