We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful. I've seen more appealing youth hostels” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland to your Saves list
Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 - 5 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Edinburgh
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disgraceful. I've seen more appealing youth hostels”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

The hotel from the outside and reception looks not bad, although after checking into the bedrooms they were found to be small, cramped shoe boxes that were dirty, disgusting and hot. (The hotel is advertised as having air conditioning, although conveniently, it doesn’t work)

The bathrooms were in drastic need of renovation, the 80’s style mismatching suite was dirty and mouldy. The hot tap in the bath fell off in my hand and the bath was stained.

The restaurant food was ok. I know it is not a fast food restaurant but you would expect to be served a three course meal in less than 3 hours.

I was embarrassed to admit ever staying in this hotel; I’ve stayed in cleaner and more attractive youth hostels. (At least you get your moneys worth at a youth hostel.) Needless to say the business trip was cut short, and the contract with the Thistle hotel ended. We have since been much happier spending our time spent on business staying at Malmaison or The Palace, where the staff are extremely pleasant in beautiful surroundings.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't touch with a bargepole
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    334
    245
    80
    95
See reviews for
61
273
73
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

One thing I have learned from my recent experience after staying in this so called 'FOUR STAR' Hotel is to trust reviews by travellers on tripadvisor. My wife and I stayed in this 'Hell on earth' for 3 agonizing nights whilst attending a conference in the first week of July. We are frequent travellers and have stayed in a variety of hotels ranging between 3 AND 5 Star. I wonder how this hotel has been able to maintain its 4 star rating.
The only thing positive about this hotel is its location and the most deceptive is its lobby. All niceness stops at the lobby. We got a double bed on fifth floor.The temperature in Manchester was close to 30 degrees but inside the rooms it was like a furnace. There is no airconditioning or proper ventilation. There are 2 lifts in the lobby, one had no carpet on its floor. The corridors on our floor were very narrow and the door of the room is the smallest, perhaps just complying with the mimimum requirements.The room itself had a double bed, with a table and chair, TV, coffee/tea, iron/ironing board/trouser press, NO BAR, Tv with a few free channels. This left us with very little space to move around. Bathroom was small and worn out, with a very old looking tub and sink.There was a fan in room which would blow out hot air adding to our misery. Since we do not drink I suppose we did not have the luxury of filling ourselves with beer to help sleep (another travellers experience) and therefore had to resort to cold shower 2 -3 times each night to cool off. This was probably the first time in our life we dreaded the idea of going back to our room. Breakfast was OK.
I happened to visit 2 of my colleagues attending the same conference at 2 other hotels in the same area. One was Travel Inn (3*) across from G-MEX and Ibis Hotel (2-3*). I must say I was impressed with Ibis (medium sized clean rooms with airconditioning) and kicked myself for not booking a room here for 1/3rd the price of Thistle. There was no a/c in Travel inn but the rooms were much larger and airy.
I have never written a review before despite travelling frequently but the recent experience in Thistle has forced me to do it. I have tried to be as neutral as possible since my stay at thistle was sponsored and therefore money is not issue here. It is purely on comparison. I have stayed at Thistle in Cardiff before and I feel this hotel gives a bad name to an otherwise quiet a popular chain.
I would advise other prospective travellers to think 10 times before booking this hotel and do not be FOOLED by its 4 star rating. I hope this rating would be reviewed by concerned authorities.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

Obviously reviews are subjective but one fact that can't be disputed is that the hotel does not have air conditioning. After I checked in (on the hottest day of the year), the reception confirmed although there is an air conditioning panel in each bedroom, the controls only heat the room as the AC was never installed! Because of the hot water pipes and the large size of the hotel, my room was unbearable and I did not get any sleep.

You would have to be very brave to stay in this hotel during the summer!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

We had the misfortune of trying to sleep here on fri 31st june/1st july.the day time temperature was about 30 degrees but up on the 5th floor where we were it was more like 40/50 degrees and even at night it must have been still in the 30's in the rooms
we were told the air conditioning had been broken for some time (all of the rooms had a room fan) but all this did was blow the warm air about without cooling anything and especially us down.
funnily enough the air con in the reception was working fine and to be honest if they would have let me i would have much rather slept there.if it wasn't for all the beer we were drinking i don't think i would have been able to sleep.
how it can claim to be a 4 star hotel when they won't get the air conditioning fixed i just do not know-and its not like you get any money off the price of the room either
it is centrally located but that is all it has going for it-i have stayed in backpacker hostels that have nicer rooms and haven't charged me anywhere near the £85 a night we paid for the room.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

Booked a twin room as I was travelling with my daughter. This hotel was better than expected having seem previous reviews. Check in and out was easy and staff were helpful. The location is very central - easy walk to Piccadilly Station and China Town (both less than 10 mins). The bedroom and en-suite were both very clean and comfortable. However the room was very warm and the air conditioning did not work - could have opened the window but that would have made the room very noisy as our room overlooked the central heating/air conditioning unit. The extractor fan in the en-suite bathroom did not work. Breakfast was buffet style - excellent choice of hot or cold food. Generally a good choice and would certainly use this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2006

The other reviews are spot-on. There has got to be something wrong with a hotel when there are 4 out of 5 people in the queue at Reception are waiting for a room change or just plain leaving.

I wasn't surprised to find mold growing on the tiles or a massive watermark taking up a third of the wall - it's what happens when the rooms are overheated, the air-conditioning (if it exists) doesn't work and you're struggling to cope with angry guests who are all asking how they were duped into paying +£100 a night for the privilege.

What a dump. And I wasn't even the worst off - the room was a dump but at least it was about 10degrees cooler than the ones on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors. Never, ever again.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

I needed to stay in Manchester overnight at short notice, and all hotels were fully booked apart from the Thistle. What a stroke of luck, I thought - smack in the middle of town, 5 minutes walk from Picadilly Station - perfect. How wrong could I be. The hotel is awful, with the worst hotel room I have stayed in for many years. £89 bed and breakfast. Never again.

I must however mention the staff, all of whom were very good, in the face of what must be never ending complaints. They, and we, deserve better.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland

Address: 3 - 5 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Piccadilly Gardens in the heart of the city, we’re just five minutes’ walk form Picadilly Railway Station close to some great attractions, the Arndale Centre, China Town the Arena and Manchester central are all a short walk away. The Portland was one of Manchester's first hotels and has a modern feel. Just Gym with a plunge pool and Jacuzzi is available in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portland By Thistle, Manchester Hotel Manchester
Manchester Thistle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.