We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade, what upgrade! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Derby
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Upgrade, what upgrade! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Booked for a couple of days between Xmas and new year as a bit of a treat. Got there and was asked if wanted to upgrade to club for an extra £15 a nite. Why not we thought. Top floor overlooking the city. Got to the room and it was ok, but not much better than one we had in july. In fact the room in July had 2 double beds and similar facilities. What have paid extra for. Bath robes and a turndown service. No bathrobes. So they get delivered. Out we go for a meal. Back we come, no turndown. Breakfast is superb. Out we go. Come back. Room not cleaned, no clean towels. Out we go again, it's only 3pm maybe they'll do it now. No chance. Have a word and express our dismay. 6pm a woman comes to clean, not now we are getting ready to go out. Breakfast superb. Check out. Upgrade refund. Love the hotel cos it's so handy for everything in the centre of Manchester. Coming up again in June to see Robbie Williams, staying at premier inn, it's cheaper

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Lanozrob,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced when upgrading to a Club Room on your stay.

The Club Room upgrades are very popular due to the spectacular views of Manchester City Centre and it is very rare that our guests are dissapointed with these, however we appreciate that the bathrobes wre not in the room and the turndown happened late as well.

Thank you for your feedback and we do hope that you enjoy the Robbie Williams concert in June

Yours sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    358
    136
    48
    19
See reviews for
89
276
44
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from our fifth or sixth stay at the renaissance, all our other stays have been almost faultless apart from the last 2 visits, the main problem being the blocked sink which caused water to run on to the floor which then had to be soaked up with towels as the floor is tiled and can be very slippery when wet, admittedly when the problem was reported both times it was resolved very quickly but on the last visit the sink still remained slightly blocked and in obvious need of upgrading as does the whole bathroom, the rooms and corridors have obviously had a refurb so can't understand why the bathrooms haven't, on a more positive note the staff (especially the young man on the main reception) were excellent and couldn't do enough for us the breakfast was also very nice and the staff again very attentive and pleasant this and the clean and spacious rooms and of course the ideal location for the phones 4 u arena and shops is why we will be making a return visit.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Bobbywelsh,

Thank you for rediscovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from loyal guests and we are pleased to read that you enjoy staying with us.

We are of course concerned that you have on a few occasions experienced blocked sinks. We have shared this feedback with our Engineering team so they can get this issue fixed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights as was going to a concert at the MEN, located only 5-10 minutes walk away. The reception staff couldn't have been more courteous and got us the room type we wanted (a large 6 foot bed) rather than a twin. The hotel has been recently refurbished which was noticeable in both the common areas and the rooms. Speaking of the room, it was very roomy and the layout was 'across' rather than the usual 'deep' shape. Huge amount of windows and we had a room with a view onto the canal so ask for a room on that side as there's no traffic noise from the main street Deansgate. The dinner menu seemed very limited, catering more for a snack type meal - probably as there are a plethora of restaurants on the doorstep. Breakfast was offered with a 33% discount if we ordered it when checking in - not sure if this is normal policy. Again loads of places close by for breakfast if you don't take up the hotel offer.The free shuttle bus stopped very close by which gives you free travel throughout the city - very handy indeed! Only observation would be that you can't see the green emergency exit signs from the room as they are obscured by lampshades. As airline crew, always advised to know the quickest exit if in a smoke filled corridor, indicated by the green signage. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay if into shopping, concerts or eating. Will certainly return soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal side away from traffic noise, higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Janeattree,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we hope it was a great concert.

We are pleased that you overall was happy with your stay and we have passed your feedback regarding the fire exit signs being obscured by lamp shades to our Engineering team so that this can be rectified.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in 2014

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Love the Location of this hotel, the rooms are huge and very comfortable
Breakfast was buffet style and topped up regularly
Reception a bit frosty when we arrived but its Christmas week so you can forgive a little stress
Christmas decorations fantastic and the late bar was open when we returned
All in all a great experience

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Empsol,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Cetre Hotel and we are really pleased that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2014

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed again at the Renaissance hotel in the heart of the city centre, the best hotel for location for shoppers in Manchester, were greeted at reception and were given an option for an upgrade and we were told the hotel had been given a full refurb which was long overdue really !!! But now it's a really nice Boutique hotel and well worth a visit. Breakfast is always good with plenty of choice available. Another plus for the hotel is the parking facility for residents which you can access by a lift to the private area reserved for the hotel guests or the Concierge will park the car for you and bring it back to the hotel main entrance.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 7th floor overlooking the canal and north Manchester, very quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear 275Mike275,

Thank you for rediscovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked our "new look", we love it!

Hope you enjoyed your Christmas shopping and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Huge bedroom, newly decorated but the bathroom was a bit gross and had definitely seen better days - office ceiling with stains in a £150+ a night hotel! We had just come from a great stay at a boutique hotel which was half the price and a million times better! The staff are nice and helpful and the location is great. The view was good but the windows steamed up and were really pretty gross. Breakfast should be included bus is not but the dinner we had in the bar was quite nice. Overall I don't think it is worth the cost.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear dstevens84,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and at the outset please accept our sincere apologies for the stained bathroom ceiling. We have shared your feedback with the engineering team so they can investigate further.

We are also sorry to learn that you feel that your stay was not worth the cost and we do hope that should you return to Manchester you will consider trying us again.

Thank you again for your feedback

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed last night with a friend for an arena concert, we arrived an got a car park pass for as long as we liked next day but at a cost of 16 pound not too bad - the hotel is very central to everything which is great.
The décor for Christmas was bright and modern and the rooms spacious and funky with orange n grey colour scheme. The staff were very attentive and helpful with advice on Manchester were to eat etc, We opted out of breakfast as at 16 pounds it's a bit steep and Maccies do a great bagel :) .
All in all a fabulous hotel just needs more biscuits with the tea one pack is a bit meagre for four star !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Stephb43,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we hope you enjoyed the concert.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back

Yours sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#14 Family Hotel in Manchester
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's city centre's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance to Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. The Renaissance in city centre Manchester invites you with a magnificent lobby, WIFI High speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.