We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so grand” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Street, Manchester M6O 7HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not so grand”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This looks great from the outside - wonderful old hotel in the centre of Manchester, and the entrance hall is also grand, but the service in the restaurant was very slow, I think we waited half an hour for our dinner from the time of ordering, although the restaurant only had three other tables occupied at the time we ordered, and I think what we had was overpriced and undersized. The lighting in our room was inadequate, the room was cold and the wardrobe was so small it only held two suits. Finding the room was not easy as it involved taking a long, twisting passage from the lift. I would not stay there again if I had a choice. Nice breakfast staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and so sorry to note
a delay in our restaurant and you felt the portions were
too small. All food is cooked fresh to order and is normally of
a very high quality.
Regarding your accommodation I have reviewed the lighting in
the room and will contact you direct to personally apologise as we
did not exceed your expectations

kind Regards
Richard Morrell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    638
    416
    343
    297
See reviews for
140
699
112
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Came here on a Thomas Cook hotel and football match package - came to see Man City vs Arsenal on 14/12/13.

Arrived at the hotel which is literally a stone's throw from the Oxford Street station - highly convenient. Reception area is very big and glamorous - they had the Xmas decorations all up with a nicely lit Xmas tree. Staff were friendly and helpful, taking our bags upon arrival despite us being a good 4 hours prior to check-in.

Tickets were meant to be collected at the hotel but, due to an administrative mix up from Thomas Cook's end, we ended up collecting at the stadium. During this brief moment of confusion, the staff were helpful and attentive which was good.

The room itself (5407) was bigger than we both expected, with all the facilities we wanted (minus a fridge - though we were delivered ice free of charge). Great bed with nice pillows, tv that worked with all the Freeview channels, tea and coffee (though we could have done with a few biscuits as we have had in other hotels! Oh, and a few more teas, but I'm sure if we asked, they would have been brought. The bathroom was good, clean and spacious. Possibly could have done with a few more shampoos/conditioners/bath wash.

Breakfast was buffet style - my favourite. The food was good with all of the usuals - sausages, bacon, eggs (scrambled and fried), breads, cheeses, cold meats, fruit, croissants - the lot! Also had freshly pressed juices and tea/coffee brought to your table.

Overall, we were very happy with the experience we shared here and will definitely consider coming back due to the location and the convenience.

Recommened highly.

Room Tip: Excalibur deluxe rooms - spacious, big beds, tvs. Do try to request a room with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for a very honest assessment of the Palace Hotel Manchester. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and your tickets issue was soon resolved. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is exceptional as far as it's history. Very easy to get lost in, but worth the wandering around. Perfect location in center of city. The rooms are nice, but not sumptuous. I paid approx $650.oo US for 3 nights which is a good deal.
The staff service varies. For the most part they are very helpful, but in the bar (not sure if there is more than one), there was the "tunnel" vision treatment towards patrons when it was nearly empty. The bar men spent more time chatting among each other than noticing patrons that had to wait inordinate amounts of time to get their attention. Also, having to pay for wifi in any hotel these days is unacceptable. Even more so in a hotel of this supposed caliber. So it was worth my stay, as it is beautiful, but now that I've seen it, I do not need to return and will find a hotel with free wireless in my room.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and I will share it with the team.
Many apologies regarding table service in our Tempus bar.
I will certainly monitor a lot more closer to ensure we deliver
our normal high level of quality and service.
Wifi is free for the first half hour and all rooms have fixed WIFI
point.
Kind regards
Richard Morrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I traveled to Manchester with my son, for an audition at the Royal Northern College of Music. I decided to pay a little extra to the Holiday Inn Extra price, so that I could treat my son to a 4 star hotel. The entrance was just like the photos on the website, very appealing! But when we got to the room, it was shabby and smelt damp! The wall paper was curling, the flooring was coming up in the bathroom and the grout in the tiles around the bath was cracked and falling out! We complained at reception, they were very helpful and upgraded us at no extra charge, but the upgrade wasn't that much better! it might have been 4 star 20 years ago, but not now

Room Tip: go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry you did not like our accommodation. I will call you direct
to personaly apologise and discuss further the problems with the second room? Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the palace hotel for 1 night wish I had booked 2, Stunning hotel, rooms lovely, staff friendly probably the best hotel I've stayed in would highly recommend this hotel and will stay again excellent for city breaks, theatre or concert within 2 mins from the station.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Palace Hotel Manchester and thank you for highlighting our great team. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Colwyn
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed the night and thought it expensive. The rooms are large and airy but the decor needed an update. Couldn't believe no internet in the rooms!!!!! Found generally that everywhere was shabby and needed a good scrub. Our rooms were overlooking the road and railway so quite noisy. Although the reception was Christmassy, no where else was which was a shame. The location was great as we were going to see west Side Story which was amazing. Also the car parking facilities were lacking and a bit of a stroll away. We wont be going again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for the review and pleased you enjoyed the location. I am so sorry we did not look our best noting we had a large number of xmas party guests that night. We do have detailed cleaning schedules in place every day of the year. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here so we could visit the Christmas markets and do some Christmas shopping. First impressions were good the hotel has a lovely reception area which was nicely decorated for the festive season. The receptionist was polite and courteous and directed to the one and only lift in reception! We waited and we waited eventually getting into the lift after 15 minutes and then travelling to all floors several times before reaching ours below ground floor.
The corridor had room service plates laying in a pile and they remained there during our entire stay.The room was cleanish clean bed clean towels but dirty shower curtain and a tap which wobbled alot when turned on.The windows we masked by net curtains so we couldn't see out. To say were disappointed is an understatement. We felt like the servants below stairs.
Breakfast was OK nice staff and plenty of choice just food not hot enough.
This hotel does not deserve 4 stars hence our disappointment had it been sold to us as a 2 star we would have been impressed.
We often stay in Manchester but won't stay here again.There other equally starred hotels which are able to provide 4 star service .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. There are three lifts located near reception so I am so sorry the team did not advise on check in. No excuse for room service trays on the corridor and then not cleared. We do record all room service orders and follow up thoroughly with a courtesy call and collection. On inspecting the shower curtain, I agree it is worn but not dirty and have immediatelly replaced. Once again my sincere apologies. Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Oxford Street, Manchester M6O 7HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.