We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland to your Saves list
Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 - 5 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is located in the Picadilly area of Manchester.
Its between china town and the gay village. the Arndale center is but a stones throw away.
The hotel has a modern feel about it. My room was nicely done, everything was very nice.
one little niggle I could not hear a word either receptionist said to me I am a hearing aid user and with it turned up to full I could not hear them maybe a hearing aid loop system is needed at reception?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager54, Manager at Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us it is most welcome. I was pleased to read that you found everything to be nicely done. I have asked our Reception Manager to investigate your comments regarding the Hearing aid loop as we do have one situated on our Guest Relations Desk for everyone to use and I can only apologise that this was not brought to your attention. However I do hope that on your next visit to Manchester you will choose to come and see us again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    334
    244
    80
    95
See reviews for
61
273
73
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A last minute booking for new year led us too the thistle Portland street. Lovely welcome from reception staff. Outside of building and reception very nice. On entering the room 222 we were amazed that a cupboard had been turned into a double room?. The corridor past the bathroom to the main are was so narrow our case could not be wheeled bit had to be picked up and carried side ways. The room looks onto a air conditioning unit and internal view of the rest of the building. There was just enough room to negotiate around the bed. The bed was shabby and marked and may have benefited from a valance sheet. The bathroom was dated and sad. We left after 5 minutes and for 15 pounds more booked into a near by 4 star hotel. The contrast was amazing.

I can not fault the welcome or the staff, but the product offered is sad poor value and seriously out of date. The bedroom was smaller than that of a new build starter home, claustrophobic is a compliment. We were offered the opportunity to view a different room, however if this had been my business I'd have offered the better option first had it been available, we did not take the opportunity and moved swiftly on.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you pay, or book on a free cancellation basis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager54, Manager at Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review it is most appreciated. I was disappointed to read your comments and have issued a copy to our team for their thoughts and please be assured any necessary internal action will be taken. I do hope though that this situation did not spoil your plans too much and that you had a good time bringing in the New Year in Manchester. Should you wish to discuss your concerns any further please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived 24 dec 2013 left 26dec 2013
Very good service bathroom needs updating value for money especially Xmas dinner 10 out of 10 waiter service very good bit quiet pool not open Xmas day bit late Boxing Day but ok , girl on reception very good pleasent but say all staff very pleasent . Food very good Xmas dinner wasn't on the menu but chef did it for us ( how good is that . Note not very expensive at all food cheaper than the drinks what can y say to that ? Superb stay good thing christmas wasn't in your face at this hotel, thanks all the staff for good time tony and Claire

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager54, Manager at Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us regarding your recent stay. Firstly allow me to wish you a belated Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year. I was delighted to read your review and have shared it with our team as I know they will appreciate your lovely words too. We work hard here at the Portland to ensure that guests feel like the hotel is a home away from home and I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

smack bang in the heart of the manchester could not find a better location if you tried ,bit jaded on the inside b.
ut very comfortable beds probably the best nights sleep ever in a hotel also fantasic breakfast eat as much as you like

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager54, Manager at Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback it is most welcome. I was happy to read that you found our beds to be comfortable and that you experienced the best night’s sleep you had ever had in a hotel. I do hope that on your next visit to Manchester you will come again and see us again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

You get what you expect from this 3* hotel. Smallish bedroom, adequate bathroom, and a very good breakfast offering. Lounge and bar are well presented but other common areas need some work doing. TV has a bizarre menu selection but WIFI is free and quick.

Location is good alongside Premier Lodge, Ibis and Novotel. Choose which one gives you the best deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager54, Manager at Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting your comments they are appreciated. I have shared your comments with our team for their thoughts and be assured any necessary internal measures will be taken. However if you would like to discuss your experience in detail please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Standard room, needs updating, starting to getting alittle tatty but we got a double room for £60 on a Sunday in Decemeber and its right by town centre and printworks! So was perfect location. Was clean and staff friendly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager54, Manager at Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences it is most welcome. I was pleased to read that you found us to be in a perfect location and I hope you had a great night out in town and will come and see us again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Excellent location very impressive building a short walk from city centre. Checked in early with no problems. Rooms a bit small and a bit dated but clean. Beds very comfy, walls a bit thin could hear everything going on in nexr room. Breakfast really nice very relaxed hotel with nice staff. Would definitely stay again but feel for 110 pounds a night was a tad overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager54, Manager at Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review it is appreciated. I read your comments with interest and have shared it with our team. I was pleased to note though that overall you would definitely stay with us again and hope it will not be too long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Portland.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland

Address: 3 - 5 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Piccadilly Gardens in the heart of the city, we’re just five minutes’ walk form Picadilly Railway Station close to some great attractions, the Arndale Centre, China Town the Arena and Manchester central are all a short walk away. The Portland was one of Manchester's first hotels and has a modern feel. Just Gym with a plunge pool and Jacuzzi is available in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portland By Thistle, Manchester Hotel Manchester
Manchester Thistle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.