We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we expected and more.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Street, Manchester M6O 7HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Preston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here on 20th December with my husband and 5 year old son. The car park is round the corner but easy to find and easy to park and only £8.50 so for City Centre Manchester this is a bargain! Walked into the entrance and my son stood at the bottom of the huge Christmas Tree and was just awestruck! It was like Christmas many years ago in the most stunning reception area. Check in was quick and easy and our room, well, some people have complained about the hotel looking tired and dated - it is an old Victorian Building, the architecture is amazing - the carpet in reception is old and frayed, yet fabulous and adds to the whole feel of such an amazing old building. Now to our room, it was fabulous - room 260 - with a 5 year old, straight out of the lift and ahead and in we went - two double beds, a single bed, two chairs, a table, the tv, kettle, iron, trouser press, desk, phone, suitcase carrier - but the best thing by far was the enormous ceiling, the old tiles, the cosy feel and even the noise from the trains passing by the windows - it is a City Centre Hotel so noise should be expected but we loved it! Room service were brilliant, we ordered pizza for our 5 year old from the menu and I asked if they could make it as "plain" as possible as it was for a child - it arrived 25 minutes later and the gentleman advised me that they had decided to half the pizza, add some chips and add a pot of ketchup - thank you went down a storm, I am just sorry we spent all our cash at the Christmas Markets and could not have given you a tip! We woke at 8am, lazed around, went for breakfast, again lovely nothing to complain about - other than rude guests who were almost lying flat in their chairs and did not want to move, not the hotels fault and I take my hat off to the staff who deal very politely with such people! Ate our lovely breakfast, packed our bags and went to check out. The reception girl was training but was very polite and we were dealt with very quickly. All in all a fabulous experience and my son asked me tonight why I had not booked for longer because he loved his "new room in the hotel". We have decided to make it a family tradition.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    574
    378
    315
    277
See reviews for
124
621
106
525
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First time at this stunning hotel, the reception area so huge and impressive...fabulous christmas tree also. We were staying on a Groupon break, upgraded to a massive bedroom, highest ceiling I've slept beneath! Spotlessly clean, lots of atmosphere, room may have looked tired in parts but we had everything we needed. Staff were excellent, nothing too much trouble. Hotel in central spot to get to Christmas Markets etc. We slept really well, comfy bed, firm pillows...perfect for us. Breakfast we really tasty, loads of choice...porridge yummy, smoothie shot was tasty, quality cooked food and excellent filter coffee. Looking forward to next stay, annoyed with self for not staying sooner.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It looks lovely, but not that impressed. Room was cold, lots of noise outside and service at breakfast was poor - served cold tea ! Very over priced drinks in the bar .

Very over priced for what it is .

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have been to this hotel with Leadership academy so for business. Very welcoming. On the first visit bags taken to the room which was great. Lots of drinks provided and snacks. Little touches that made us feel welcomed. Some rooms are tired but others are very nice. A very big hotel. Staff excellent nothing too much trouble. Really good catering and a lovely Christmas dinner served today. Meal service at lunch maybe better on a self service if there's a big group but apart from that great. Thanks for your hospitality

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback and highlighting our great team and attention to detail.
I am so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality.

Kind Regards


Richard Morrell
General Manager – The Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having dined at the Palace Hotel on countless occasions at business networking meetings I can vouch for a consistently great level of service and first class food at the Palace Hotel. The proposed new improvements and major upgrade will make the Palace Hotel an outstanding destination for those wanting a special level of service and really luxurious accommodation on a level which will be very difficult to emulate within the city centre. There is a tremendous mixture of a bygone age of opulence with a modern feeling of up to date furnishing and service provision.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review I really appreciate your comments.
Very merry xmas.

Kind Regards
Richard Morrell
General Manager – The Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed at the Palace for the night with some girlfriends. On arrival there was a delay with the room. Apologies made and drinks voucher given. Sat in lounge enjoyed a glass of wine. Room still not ready, wanted to go to markets. Staff apologised offered free breakfast. Walking distance to markets. Hotel staff lovely, rooms and surrounding areas clean. Breakfast excellent. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry for the delay in checking in but so pleased we handled the situation
well. I am also pleased you have highly recommended our hotel and
look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards


Richard Morrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhôs-on-Sea, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff were very nice. We arrived to find that there was a very big party on in the hotel..no problem. It was actually: the restaurant was closed. Never mind, we'll have a bar meal. Ah, the bar was not serving food that night. We had come straight from work and did not really want to go out. So room service it was. It would have been nice to have been told when we booked that this was the case. We were upgraded to a 'luxury room'. I would not like to have seen the standard room then..Shame.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and so sorry the restaurant was closed due to private Xmas parties.
The accommodation upgrade was to one of our larger more spacious rooms so do hope it did
meet your expectation.

Thank you for your king comment reference the staff and I do look forward to welcoming you
back soon.

Kind Regards


Richard Morrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Oxford Street, Manchester M6O 7HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.