We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the 90s” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Street, Manchester M6O 7HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Bury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Back to the 90s”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for one night, hotel reception, lounge all impressive and it's a great Victorian building converted from an insurance office, so interesting and unique. However... The rooms are back to the 90s and showing their age, worn furniture and dodgy carpets, worn gold on the taps and yellow/green/red decor. The bed had seen a lot of action - very wallows where the springs gad gone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback and so sorry you did not like the accomodation. All are rooms are refurbished and our beds are changed on a regular basis. I will personally review this room today and contact you direct to give you the necessary reassurances and restore your faith in our hotel. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    638
    416
    343
    297
See reviews for
140
699
112
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for a short break. First impressions from the outside -dirty, dusty and old. However when you go inside it is completely different. This is an old insurance building and the tiled walls ceilings are amazing. The room we had must have just been refurbished as it was immaculate and spotless.

Breakfast was buffet style and filled a gap, although not that fresh or hot. Would not pay the price for breakfast again, cheaper and better to eat out. Staff were friendly and helpful, would definitely stay here again for the location and the unusual style.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the review and highlighting our high housekeeping standards. Many apologies regarding breakfast. I will contact you direct for more feedback regarding breakfast, noting all are food is cooked and served fresh with live cooking. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here on the 21st October for 1 night with my mum and sister. We were watching Wicked that evening so this hotel was an ideal location its about 2 minutes from the hotel.
The hotel foyer and throughout the hotel had a lovely character to it.
We stayed in a superior room, there were 2 huge double beds and a single bed plus a lounge area.
It was a lovely a suprise seeing the 50th Birthday treats for my mum the hotel put in the room :)
The breakfast was lovely there was a range of cereals, cooked breakfasts and pancakes.
Will definately stay here again.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for a great review of the Palace Hotel Manchester. I am so pleased you highlighted
our great breakfast and how we helped to make your weekend very special for all the right reasons. Hope to welcome you back soon Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

nice hotel ,lots of character and history .had a very pleasent stay in September

had booked with Agoda and on departure staff encouraged booking direct and gave me a 20% discount voucher and free brekkie on next booking ......

just tried to book in Feb and now the deal does not apply to 2014 ,no mention of this or use by date on voucher ...its just that the night i want to book in feb is the big boxing maych Haye v Fury .....

Room Tip: make sure you get a refurb room on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in several hotels in Mcr recently including palace earlier in the year and extensive business hotel stays on several continents.Room in very poor condition compared to last stay ,breakfast adequate ,staff helpful ,overall certainly not a four star hotel ,three star at best .we would not stay here again but prefer the midland or even the premier inn more comfortable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed one Saturday night while meeting up with friends for a reunion. The location is great - easy walking distance/bus ride from everything I needed.
The room was good - spacious and very clean and modern - a nice contrast to the wonderfully dated interior - and talking of which ... the lobby and bar area is fantastic. We went for cocktails before going out (I was the only one staying, my friends came to see what it was like!) and for a quick beer after. Atmosphere and lighting is great and staff very good. Cocktails were good too!
I'd recommend - book in advance - cost comes right down.

Room Tip: mine was facing a light tunnel - no view but really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Great review of the Palace Hotel Manchester and thank you for mentioning our Tempus Bar
and the great cocktails. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I was originally given a suite, which was dated and too big for my one night overnight stay. I was then moved to a smaller more modern room, which was comfortable, but a fair distance to the reception. Room service was limited and average in terms of food quality, however, given it was a trek to the restaurant it was my preferred option.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Oxford Street, Manchester M6O 7HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.