We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average big name hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average big name hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The outside appearance of this hotel is not great, the lobby and restaraunt is refurbished.

The room was clean and spacious. The Bed was very comfortable.
The downside was the room was old and needs refurbishment
Good breakfast.
Good location. Very good shopping and nice dining within a short walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    405
    154
    57
    20
See reviews for
105
308
48
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The exterior sets the tone, dull, concrete, 1980's
Whislt the foyer has been refurbished it is still a dark windowless space
The rooms are dated and shabby and poorly designed
I was on the Club Floor and the only differentiating factor appeared to be the sign saying Club Floor by the lift.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed for two nights for the second year running and again very impressed with this hotel. We had twin room with lovely large beds. The room also had desk, big TV and a sofa which was great as I was meeting friends and they popped by the hotel first. Rooms clean and have everything you need. Staff always very welcoming and friendly. Great location, few minutes walk from Deansgate and all the shops....10 mins walk from the Northern Quarter and great Bars if you know your way, if not plenty of cabs nearby. Will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a Saturday night on route to a wedding in Cheshire. The location is good, all of the bars, resturants and shopping areas are in easy walking distance. I chose this hotel based on the web site but was very dissapointed. The hotel was tired looking once you got passed the hotel lobby. The executive double was not as expected, tired looking and basic and did not have all the amenities we were promised (wine, bathrobes and slippers) one of the reasons why we chose the hotel, so left feeling like we'd paid for something we did not get. Hotel reception acknowledged this but failed to provided them even when I telephone down to reception. Probably would not stay here agian as there are plenty other hotels to try.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from a short overnight stay at the Renaissance Manchester. We booked very late and as there were a lot of things on in Manchester that weekend, rooms were in very short supply and certainly weren't cheap. So having looked at the various booking websites I eventually decided to book on the Marriots own website and to chose the Renaissance hotel - what swung it for me was the location of the hotel and the rate offered included breakfast, robes, slippers and a complimentary bottle of wine.

Check-in was fast, friendly and efficient. The lady (Yvonne) was particularly friendly and welcoming and took the time to chat and find out the reason for our visit and then proceeded to give us a very handy map and give us directions to where we wanted to go.

Our room was on the 13th floor, Club level. It was nicely decorated in a classical style and there were amazing views across the city. Unfortunately, the promised robes, slippers and wine were nowhere in the room but a quick phone call resulted in them being delivered to us.

It was an especially wet evening and as we headed out for the evening we asked the gentleman at reception if they had any spare umbrellas that we could borrow. He said they didn't......then the lovely Yvonne popped her head out of an office and said, I know where there,s one and she gave it to us. Such a small gesture but it meant so much to us and saved us from getting absolutely soaked.

When we returned to the hotel that night, we pulled back the curtains and marvelled at the wonderful lights of the city below us. The bed has to have been the most comfortable bed ever and the feather pillows and quilt meant that I felt I was sleeping on a cloud!

We ordered breakfast to be delivered to the room the next morning and when it arrived it was delicious, very good cereals and a super fry. The coffee was a little disappointing though...very very weak and not very nice. The shower had very good power and the bath towels were generous in size. The robes were a bit small, I always love big comfy bathrobes with lots of room, and the ones in the Renaissance were a snug fit.

Checkout was again friendly and efficient and the hotel took care of our bags while we spent a few hours shopping.

Overall, we had a lovely stay in the Renaissance, the location is second to none as it is within walking distance of most areas in the city centre and is just a very short stroll from the main shopping areas.

Room Tip: Views from the 13th floor over the canal are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a good value hotel right in the centre of Manchester. The service is amongst the most friendly I've experienced in a while. The building is aging and the rooms are obviously due a refurbishment soon, but they have everything you need and are spotlessly clean.

Early checkin was no problem and the room (314) was more like a junior suite, with a separate sitting area than any standard room.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the standard rooms with a sitting area or pay the checkin upgrade to the club rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location very close to manchester arena and short walk to canal street. Close to all shops bars arndale shopping center 2 mins and piccadily gardens close by with its fountains also the print works are seconds away wich has some nice bars and restaraunts piccadily train station is a 10 minute walk or a taxi if u dont know the area

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Family Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's city centre's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance to Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. The Renaissance in city centre Manchester invites you with a magnificent lobby, WIFI High speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotel.de, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.