We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay here often” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #28 of 117 hotels in Manchester
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We stay here often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Renaissance is like a second home for me and my partner, we stay in Manchester approx once a month and this is our preferred hotel. There's always a warm welcome, often with small cakes on reception which is a lovely touch. The location is ideal at the top of Deansgate and handy for the Arndale, Manchester Arena and the Printworks.
The rooms are large, they are currently going through refurbishment and we were lucky enough to stay on the 13th floor this week which has been done and has a large screen tv, seating area, fridge, coffee making facilities and a couple of packets of biscuits, all very nice!
There is a large choice at breakfast with everything from the full English, pastries and muffins, cereals, healthy fruit and so much more.
What really makes this hotel stand out is the staff, I must mention Ahmed who has always helped us above and beyond.
I can't say enough about this hotel, will be back very soon.

Room Tip: The thirteenth floor has been refurbished, or just ask for a high room, the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for continuing to discover the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

It is always amazing receiving feedback from our regular guests and we are really happy to read that you liked our new look bedrooms.

Thank you so much also for the very kind words about the staff and we will make sure that Ahmed is nominated for a Spirit to Serve Award.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    324
    127
    47
    18
See reviews for
73
244
41
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ludlow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is the best one to stay at if you're having a relaxing weekend away or going to a concert. It's in the middle of the main shopping and restaurant area of Deansgate so the location is perfect.

The hotel itself was beginning to show it's age but that is now being rectified with refurbishment taking place.We stayed on the 27th July 2013 and were given a 13th floor I might add this is a floor where the rooms have been refurbished with new colour schemes, bathroom and furniture.

The staff are also the friendliest always obliging and nothing is to much trouble, special mention should go to Ahmed top fella.

Would recommend this hotel above all others in Manchester as it beats them for price and convenience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and thank you so much for recommending us.

We are really proud of the refurbished rooms and great to hear that you enjoyed it and we will certainly be sharing your feedback regarding our friendly staff and ensure that Ahmed is put forward for a Spirit to Serve award.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Situated near all the city centre shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel has a planned refurbishment but it wasn't tired. Our bedroom was large as was the bathroom and we overlooked the river. Drinks were expensive in the bar but usual for hotel prices. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and the chance to order omelettes etc and also offer of a smoothie of the day. If I revisit Manchester I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and thank you for reviewing your last stay with us.

We are pleased that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel has lovely parts. But sadly, the rooms are very dated and don't keep up with the hotel, nor do they satisfy the standard of the hotel. It isn't just decor, it's functionality.

The service on checkin, the bar, and check out was pretty good! The staff couldn't do enough - especially at the bar. They were brilliant!!

However, my main gripe with the restaurant was that I paid for a promotional stay, yet I wasn't offered *any* of it. It wasn't a few quid - it was £20 shopping voucher, free drink at the bar, free wifi (which cost me £6.50 for an hour) and free breakfast. All of which I wasn't offered!

I didn't stay especially for these, so I wasn't that bothered. And to be fair, I filled in the questionnaire at the end of my stay, and they have given me a refund of a few quid... doesn't quite cover it, but was a genuine effort to put their mistake right.

Luckily they were full, and we couldn't extend our stay for an extra night. However, we stayed at the Raddisson Blu - it's 5* and is totally worth the extra £20 per night I paid.

Room Tip: Stay at the Radisson!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and at the outset please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you experienced.

We are pleased to read your kind feedback regarding check in and your experience in the bar. We will be sure to share your feedback with the bar staff.

We do appreciate all guest feedback and we do hope that you may consider staying with us again when you next have the opportunity to visit Manchester.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

we booked the hotel via Trivargo , it looked ok on their web page , and a good price .

Location is very good , approx 15 mins walk from coach station , / railway station , if you seem to be getting lost !! , if you find the Arndale Centre , head for the big sign saying food court , walk
through , keep going down and you will see the hotel sign .
The hotel is well placed for going out for a meal , lots of pubs close at hand , appros 15min walk
to opera house ( we saw midnight tango , great show ) lots of mini supermarkets near by , Arndale Centre just up the road .
Checking in pleasant relaxed , the girl was very helpful , pointing out directions for us , which bars are near by , where good to eat ect .

The room was clean & big big window , good view , tea / coffie , facilities , with biscuits , we didnt think it looked outdated . Nice big bath room , bath / shower .

When we came back after the show , we noticed bathroom floor was wet , re air con unit was faulty , leaking water !! . I rang reception , within a few minutes some one came up , looked at the problem , said cant stay in this room tonight .
we was moved to the top floor , the room had just been fully refurbished , we was the first people to stay there , we was also offered ant thing from the bar , for our inconvience .

Breakfast very nice dinning room , good choice of food , hot / cold , once again the service
was very good .

our coach did not leave till 15.00hrs , girl at reception said you can leave the case there , till its time for your coach to leave .

Very nice hotel , very good staff , if we return to manchester , would stay there again .

Room Tip: top floor , room 506
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for being one of the first guests to stay in our New Look bedrooms.

We are very sorry for the inconvinience with the faulty air conditioning and so pleased to learn that you were room moved and had the opportunity to experience our new rooms.

Thank you also for your very kind words about our staff which we will share with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next have the opportunity to visit our great city.

Yours sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrow-in-furness
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

superb staff, very professional and polite, cant do enough for you, food delicious and plenty of choice, but then unfortunately thats about it, had booked for our wedding anniversary £99 per night, were shown to a very spacious room, that had rather old and dated looking furniture, bed was very comfy, room wasnt, was 30degrees in manchester and aircon was working, we were given a fan immediately, but due to the size of the room had little impact, tv very old and wouldnt stay facing the way we wanted so had to wedge 2 books under it. The room was very clean, although at some points our biscuits disappeared from the room. struggled with actually getting in our room and had to keep going back down to get a concierge to help us get in, bit of a pain when ur on the 7th floor, said it was a software error, not quite what we had in mind for a relaxing weekend, when we could barely spend any time in our room due to the extensive heat. it is in a great location, but think we will go back to staying at the victoria and albert.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times and always enjoyed it. It's a little less comfortable during the summer months however as there is no air conditioning and the windows don't really open.

Rooms are spacious, clean a little dated but still maintained well.

The location is great (right in the centre of Manchester - opposite Red Hot World Buffet and 5 minute walk to the Arndale)

The staff are friendly and very helpful. Maps of Manchester are available behind reception.

I'd stay here again :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and thank you for your comments about your last stay.

We will definitely share your kind words about our staff with all the teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#25 Family Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's city centre's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance to Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. The Renaissance in city centre Manchester invites you with a magnificent lobby, WIFI High speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.