We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely book again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Manchester Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Manchester Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Manchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
1 review
“Would definitely book again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel online and paid under £30 for a double for 1 night. The hotel itself is a beautiful building, the reception is well manned and I found the staff really helpful. The room was clean and the bed lovely and comfortable. The shower really powerful and yes we had hot water. Plenty of extra towels, pillows etc. Yes 1 lift wasn't working but the other was fast and reliable. I nearly cancelled my booking after reading all the negative reviews but I'm so glad I deceided to bite the bullet and give it a go. It's central and ideal for canal st, city centre and train stations. Its a lovely place and Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    448
    520
    448
    771
See reviews for
205
739
222
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shires
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed 1 night and thank goodness that was all. We were attending a wedding and needed somewhere central to stay. My first choice of Hotel was fully booked so this came up reasonable. We needed an early check in which (we had to pay £10 extra ) and was not mentioned at the time of booking so we were a bit annoyed and if we had more time I would have complained and moved to another Hotel but time was short and we had to make do. Yes it was a base but I would not entertain staying again. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at the Brittania Hotel for 2 nights April 10-11 in an Executive Doublle for £39 per night. The Hotel has a beautiful lobby and grand staircases over 5 floors. The room was very clean, the decoration was lovely and classic! The bed was extremely comfortable. There is wifi throughout the hotel including the rooms. I didn't have any food at the hotel but the price for the hot breakfast buffet was £6 for guests if you book the night before. One guest did say the breakfast was plentiful, tasty and satisfying. One negative is that the tv reception throughout the hotel was not working due to technical difficulties and there were signs all over saying they are working on this. As of checkout, it had not been repaired. Not a problem for me but I could see how it would be annoying to some. Nevertheless, I DO feel that since they were having this problem, the hotel should have offered FREE breakfast for guests to compensate, but that was not offered. Shame really, it could have been a goodwill gesture. All in all, the price was right, the room was clean and the location superb (right downtown). I would recommend this hotel again, without hesitation! The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: BOOK the Executive Double if it's a good price (mine was £39/night). Definitely worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-On-Trent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights.

As so many others have already commented, the hotel is tired and very, very dated. We booked an Executive room online and the room was absolutely nothing like it is advertised on the website. Dirty carpets- damp walls- furniture falling apart. T.V. with no reception- smoke smelling rooms. A lift permanently out of order. Rude and unhelpful staff. Bedding that does not fit the bed and a mattress that is a double on a king-size base.

Be prepared to be kept awake until the early hours of the morning by other 'guests' running around, screaming shouting and arguing, banging doors and all other different kinds of drunken behaviour which goes on unchallenged by staff.

The bouncers on the hotel door upon your arrival will give you the first clue as to what type of establishment the Britannia really is.When we checked out on Sunday morning, 2 police officers were giving chase to someone on the 5th floor and down the hotel staircase. The hotel really is more like a prison/mental institution.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Booked for overnight stay whilst in Manchester for visit to show at MEN Arena - first room given was tired and noise from other occupants outrageous ! upgraded at additional cost to suite , which was roomy and comfortable. Downside was no hot water for getting ready to go out to venue . And once again in the morning No Hot Water . Reception staff apologetic but standard company response. P.s. Cleaning staff knocking on door 8.30 a.m. to clean room ! ?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

been to manchester for weekend portland st. Was worried with all the bad reviews dont let them put you off. On entrance you are met with the wow factor with the grand stairs. the staff where very pleasant and we up graded from a room with no window to a top floor room with a hugh window for only a total for a tenner for both nights. The room was very clean just a few scuff marks but overall happy big room with loads of storage space. Very comfortable beds and pillows even extra blankets in the cupboard, very clean bathroom nice shower clean and easy to use. room 580. The curtain wasnt big enough for window but i had eye mask so no issues there. This room over looked portland street very handy for shopping. bars. resturants and transport links. Some traffic noise and people shouting on the street below which was to be expected on a busy main road. security was good no non residents after 11pm. this was the cheapest hotel in manchester we tried them all. One broken lift but the other was fine. Floors creaked a little but what do you expect when the building is from the 1800's. I had No health and safety concerns. Will stay here again during my next visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel deserves a zero rating. The room was dirty and very basic. Did not get a wink of sleep due to their night club situated underneath the building blarring music out until the early hours of the morning. After complaining (and I was not the only one to complain) I was offered 10% off my bill, which I found totally unacceptable. It does not say on their website that you might be kept up all night due to noise pollution! I ended up jumping in a taxi and paying £60 to get home for some sleep. AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Address: Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Manchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.