We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be going back....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Manchester Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Manchester Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Manchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Won't be going back....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I visited Saturday 12th july for one night having booked through booking.com
We turned up at 2pm -our designated check in time and had to wait a further 1 and a half hours before we could get into our room as it had not been cleaned.
Would not recommend it at all- it was really run down in the rooms and staff weren't very helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    448
    520
    448
    771
See reviews for
205
739
222
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely disgusting would not stay here again got told on the phone that I would be having the luxury bedroom payed 85pound for the night ended up on 6th floor with no air con and the tiniest room ever had little windows what couldn't even open so no air could get in was boiling hot to. The room service was rubbish had to go out and buy my own drinks from the shop we only got given tea or Coffey no cold drinks. Had stains on the bath in the bathroom had no toilet roll had to use tissues. Would not recommend anyone to stay here we got given the tiniest telly ever was so small couldn't even watch telly. I won't be coming back here again the rooms need a lot of decorating to them asked to use the swimming pool and sauna and it was 4pound each and 5 pound each for breakfast should of be free. Very disgusting hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

After flying in direct from nz I had asked for an early check in.
The receptionist was curt to the point of rudeness in telling me early was noon and to go away until then (4 hours)
Room 156 was not the best, stained carpets, dust collected on the walls and dated decor.
There was also no windows.
As a busy city centre hotel there are plenty of options near by so cleanliness and service have to be a point of difference for the better not worse.
Location wise it was perfect, 10 minutes walk from Picadilly station with direct link to airport. (£9.60 return) and 2 minutes to the tram network, main shopping centres and cathedral

Room Tip: Get a window room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked one of the suites for an overnight stay in Manchester. Check in was very easy and we were offered breakfast at a discounted rate which we took and I can say that it was worth the money! The room we were allocated was a smoking suite as my husband was a smoker at the time. The room itself was clean but quite dated,the bath had some quite deep scuffs on it but again I think it was just down to the age if the decor. Compared to some of the hotels in the area the price was cheap for a suite room, so really it's true you get what you pay for! I can hand on heart say that I would use this hotel again for an overnight stay but wouldn't have such high expectations of what was on offer.

Room Tip: I would choose the room at the top of your price range!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed on a Friday night(wowcher deal) stopped on 5th floor (528) good room nice n clean with a mezzanine great nights sleep evening meal was OK nice and hot. plates a little small but could go back for more if you wanted.Breakfast same as dinner self service nice n hot breakfast Finnish at 10.30 we got in at 10:15 asked for more eggs no probs.PS bought bottle of wine with dinner £ 6.95 which was OK. if you download metroshuttle app 3 FREE buses take you round town takes you to 3 different areas of town.if you come out of hotel turn left walk approx 500 yards cross over two pubs there the Circus ( smallest bar in Europe) and the grey horse fantastic landlady great pubs age groups about 40s upwards. ( beer prices good £2.50 a pint) .if you come out of hotel again turn left then first left about 200 yards is canal street ( gay village) some sights n sounds to experience .plenty of cheap deals on booze everyone happy to help n talk great night out pps email hotel direct and ask for nice room it worked for us and staff were very helpful

Room Tip: 528 was large clean n quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Beautiful grande entrance. Reminded me of the titanic! However the rooms were in desperate need of redecoration. It was like sleeping in a nightclub it was that loud. Dont get the breakfast. It was rank!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Up there with the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

Room had no air conditioning. Requested a fan which was broke then had to get a 2nd fan. Had the choice of leaving fan on all night and having to put up with the noise or turnin fan of and been in a sauna.

Rooms small, cramped, dirty and dated. Showers not much better.

Food where do I start. Beans wrong colour. Sausages looked cheap and lacking any actual meat, bacon awful, hash browns stuck together. Fresh Orange worst I have tasted.

Have nothing positive to say about this hotel. How it has got 3 stars I dont know.

If you have a choice stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Address: Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Manchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.