We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Townhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“It was a great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for a week. I booked the excusitive room. It was in the 3 rd floor near the elevator. The room was big. And it has almost eveything we need. The bed is a king size bed and it was very comfortable and huge ( 3 people can sleep on it) The toilet is very clean amd thre shampoo and shower gel smells great (but there are no conditioner or body lotion!). The staff were friendly and helpful. Although the room is near the lift, it was quite.

The hotel in just 6 min walk to the bus station( city center).

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Macdonald Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Farah83,

Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments about the hotel and the team.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoy their stay with us and most importantly that they would recommend us. It is a great compliment. Thank you.

Warm regards,

James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    278
    109
    41
    20
See reviews for
46
341
27
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The perfect hotel for a get away. The room was lovely, really spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was huge with an amazing shower which is a bonus!

The staff were amazing as well.

Overall top notch!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Macdonald Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Jennie_Higgins,

Thank you.

Your comments are wonderful to hear and a great reflection of all that we work to provide for our guests. We hope that you will be back to see us soon, once again allowing us to serve you.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Well I've stayed in the Lowry, the Midland, the Radisson Blu in MCR..all of which were fantastic, but I must say The Macdonald Townhouse Hotel blew them all out of the water.

The hotel and rooms were gorgeous, the location is fab, the breakfast was totally yummy but the thing that sets the Macdonald apart is the customer service we received.

From the moment we checked in, we were greeted by smiley, helpful staff who couldn't do enough for us. I really can't believe some of the negative reviews on this site because our experience was so different. At points we felt like celebrity guests just because we always seemed to get a warm welcome by the staff wherever we went.

Special thanks must go to the simply fantastic Ciara B - thank you very much for all your help with our bookings, you made our stay extra special! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Macdonald Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Jane A,

Thank your for taking the time to post such lovely feedback about your visit to us.

You can easily see that the team with which I proudly work, do truly enjoy themselves and the environment in which we get to work each day. I have passed on your thanks to Ciara and she is thankful for your acknowledgement.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I recently stayed one night on business and was quite staggered how good the accommodation was given the £77 room rate for a king sized bedroom.
This hotel is in a secondary location just off Chinatown albeit this isn't a big problem given the free city centre shuttle bus stops outside.
The breakfast is also worthy of mention - freshly cooked - excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Macdonald Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Incubator62,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are fortunate that we have a number of businesses with whom we work who have their teams stay with us. We are always thankful that they choose to do so.

Perhaps we will see you again soon and you can enjoy our fantastic breakfast.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here last weekend fantastic hotel in a great location. Room was large well presented and very clean every thing you need from a hotel . Breakfast was really good and the staff were great made us really welcome could not find any fault will be stopping again soon thank you

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Macdonald Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Anthony G,

Thank you for your very kind comments.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and even more so that you will be stopping again soon. It seems that we have hit the mark. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Townhouse.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights when in Manchester on business. Very good hotel at the edge of China Town. Unimposing from the outside and refined inside. Rooms were comfortable and well decorated. Warm for me but great for other I'm sure!

Reception is awkward on a landing of stairway - but no issues at all.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Macdonald Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Craig M,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Townhouse in the future.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum. The rooms are very nice. Well presented and decorated. Comfortable beds. I love the boutique feel of the hotel. The staff seem very young but provided good customer service. We ate in the intimate restaurant in the evening. The food was very nice and of a high quality but we had to send the starters back as they were cold. The bill was incorrect and we were left for very long periods of time without bring attended to. The staff in the restaurant were miserable and not attentive at all. We did mention this to then find them off with at breakfast the following morning. Not professional at all. Experience and customer service lessons needed!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldTownhouse, General Manager at Macdonald Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear ktewhite,

Thank you for your excellent and candid feedback.

Any chance to learn and improve our guests’ experiences is always welcome. Please accept our apologies for any missteps and we thank you for bringing any training opportunity to our attention. I would encourage you to contact me and I will gladly discuss your comments in greater detail.

Warm regards,


James McDevitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Townhouse Hotel

Address: 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#25 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Family Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Macdonald Townhouse Hotel is part of The Macdonald Hotels' Signature Collection and the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Macdonald Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.