We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you enjoy poorly restored Victoriana this is for you” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Street, Manchester M6O 7HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you enjoy poorly restored Victoriana this is for you”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is the old Refuge Assurance. To say that the refurb is appalling is an understatement.

In the public areas false walls in between the columns are poorly fitted and the knitted tea cosy hats on top of the modern lighting are ill conceived.

In the room, once you have found it amongst the rabbit warren of corridors, was freezing! The central heating controller would turn of the fan but no response from the heat unit itself. The HD TV had lines running down the screen continuously. In the bathroom, expect to have a shower because there is no plug for the bath!

Down to breakfast to complain and an hour later no sign of the maintenance man that was promised.

Service at breakfast buffet was helpful and one of the few good bits of this visit.

Don't bother asking for a late check out as 'the whole hotel is changing over today.' Plainly they employ so many chamber maids they can service every room (275) on the dot of 11.00 am.

For the price this was a simply awful experience. A true convention hotel with all the charm of an airport departure lounge.

Room Tip: Avoid any of the 5000 series rooms...difficult to find and the lifts don't go to the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    575
    378
    315
    279
See reviews for
124
621
106
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I recently attended a conference at this hotel. I attended a conference here last year, so it was interesting to compare the facilities 12 months later.
The accommodation, conference rooms and toilets are becoming tatty, and needs refurbishing . I am a coeliac and have to eat a gluten free menu, this year my choice was very limited. Within the various conference rooms it was very cold, staff were bring in free standing electric heaters trying to warm the rooms up.
On the positive side is that the carpark behind the hotel is convenient and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Perhaps we should not have expected too much given some other reviews. The room was very small with peeling wall paper and window frames which clearly needed attention. Everything felt dated and the bed was small. We may have been unlucky in the room we were allocated as some looked better. Staff did not seem to know much about the local area and were not welcoming. The building itself is very impressive and some of the refurbishment looks good but this does not translate through to the experience. I tend to look for the positive and I suppose breakfast was plentiful but that’s about it. Not one to use again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Co. Wicklow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This charming Victorian building was converted to a hotel in the 1990s. The room we had was right at the top of the hotel, with lovely high ceilings, and had both air conditioning and windows which could be opened, and so was lovely and airy. We had plenty of space, and a lovely, spacious en-suite. There was Buffet style breakfast, with plenty of choices. The hotel also had food at other times, but it didn't appeal to our children.

We found the staff helpful and friendly, although some receptionists were not as knowledgeable as I would have liked. It also took a little time to get used to finding our way around as it can be a little confusing. It is a very nice hotel, full of character and completely different to other hotels, where rooms and corridors are all uniform.

It was a very enjoyable stay, and we would be delighted to return.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have Windows that can be opened. If you like plenty of air, you should probably re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I am pleased you had a enjoyble stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The reception staff were very friendly, the room itself was huge with 2 double beds. I had the best night's sleep at a hotel ever.It was so good, I almost missed breakfast. Breakfast was lovely, a good choice and very good coffee.
Would definitely stay here again. Excellent value for money, paid less than we did for the Travelodge the week before.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for a great Review of the Palace Hotel Manchester. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I didn't realize the hotels name was literal. It is an actual palace! You get in and you just feel like you have been taken back in the past! You start imagining what it was like before! The rooms look exactly like what you would think a castle room should be! Go there and live like a King!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for highlighting our amazing building and great service at the Palace Hotel Manchester. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked to spend one night at the palace hotel with friends. The entrance itself is very impressive and makes you appreciate the £120.00 per night price tag.

We checked in at reception, our room was on the floor "M" below ground, room was ok on the face of it but could do with updating!

We then went to the 3rd floor where our friends were staying.... What a room!! £120.00 lovely big bed, lovely posh bathroom. A stark comparison to our two beds and small bathroom with prison windows.

We then went to reception to see if we could change rooms to enjoy a better room and treat ourselves. A young girl was happy to try and move us but unfortunately the manager was not.

All in all I would not price our room at £120.00 however the room on the third floor warranted the price!

All in all, ok hotel for a base but no longer than a night!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I don't want any of my guests to be disappointed. All are rooms are to a good standard but some are larger due to the logistics of a listed building. We will always try and room move if a guest does not like a particular room but on this occasion the hotel was full. My sincere apologies we did not exceed your expectations on this visit.
Kind Regards
Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Oxford Street, Manchester M6O 7HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.