We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy , stuffy room.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Manchester Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Manchester Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Manchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Noisy , stuffy room.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

On a recent trip to Manchester we stayed in the centrally located Britannia Hotel . As we were over for a match , location was our first priority and access to buses / taxis . As this is a city centre hotel we expected it to be busy , however it was all that and more ! The reception staff were unenthusiastic and when I enquired about my request that we had wanted a triple room as my son is14 I was assured that there was indeed 3 beds in the room only to discover it was a fold out camp bed . The decor is dated and the wallpaper is stained and grubby . The room was really stuffy but when we opened the window it was incredibly noisy as there is a bar /nightclub on the premises . Overall this hotel is not one I would recommend . There were 3 towels for 3 people and toiletries for one night which when used were not replaced on the second day . Only suitable for hen or stag party groups in my opinion .Staff just seem disinterested . We had stayed in this hotel a number of years ago but never will again .

Room Tip: Stay across the road in the Mercure Hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    500
    580
    503
    857
See reviews for
221
846
238
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed on the top floor for about £30 for two of us. Everything was clean there, it was very plush looking once inside. Food service and food itself was very good, and all staff we came across were helpful. Can't comment on pool as never seen it. In an excellent location, opposite Piccadilly Square and few minutes walk from train station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

In desperate need of upgrade. Room very dated, tatty carpet, wallpaper, half double glazing missing. Dull lighting, not enough plugs, ancient tv. Stayed a Friday and Saturday night and the disco on ground floor very noisy throughout hotel. Did not try food at hotel so can't comment on that. Only good thing is location. Would not stay again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

stayed here with my partner, despite some bad feedback on the place it was ok , very clean and was asked at rececion if we wanted an upgrade to room with window as we were only staying one night we didnt bother but the room was well what you pay for , main thing was that it was clean and had a comfy bed with late cheak out at no extra expense. the staff was friendly , the only thing i would say was misleading was that they said the had a night club , we only stayed one night and wanted a late drink but it wasnt open and the bar was bit dead , and the only other thing was that we had to pay 15 pound as there is no carpark .. but suppose they cant help that.. overall i would say it is good for price and v. good location for all the shops and nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I booked 2 twin non smoke rooms with late rooms. We arrived and they had no record of the booking and told us we had to go to another of their hotels as fully booked. Late Rooms were blamed -I know how the booking works and knew this to be a lie. People were still taking rooms while we waited. The manager's first words were to accuse me of shouting- I hadnt started at that point. They found us 2 rooms but turned out to be 2 single. They then got us 2 twins but turned out to be doubles and finally we got 2 twins but were smoking. In all of this not one apology. All the corridors stunk of smoke. Real shame as one room and the breakfast were not that bad. The other room was above a night club- and we were kept awake. The bar also had a bouncer who physically assaulted a non resident at 10.45pm!! for not leaving when the guy asked him to. All in all an unbelievable take on customer service.

Room Tip: view the room first-check night club-smoke-watch the parking also- we had to pay £19 from 8pm at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St. Annes
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a huge central hotel with a magnificent chandelier in the lobby. It is converted from a factory and has wide railed landings on each floor with marvellous staircases. It is a very popular hotel, hence the long queue at check in. Rooms vary from windowless (the cheapest) to rooms on two levels (the most expensive). They have a new Indian Restaurant called SPICE which serves excellent and reasonable food. They have also introduced room service for Continental Breakfast which they do not charge to be delivered. It is a good, honest and extremely spacious 3 star hotel which is reflected in the reasonable rates.

Room Tip: They do a excellent Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate but DO NOT expect superb food. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It needs a revamp and some money spending on it but overall the place is fine. I needed a cheap place to stay for the night and that is exactly what I got. The building itself is architecturally fantastic with a great interwoven staircase. My only criticism is that there is far too much noise all night. This is not the fault of the hotel but the inconsiderate guests returning to their rooms and talking loudly until 5am. I had a dreadful night of sleep and would stay somewhere else next time I go out in Manchester for the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Address: Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Manchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.