We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW WOW WOW – this hotel goes above and beyond!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Townhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Louth
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW – this hotel goes above and beyond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Check in, how refreshing to see someone with a smile and a personality! All very efficient & helpful.

Our room was a good size and the bed was huge, very modern clean and everything you could need inc iPod docking station, the bathroom how very nice to have a separate shower cubical and bath, all the usual toiletries, large fluffy towels and plenty of space for all your personal bits!

Breakfast, despite sleeping in and checking out thinking we had missed breakfast reception advised we had 5 minutes to grab something quick, this wasn’t the case we were given a slap up full English with coffee a plenty!

24hr Bar downstairs very handy for a night cap, and this is where I have to say a massive thank you to Shaun the bar man he was outstanding, so friendly and a good giggle.

The location, 5mins walk into the Arndale Centre shopping area, plenty of car parks around through the hotel offer a discount at the Piazza on St James Street. We got a cab to the MEN Arena £8, not bad, again the hotel we only too happy to book this for us.

I cannot express how impressed I was with this hotel, the staff nothing is too much trouble, appearance, location, sleep quality, cleanliness, everything just perfect. The staff really do make this hotel a joy to stay in, I would love to stay here again and recommend that you do to, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    326
    136
    53
    26
See reviews for
58
422
30
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We only spent one night here but it made an excellent impression. We had a beautiful and spacious room, on the fourth floor with splendid views, as this was a corner room. Nice modern furniture, very comfortable bed and a state of the art bathroom. Every member of the staff whom we met, went the extra mile to be helpful and charming. We had a special deal for that night, which made it particularly good value. Breakfast! Which was not included in the price, was overpriced at £12. We went a couple of minutes down the street and had a lovely breakfast at half the price.

Room Tip: A few floors up for a great view and, if available, ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here on business in Manchester, great central location, staff were friendly and attentive. Room was nice, did feel at times it was a bit basic in terms of other hotels in Manchester.

I would stay here again, but I would be tempted to look around a little bit first off.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel on our recent trip to Manchester. When we first arrived we were very impressed by Harvey who checked us in. He established we were there for the football game and that we had not been in Manchester before. He explained the tram system, gave us a map and informed us of what he felt would be the most scenic route for us to take. He also informed us the Sunday lunch offer available the next day.

When we got to the room we were very impressed. Everything ease very clean and in good working order. The bed was extremely comfortable.

Other than thatwe had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable and very centrally located
Only problem was that we found sleep almost impossible until 4 am due to a noisy night club right next door - and this was midweek
Shame because otherwise it was very suitable

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Really good service, we were made very welcome, the staff were very knowledgeable and helpful,food excellent, very well presented and room very comfortable and well equipped. Good value for money and thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here recently for 2 nights, the staff without exception could not have been friendlier and more welcoming. The room was excellent, the shower and bathroom exceptional. Breakfast was freshly cooked and really tasty. I could not have asked for more

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Townhouse Hotel

Address: 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#33 Family Hotel in Manchester
#33 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#34 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Macdonald Townhouse Hotel is part of The Macdonald Hotels' Signature Collection and the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Macdonald Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.