We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England (Didsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Came to this hotel with Caledonia Travel last week and we were expecting the worst due to lots of negative reviews.We could not have been more pleased with the service,lovely room and enjoyable food in the restaurant.The price we paid was very good value and will most certainly come back here in the future.

Room Tip: At weekends i would not choose a low floor as the nightclub may be noisy as it is situated on ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comments on to all of the hotel staff.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    423
    314
    206
    489
See reviews for
303
632
66
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here several times en route to Spain, used park and stay facilities.
Warm welcome from all staff, 3 course evening meal was lovely, full English breakfast was very much appreciated before our flight.

Room Tip: Go for exec room it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor for other potential guests to read.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Booked here last minute, all hotels in the area were either fully booked or ridiculously expensive as United were playing at home. I read the reviews so wasn't expecting much at all but for the price I thought it didn't really matter. How pleasantly surprised were we when we arrived, a massive car par (they do airport shuttle runs) so parking was easy. The hotel reception was very Grandeur, we were met by very helpful, polite and friendly staff and were quickly checked in and given our room key. The hotel corridors were also very grand and spacious, the room was a little dated in the fact there was still had a large TV unit with a bulky old TV, but we weren't there to watch telly, the beds were comfy, the curtains were very thick so kept out any drafts and daylight, and the rooms were spotlessly clean. There was a small table and armchairs to sit at. There was little to no noise either from inside or outside the hotel and the room was warm. You could however hear the planes taking off from around 6.30 in the morning. We went down to the bar jut at the side of the reception, very cosy, comfortable, pleasantly decorated area that gave you the feeling that you were in a country manor surrounded by acres of lush land. We didn't eat in either of the two restaurant and opted for room service. Pizza, garlic bread and onion rings, all very tasty, piping hot. Check out was just as efficient, the hotel is probably 10 minutes away from the center of Manchester. I really can't understand the bad reviews because my experience of this hotel was excellent. Didn't use the spa so can't comment. If you pre book breakfast its £7.95 or £10.95 if you pay in the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be good value for money and the staff helpful and polite.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Two single rooms for one night, mine was single, the other was a family room! OK it's not top of the range but neither was the price. The room was clean and had all the necessities for one night. Easy travel by car or bus to the City centre. Mainly lads and dads with Man u playing at home and someone was doing a penalty shoot out in the night. However I got my own back early next morning when the shower head fell off into the bath. The bar has a good selection of beers and they are at sensible prices, the bed was comfy, the room was clean and the breakfast, despite only mighty white bread, was good even having black pudding. I would readily stay again.
Ample parking.

Room Tip: From the stop outside take the bus to the 'Curry Mile', ten minutes towards the City. What a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor for other guests to read.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff friendly and your bedroom clean and comfortable. I would like to offer my most sincere apologies for the problem with the shower head in your room. Please contact me at the hotel if you are coming back to stay with us again as I would be delighted to offer you a complimentary upgrade to an executive room as a gesture of goodwill..

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Travelled with wife and friends, hotel was wonderful, food service and entertainment was overall really good, enjoyed ourselves would return again ideal location for shopping in manchester. The beatles tribute band was excellent!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

My wife and myself had another excellent vacation here at Didsbury.This was our sixth visit.The staff are all very friendly and cannot do enough for you.The food is very good and the service in the dining room is the same.The entertainment was great as usual and the drink prices were very very good.We must give a special mention to Sandra (manageress),Peter(entertainments) andAlberto(catering) they are really good at their jobs.Will return.D&A Arnott

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor for other guests to read. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Having read very negative reports of this hotel I was very apprehensive when we checked in. We had 3 rooms booked in the hotel on 9th December2013. Our stay with our families was very good. The staff were very helpful, food was very good also. The rooms were a little dated but were very clean. All in all for what we paid we have no complaints whatsoever about anything. In fact when we checked out we spoke with the reception staff and thanked them for their excellent customer service. We will definitely stay here again and had no trouble whatsoever parking our cars so thank you Britannia you were great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is always great to read comments from guests that come to stay with us even though they have read negative reviews. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will come and stay with us again.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester > Didsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.