We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain - did the job” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Manchester Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Manchester Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Manchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Bargain - did the job”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 3/12/12 whilst on a works night out in Manchester. The room was £33. Was a little apprehensive having read some of the other reviews on here but was pleasantly surprised. This is an old hotel, but was clean and the service was good. The room was fine, it didn't have a window but I knew this when I booked. Great location and the hotel has great facilities. I'd definitely stay here again, however next time I wouldn't have breakfast as it wasn't the best. If you want a cheap hotel in Manchester, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    448
    520
    448
    771
See reviews for
205
739
222
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The services were quite nice and the staff were homely. The location was great and a walking distance to the city centre. The internet service in the rooms were non existent as you need to be at the lobby to get reception but the indian restaurant in the hotelwas nice.



  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

stayed here for 1 night in November . stayed in room 624 - walking down the dirty corridor I was unsure what to expect - going into the room I discovered a dirty carpet with a broken piece of wood on it and wallpaper peeling off the walls. all the hotel information were on crumpled dirty paper which is so easy to fix ! the carpet was that stained I refused to take my socks off . I was in the shower the next day when a rude housekeeper banged on my door at five past 11 saying - and I quote "check out time 11- you leave now !!!! in a angry foreign accent . not quite service with a smile is it? I did not eat in the hotel for fear of what lurks in the kitchen . my tip for the management- get back to basics - CLEAN the rooms and CUSTOMER SERVICE

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself was nice but the bedroom was dirty me and my partner stayed in the exec room which was quite small, the shower head was broke, stains on wall, couldnt see out the window, wallpaper hanging off and I could go on. Not good value for money

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Generally... a poor hotel. Grand exterior and grand entrance...thats about it though.

At check in charged £2.00 to use a debit card... money grabbing basically (could maybe understand for use of credit cards)

Room very run down although a reasonable size and comfortable bed.

Walls about 2cm thick... heard EVERYTHING from our neighbours.. and I mean EVERYTHING
;-)

Radiator bust... room cold... reception brought me a portable heater... although not ideal.

Paid £35.00 to stay here so tolerated it... would not recommend unless you too get a bargain. If you choose to stay here, take ear plugs and wrap up warm!! :-)

Room Tip: Remember the basic rooms have no windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A vast barracks for shoppers, drunks and pensioners' coach parties. The old-fashioned grandness of the entrance hall quickly disappears as you move away from reception and into the soulless corridors. In fairness, quite good value, and I'd guessed when booking what I was letting myself in for (there was a warning on the website that "economy rooms" don't have windows - that speaks volumes about the sort of hotel it is). If I'd paid the rack rate for my Executive Double, lavishly appointed with window, I would have been incandescent - but a decent enough room for the money I paid. Beware though that the Dinner/Bed/Breakfast package involves eating in Jenny's restaurant, which has all the charm of a bus-depot canteen. Staff pleasant and courteous, even if none of them were born this side of the Vistula. Nice bits? - staircase. Er, that's it.

Room Tip: Check you get a window with your room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had a single room on the ground floor. When i went to my room at 11pm to my horror i realised that i was directly above the night club. The noise was so loud that you could hear the vibration in the room. I phoned up the manager called Victor to complain. He was not interested other than to blame the owners who allowed the night club to be put there. The next morning i received 50% money back from bill but this was small compensation as i was unable to get any sleep till 3am and had to leave at 7am. Also there was no BBC channel. This was the worst hotel that i have ever been to and i will never return. I have stayed at the Thistle down the road and it is far superior, but unfortunately on this occasion it was fully booked

Room Tip: Ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Address: Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Manchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.