We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No lights for seven hours” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England (Didsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Prescot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“No lights for seven hours”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

I wish id looked on here before i booked. The power went off in our room and it took the staff 7 hours, and 3 requests to sort it out, all it took was one flick of a switch. The bar ran out of food at 4.30 in the afternoon. Our room reminded me of the broom cupboard of cbbc in the 80's 90's. A double bed in a single room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    423
    314
    206
    489
See reviews for
303
632
66
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire scotland uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

my wife and stayed at this hotel before we flew to Egypt and on our return, b4 we went on holiday our room was excellent and clean, we went to have a drink in the bar and my wife had to wait nearly 2 hours for a Glass of Wine as they had none and they were waiting on someone bringing cases of wine from the cellar, the food in the carvery was nothing spectacular.

on arrival back from holiday we arrived after a 6 hour flight, hungry and cold only to be put into a room (58) which was a disgrace, the shower had mould up the wall and room was smelling of dampness, we ordered room service as we were hungry, all they had to over was paninis which we waited an HOUR to be delivered, we had also order a white wine and a beer, once again there was NO WINE, i went to reception to complain and we were given our paninis free of charge which we didnt eat, they cherged me £5 + £2 delivery for my can of fosters beer...

THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THIS HOTEL IS SIGNING OUT AFTER YOUR STAY !!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

As a retired police officer and a quailfied HOME OFFICE CRIME PREVENTION OFFICER, I must warn other potential customers " DONT LEAVE YOUR CAR HERE"
I did and became one of the many victims of car crime that this hotel creates.
Stayed mid January for a week and along with many others found my car had been broken into. No real interest from the hotel, just one of those things- Tough.
Similar offences have been taking place for years and yet nothing appears to have been done about it. Booked hotel online with Holiday Extras and no obvious warnings re insecure parking( hidden away in small print in terms and conditions)
Cost me £75 to repair window, no wonder cost of room is low, they know the customer will have other bills to pay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

We were booked in for 1 night, prior to flying to Florida. We had also arranged to leave our car there for 14 days, and use the "frequent and free" Airport shuttle. On arrival, a queue of 5 people at the desk were all complaining bitterly, I asked one of them what was going on, it seems all of their cars had been broken into. The hotels response, was to shrug shoulders and state "Well It happens". Our car is old and has nothing worth stealing, but we left the doors open, to avoid broken windows. The shuttle cost us £4 each. and was very late. The room was filthy, a whole potato crisp lying in the middle of the floor, and drip marks on the cups. and the restaurants were all closed!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed at this hotel over Valentines weekend and had a lovely time although we were concerned before visiting due to all the negative reviews about this Hotel.
We paid £120 for two nights accommodation, friday night's meal, saturday and sunday breakfast and a three course valentine meal on the saturday.
We arrived at the hotel on Friday night and managed to park the car quite close to the Hotel enterance. The car parks are very busy due to the hotel operating the stay and fly service and some are quite far from the hotel enterance. On both days when we went out in the car we managed to park next to the hotel. The car park seem secure and is all fenced off.
Check in was quick and easy. and the lift was working fine. We went to the room which was an executive suite (two double beds). The bedding was very clean and the room smelt fresh. The decor needs some updating and the carpet was had a few stains but the rom was clean. The bathroom was again very clean but a little dated.
The spa/ swimming pool in the hotel was a great place to relax and it was all free in the valentines weekend deal.
We ate at Jenny's resaurant for breakfast and evening meal and the food was good.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

After booking this hotel for a one night stay (which we chose because it was the closest hotel to the party we were going to), I saw lots of terrible reviews on-line so I was expecting it to be poor at best. In fact the only problem we had was that the satnav couldn't seem to find it. It is fairly easy to spot once you get onto Palatine Road however and we were pleasantly surprised at how nice the reception and bar area were when we entered. Our room (standard twin) was fine, very big, 2 queen sized beds which were fine. Bedding and towels were spotless and fresh. Decor wasn't the best but we only paid £38 for bed and full english breakfast so I don't feel we had any reason to complain. The bathroom was clean and the large jacuzzi bath was a real bonus! We also opted to use the pool and fitness suite for a mere £2.50 each. We could have paid an extra £1 each for towels but as there were so many lovely clean ones in our room we took them from there. Breakfast in the morning was served until 10:30am which was very welcome as we'd been out partying until the small hours. It wasn't anything to write home about, but I've rarely had a buffet breakfast in a large chain hotel that was to be honest. There was plenty of variety and lots of folk were going back for 2nds and even 3rds. Certainly for the money we paid we were both delighted with the whole experience and I would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

Hotel not bad on whole considering price. Beds not good quality, springs can be felt in mattress. Room cleanliness was ok. Food in the restaurant was quite poor - I had a burger which was inedible as it was hard and the chips looked as though they had been cooked twice.
Parking at the hotel was a nightmare, we circled the car parks 3 times looking for a space. When we enquired in the hotel they just said to park it wherever we could, which was of no use. We eventually managed to park however, when we returned we found the car had been broken into! When we enquired in the hotel, they said they knew nothing about it but somebody had taped a bin bag over the window (I doubt the thieves took the time to do this!). There is no security for the car parks and when we rang Autoglass to get the window repaired, the local centre said that they are called out daily to that hotel.
Awful end to our holiday and to save anybody else having the same experience as us, I say if you are staying here DON'T LEAVE YOUR CAR!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester > Didsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.