We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Macdonald hotels, but this one needed a few tweaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Townhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sherburn in Elmet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Love Macdonald hotels, but this one needed a few tweaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

I've stayed in a number of Macdonald hotels and they always get the basics right; a REALLY comfy bed, top notch bathroom and I love the tea tray. However, I was disappointed during my recent stay in the Manchester Townhouse hotel. Given this is Manchester city centre I would have expected them to put in better double glazing to cut out the noise of traffic and various drunken parties on the streets outside. Also, the room wasn't as clean as I would have hoped - I could see smears on the furniture where a dirty cloth had been used by the cleaners. Also, biscuits were soft (old). All in all, I got a fabulous rate for the room and would definately stay here again, but usually find this chain of hotels takes a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    328
    136
    53
    26
See reviews for
58
425
30
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff at reception. The hotel has recently been refurbished and so everything looked clean and new. The bedroom was pleasant but a bit cramped, the bed was rather small, and we found quite uncomfortable to sleep in. Despite it being May the radiator was turned to maximum, but we soon fixed that so it had no effect. bathroom was well equipped but the lighting very poor. We had to leave the lights on while we were in the room as they seemed to take ages to brighten and was very dim. The hotel is centrally located, in a lively area and the secondary glazing only kept a certain amount of the noise out, but did not affect us too much. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times and it is always my first choice. Even during the refit the staff were exceptional and standards are even higher.
It is close to the bars and China town is opposite with some excellent restaurants or if you want to eat in the Bistro has some great dishes to excite your taste buds.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Lovely hotel, within walking distance of the Northern Quarter for shopping, Chinatown across the road but not intrusive. Considering in city centre room nice and quiet. Breakfast very nice, stayed mid-week and not too busy but didn't feel empty. We used our tesco vouchers so was great value! Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Clean room, excellent beakfast , very comfortable bed, great location, friendly staff. Only quibble and a small one was the bathroom was too poorly lit to put makeup on. The bathroom itself was very nice as were the toiletries.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Stayed last week for one night - £85. Terrific value. Recently refurbed rooms. Great location, friendly staff and great breakfast.

Actually a far better place to stay than the big McDonalds at Piccadilly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

I stayed here last week after reading glowing reviews on this website. I was pretty disappointed.

My room was right beside the lift, (I asked to move, but to no avail) so was very noisy, leading to a very average night's sleep. The room was also freezing, even when I turned the air con up (the was also an electric oil heater in the room, which I thought was very unusual and I eventually had to use). The room was also overlooked by an office which I only realised this after an hour of slouching about in my underwear.

There was no information on the telephone for an outside line/ reception/ calling other rooms, so I had to guess (not exactly 4 star attention to detail...). The toilet bowl was also full of toilet paper when I lifted the lid. I flushed immediately as I really didn't want to know what was underneath.

I also thought the hotel had as much character as a multi story car park.

On the plus side, i thought the staff were genuinely friendly and the breakfast was good. The bed was also very comfortable.

I got a special offer of GBP85 for the night, but it is usually circa 130, which I would consider very bad value.

I stay in Manchester 5/6 times a year and usually stay in a hotel very close to this one. I won't be staying in the Macdonald Townhouse again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Townhouse Hotel

Address: 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#33 Family Hotel in Manchester
#34 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Macdonald Townhouse Hotel is part of The Macdonald Hotels' Signature Collection and the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Macdonald Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.