We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Townhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Very pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent location, very reasonable price, for this quality. Nothing fake, nothing overdone, just good service, nice atmosphere, great room, great breakfast (not cheap at 12pounds, but truly great quality).
Room a bit cold in February, had an optional space heater guests could use.
Other than that, true quality for a reasonable price. Its clear they try hard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    325
    136
    53
    26
See reviews for
58
421
30
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bollington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here on a Thursday in February, as me and my wife were seeing the Lion King at the Palace, which is only round the corner.
Arrived at the hotel and had to pull up on the main road at the front to unload the bags. Hotel staff immediately came out to help me with the bags and directed me to the parking, in the Q Park, over the road. When i got back we were already signed in and the bags in the room and coats hung up.
The front desk asked if they could make any dinner reservations for us and to ask if we required anything.
I booked a suite, and as a previous reviewer said, booked it through a discount site for £150 with breakfast.
The room was huge. A lounge, bathroom bigger than most city centre hotel rooms, and a large bedroom with a very comfy bed. 2 flat screen tv's, hair dryer, nespresso coffee maker. and all the usual hotel amenities.
Bedroom was set back in the hotel, so there was no noise from the street.
The suites also can be linked to an adjoining bedroom if you require even more room for a family etc, or just a group of friends to share the lounge.
Breakfast in the morning was excellent. Cold menu and cereal was from a buffet, but the hot food was freshly cooked from a menu to order.
All in all a beautiful hotel, excellent rooms and staff, and perfect location.

Room Tip: Definitely book through a discount hotel site. I have rated value a 5 for this reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

we stayed here in april 2012 , got there and was really happy with the surroundings beautiful entrance and was offered any assistance if we needed anything. we got the executive room which was lovely. massive bed, twin sinks massive shower,bath complimentary water and big screen tv. we asked the desk to get us a taxi which they did and the food in the restaurant was lovely a bit pricey but nice treat if you want to relax in the hotel. we enjoyed our stay it is central the hotel and didn't take much more then 15 mins to walk to town centre. the Chinese across the road on the corner is a must for a visit the sizzling meals were very tasty.

Room Tip: get the executive room on offer websites got our for less then £100
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop High Peak
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed first Saturday in December. The room on the 4th floor overlooking Princess St was quite small but had recently been refurbished to a good standard. The bed was very comfortable and accomodation fulfilled all our requirements without experiencing the noise that had disturbed our contributors. The breakfast was very good and subject to a price reduction if pre-ordered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last night!
I arrived with a big heavy suit case straight away as I walked through the door was excellent service a lovely chap by the door asked to help carry my suit case :)
I went up to my room
Was an ok room not special at all really old fashioned how ever a massive comfy bed and tv up close cheered me up
I accidentally dropped a glass on the floor and someone was up straight away to tidy up the mess for me :) thank you
Then my partner came later on and the desk rang my room before they let him upstairs, I find that very good care as other hotels I've been to just let him wonder up
The bar was ok not much atmosphere the cocktail I ordered was not on the menu and they had no problems making me it
All round good day/night

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night and was really pleased. It is well placed for the village and Chinatown. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean and they have a large bathroom including a nice bath.

We were on the fourth floor and didn't notice any noise from outside so slept well.

My only complaint was that there was one employee who had really bad BO and it lingered everywhere!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Have stayed here twice recently and have been more than happy over all.

It is a good location in a busy city, so as has been pointed out you do get some noise from the street outside - but what do you expect?

Perhaps the windows could be upgraded but it's my only peeve.....

Hotel is clean and well presented - both rooms were comfortable and the staff are very good - attentive, polite and friendly.

Breakfast is nice - choice of continental and cerials laid out buffet style and a cooked selection made to order - indeed when I asked for just scrambled eggs on toast, to be honest, they brought me too much (a rarity in this day and age!).

Room Tip: Probably higher floors and not the corner if you are really that bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Townhouse Hotel

Address: 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#33 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#34 Family Hotel in Manchester
#34 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Macdonald Townhouse Hotel is part of The Macdonald Hotels' Signature Collection and the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Macdonald Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.