We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great location, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My girlfriend booked this as a surprise because we hadn't been out for a while.
A regular to Manchester, I have stayed in a couple of other hotels and Renaissance was as good as those.
Relatively good value as we booked with a 3-4 weeks notice (£80 for 1 night).
Didn't have breakfast but it certainly smelled nice!
We got a family room with 2 double beds which meant the room was nice and spacious.
Staff were all friendly and helpful, only negative was the lifts broke while we were there so we walked 18 flights of stairs after a meal and a few drinks!
Overall good hotel in Manchester for a short stay, just needs some slight modernisation and redecorating.
By the way, parking is £16 for 24hrs in their car park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvinience with our lifts. The lift engineer was on site and working on resolving the issue but unfortunately it took longer than anticipated.

As a team we are very excited that the hotel has a bedroom, lobby & Restaurant & Bar refurbishment planned starting in June and we hope that you will consider staying with us again the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    356
    136
    48
    19
See reviews for
89
275
43
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last year, space wise it's a really spacious room, 2 sofa's, 2 massive king size beds, really large bathroom, was a really lovely stay. It is a 2minute walk to the Arndale Centre and is on the door step of all the bars and pubs along Deansgate itself. The entrance lobby to this hotel is impressive and I would highly recommend this hotel as its close to the nightlife. Canal Street is about a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City centre Hotel.

We hope we can welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

After reading the reviews of this hotel, I wished I had not booked it! When we arrived the reception staff were very helpful and efficient. Our room was on the 12th floor and was a lovely big, light and airy room which was spotless. The bathroom was also large and it was nice to have a window in there too.

The location is excellent, close to shops bars and restaurants and to the MEN Arena. There is a free bus from the piccadilly railway station which stops near the hotel.

Only downside was the drink prices in the bar, but then its the same in most city hotels.

Going on our experience I would definitely recommnend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a club room on 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My boyfriend booked this as part of a surprise to see Mrs Brown's Boys. We were very impressed - superb location, able to park in there own car park even when we'd booked out, gorgeous big suite, lovely touches (courtesy refreshments, patisseries, etc), offer of parking car for you & couldn't fault the staff whatsoever at an extremly good price. We won't hesitate to stay here agian. Only thing I could fault the hotel on was having to pull up outside on double yellows at traffic lights to book in but no huge problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time in our great city and hope we can welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location close to The Manchester Arena & The Arndale centre. This was our second stay at this hotel and like the first we were not disappointed. The staff were very helpful and all very friendly. Our room was large & spacious and was spotlessly clean, the only critism would be the shower was poor. When visiting Manchester again will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed one night over the Easter weekend for a long anticipated event in Manchester. Although the location is great the car park was difficult to access and quite confusing, I ended up exiting and having to drive round the block again.

It took a total of 3 room changes before I was given one that I was prepared to stay in. The first 2 offerings were unbearably shabby and had twin beds. The carpets were threadbare, cupboard door handles were hanging off, broken phones, faulty lamps and rusty fixtures in the bathrooms. Only one lift of the three available worked and it lurched and stopped abruptly, this caused a huge backlog of luggage laden guests in reception! Thank goodness we only stayed one night.

The single consolation was the friendliness and professionalism of the reception staff. They did try their best to address the problems listed above but while the hotel is so badly dilapidated they're fighting a losing battle. I really expected more from the online photos and Marriot chain reputation. I won't be returning until after the proposed renovations, if ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvinience you experienced during you stay and our General Manager would like to speak to you directly regarding these.

Please contact him via mhrs.manbr.gm@renaissancehotels.com

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here on Easter weekend as we were celebrating our 10 year anniversary. We got to our room and discovered we had separate beds when we had booked a Kingsize. That wasn't a real issue and we thought it wasn't something that bothered us enough to complain about as we only used the room as base after a night out. The rooms were very dated and were not the standard I was used to from a Marriott. When it was time to go to sleep we realised that we were right behind the lift shafts and all we could hear all night was the lifts going up and down. Not what you expect when you have spent a lot of money on what you hoped would be a decent hotel. The lifts are dangerous, we went down in one and it started shaking and felt like it had gone into freefall. The staff were friendly so I couldn't complain about that.

However when we got home I made a complaint to the Marriott and their reply was that they hadn't had any complaints about the noise from the lifts before and they'll make a note for next time we stay. We won't be staying again so there's no need to bother.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's city centre's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance to Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. The Renaissance in city centre Manchester invites you with a magnificent lobby, WIFI High speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.