We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed as a family of 4 in this hotel as 2 were attending a gig in the city and it's a pain to get back the 45 miles to where we live on either public transport or having to do a 2 hour round trip. We chose The Renaissance as it was central and the location was superb.
Finding the car park was a little tricky and working the barriers was an acquired skill. We weren't told of the extra charge to use the car park when we booked nor checked-in, but it was worth paying for the security.
The suite we had was large enough with 2 double beds and a sofabed, and was clean and tidy on arrival.
The heating in the room seemed not to be working, but after a call to the reception a portable heater was delivered in only a few minutes.
I really do think that some wi-fi internet should be available Free of Charge for hotel guests and that if anyone needed to download lots of data or use excessively, there should be a charge. It is not in keeping with current trends to charge for all internet use.

Room Tip: Go as high up as you can as the street level can be a little noisy on this busy street. Although th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    356
    136
    48
    19
See reviews for
89
274
43
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in July to attend a convention in MEN Arena. Easy walking distance which was why we chose this hotel in particular.

Positives-
Easy check in
Big rooms with separate seating area which is rare for city centre location
Lovely power shower and nice toiletries.
Communal areas were lovely and clean
Bar staff freindly and plenty of seating
Great big breakfasts. Went down at various times over stay and always plenty of choice & hot.
fluffy towels, gowns & slippers !

Negatives-
Slightly over priced cimpaired to near-by hotels
Parking is a right pain. You have to get a card from reception to get you into multi storey. This is difficult if you are on your own or with children as there's double yellow lines outside and nowhere to pull up while you nip in. Very narrow getting in and around car park once you're in. Small lifts and doorways to get you back up to recepyion with your cases. As others have said, long wait for lift, think only one went down to carpark.

Moan over !
Great location for Arndale etc, as they're just over the road. Also brilliant all you can eat place, think its called Buffet of the World or something, just across the way. I really recommend a try !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We booked a three night city break in Manchester and decided to stay at the Renaissance, the hotel lovely from the inside, and when we checked in we were booked into a room on the top floor with a very spacious room, we were very happy as we were there for three nights. The hotel was very clean and service was great as we had no idea where to go they pointed us in the right direction. I would recommend this hotel to any one that is thinking of staying in Manchester.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

The same problem no hot water but no recompense offered despite asking.In addition only two lifts were working with long waits in the morning. It is a scandal that any hotel in this day and age are charging for Internet. It simply is not keeping up to date and is poor value.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our stay at the hotel was most enjoyable , the hotel had a problem with the hot water as the boiler had broken down, however they made up for this by adjusting our final bill and we were very pleased with everything else. It is located perfectly and the breakfast and service is very good , also the valet parking is excellent. We will stay again next time we are in Manchester

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for one Saturday night with my wife as we were attending a friends wedding party nearby - we decided to pay a little more for a hotel as a bit of treat. I feel I wasted money.

The hotel is acceptable, just about. The exterior of the hotel was that of a 1960's office tower, the lobby of the hotel was plain but of a good standard, and the reception staff where friendly. The room was basic. The bed was really comfortable, which is a major selling point of the Marriott chain, and it was a nice large room. It also had great views over Salford and the surrounding countryside, the sunset was amazing. The bathroom was extremely poor and should never have been allowed in this standard of hotel - it was clean, but the brown bargain basement fixtures made it feel grubby, there was some mold in the shower area, the shower its self was basic and had low water pressure and it had the office block ceiling tiles, two of which where actually broken and you could see into the ceiling void above.

The rest of the room was fine, but other than the bed but nothing Premier Inn, even I hate to say it a TravelLodge wouldn't give you and the bathroom would likely have been better in both.

Breakfast, didn't start well. We got onto a table that was quite literally shoved up against the bar. The service was ok. The breakfast buffet was basic and again below the standard of say the Premier Inn. We asked for Kippers, which we have previously had at the Marriott hotels, firstly the waitress didn't know if they did them and when she eventually found they did we were told they would cost £7.50 each, on top of the already expensive breakfast. I actually don't think she got this right as we have stayed at Marriotts lots of times and they have always been an inclusive option.

I'm into double figures with Marriott in terms of stay, when I think of the hotel we stayed in Edinburgh which was stunning and cheaper, I really begin to think this hotel falls well short. Manchester is a haven for centrally located quality hotels - if your considering one, spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is in a great location and that is the best I can say about it. It is within easy walking distance to just about everything. In addition the staff was extremely helpful and the public areas while a bit dated were comfortable. The rooms and the hallways could only be described as needing a major makeover. They do not look as if they have been painted in years. For a short stay this is a good hotel. For a longer stay I would explore other options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#14 Family Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's city centre's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance to Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. The Renaissance in city centre Manchester invites you with a magnificent lobby, WIFI High speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.