We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable beds we ever slept in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
“Most comfortable beds we ever slept in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

I stayed here at the beginning of June along with my sister and friend. We were in Manchester to to see Take That. The week before my sister broke her foot and we were a bit unsure if we should still go, so pleased that we did. The hotel staff were so helpful and allocated us a room on the first floor close to the lift. The hotel let us borrow a wheelchair which was fantanstic which enabled us to still go about Manchester around the shops and restaurants. This has to be one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. The beds were so comfortable that we didn't want to leave them in the morning. The one thing that did tempt us to get up was the lovely breakfast. I would really recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Manchester not only for beautiful experience of the hotel but for it's location as well. There are so many good restaurants and shops so close by. My next project now is to see if my husband will take me back here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    405
    154
    57
    20
See reviews for
105
308
48
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

, My husband had to leave the car on the double yellow lines to get a card for the car park, no one seem interested in rushing to help!
We had too struggle from the car park to reception, we asked for help with the luggage and had too wait for a bored luggage porter who did wheel the suitcase but did not bother to take the bag over my shoulder just leaving me after a long journey with my walking stick to try and keep up with him.
I would have thought once we arrived and gave the name the staff might have checked our profile and saw it was my first stay in a hotel since becoming disabled.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a function. The room was great, very clean, nice seating area, 2 comfy double beds, great hairdryer !!

Food and service with the function was excellent as was breakfast the following morning.

The Hotel staff were all very friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Situated minutes from the night life & the shopping area we could see everything from our window
speedy check in - the employees were absolutely lovely & very helpful!
room was very spacious! beds very comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The outside of the hotel should have told me - it's urgly outside and not much better in. Friendly check in, tired lift, carpets and I was booked into a suite - the curtains were closed which I thought was very odd - until i opened them! The windows had not been cleaned outside in probably ten years so to hide the problem they keep the curtains closed! The bathroom was very tired and 1970s decor, the bath was only really usable for a shower - you wouldnt want to lie in it. So i had a shower to find a pubic hair at eye level on the bath tiles - it did not improve after that... grey and tired linen, dated furniture. bed side alrm went off 1am which just about summed the place up. Having read other reviews saying its nice, i can only assumed they are people connected to the hotel. if you stayed at thier new sister hotel at st pancaras station london and then came here you would be in for a hotel from hell. i would never stay here again, it was dire and a disgrace. How Marriott even dare call it a Renaissance Hotel is beyond me - it was built probably in the 1970s and not a penny spent on it since. I stay in hotels all over the place 3-4 nights every week and this is worse than most of the worst Travelodge sites... forget the central location there are plenty of far better hotels and i will never stay at this hotel again - it was disgusting!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Excellent Hotel, friendly staff, lovely relaxed atmosphere. Rooms classically designed, clean and well equiped.

When we arrived our booking hadn't come through to the Hotel, so we had to wait. As we didn't have much time (we were going to see a concert at the MEN) this was an anxious wait. The staff were very helpful and even though they didn't have the booking, re-booked us at the same rate and upgraded us to a Club room for the inconvenience.

We were asked a couple of times if the room was OK, and were asked the following morning by the gentleman who has booked us in how we'd enjoyed the concert. Nice touches and made us feel like valued guests.

Breakfast was OK, hash browns were somewhat incinerated, but good choice of fruit and pastries.

Will definitley stay there again and compares extremely favourably with more expensive Hotels such as the Midland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

A friend and I went on an overnight trip to Manchester and were pleasantly surprised at how well this hotel was located! Close to shopping and restaurants, and only a 15 minute walk from museums and art galleries. The staff were very pleasant and gave us plenty of suggestions as to where to go. The beds were extremely comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Family Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's city centre's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance to Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. The Renaissance in city centre Manchester invites you with a magnificent lobby, WIFI High speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotel.de, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.