We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Manchester Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Manchester Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Manchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

A grand, old, big hotel in the centre of Manchester City. I always found, people do complain a lot about Britannia Hotels. Please friends, don't forget how much you paying for a room. I have stayed 3 times in this hotel and I always had a wonderful experience. Big room, clean bathroom, cosy bed, what else u need?

I would love to stay in this hotel again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    444
    517
    447
    770
See reviews for
205
736
222
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I had the unfortunate mispleasure of staying courtesy of FlyBe after a flight was cancelled. It has definitely had its day and is in need of a complete guy and renovation. Rooms are dirty and beds are awful. Next time I will pay for a decent hotel myself.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This wonderful old building has such history, the recption area has trailing staircases and high ornate ceilings that you could envisage wealthy Victorians enjoying a well earnt break. The last time i stayed here was in the 1990's and it was still a lovely luxury hotel.

Sadly in the 21st century it needs a creative push, wallpaper hanging off walls, the long corridiors smell of damp and the stains on the carpet do not give a good impression. Small cheap tatty pictures adorn walls and it just makes me feel unhappy at what could be a splendid hotel again. My room was right opposite Yates and the main shopping area, didn't sleep a wink, window wouldnt shut, secondary glazing also jammed open. Room smelt of damp and was musty. Fights and shouting took place most of the night. Took me ages to work out how to use the shower. Room was clean but again decor left a lot to the imagination, a mix of painted walls and wallpaper where it had fallen off, even the lamp shade was broken. The hotel reception was staffed by one man whose english wasn't that great and shrug of the shoulders and don't know was the general reply. Breakfast was a bacon bap and coffee, only one person on duty. I had pre ordered a gluten free bun which was rock hard and 2 slithers (not rashers) of bacon were delievred. After the first bite i discovered the bun was green and mouldy and not defrosted properly either. Again, a shrug of the shoulders and so what attitude. Needless to say when it come to paying i agreed to pay for the cofee only. No managers were on duty.

No i would not stay here again. Unwelcoming and tired hotel in need of TLC. - Buck up Management and owners. This would make a wonderful development of flats... but sadly its days as a hotel are numbered!

Room Tip: Not one located at the front and preferablly in another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Ignorant staff dirty room and bath and carpets dirty and bedding smelly , got moved to another room, over priced and you don't even get breakfast not that I would eat it , glad it was only one night as going on holiday wouldn't be back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

After a long and late drive from London to Manchester on Saturday night I was looking forward to checking in for a good night of sleep. As we walked to the hotel from the car park, we noticed there was a nightclub under the hotel. Fingers crossed our rooms weren't over the club.

No luck.

The receptionist even took delight in telling us that we could rest easy once the nightclub closed it's doors. At 2am.

The room was straight out of the 1980s and I don't think it has been updated since. Almost everything was filthy and worn out.

If you have the choice between this or staying anywhere else. Pick the 2nd option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks fabulous from the outside but you cannot judge a book by its cover, as the inside is very dated! The rooms have all the facilities you need, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, tv but they all need replacing with a modern version. The bed was comfortable with clean white sheets. The bathroom, again was in need of a refurb but there was shower gel, shampoo and clean white towels so we couldn't complain. The breakfast was quite poor, there was plenty of it but cheap brands of food. On a more positive note, the staff were helpful. The location was ideal, very near to Piccadilly and all the shopping. There were plenty of eating places and bars. Canal Street is very close... a few minutes walk and a good atmosphere is to be had. Deansgate has plenty of bars too but is a taxi ride away. Manchester is ideal for shopping and the nightlife. I would stay again in this hotel for one night but wouldn't stay any longer ;-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful building outside and as you enter inside there is a nice, white, past-british-glory staircase that goes up to the fifth floor.

However, the rooms are literally awful, most of them are dark, old and run-down and they stink.. After complaining they changed my room but not until the next day.. I thought I spent a night in prison.. Particularly inappropriate for a woman or a couple.

Wi-fi either worked perfectly, or didn't work at all.. Most of the times didn't work at all, and when it did it was interrupted after a while. Aaaargghhh...

Breakfast was Rock Bottom Quality.. Perhaps only the toasted bread was edible.. all the rest was literally dog food, not worth even 1 pound.

Most of the staff was bored to death, with a few bright exceptions. I would never come back willingly - needless to say.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Address: Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Manchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.