We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Britannia Country House Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England (Didsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Britannia Country House Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights as part of a David Urquart Tour package and found the hotel to be very good.
Check-in was very smooth. By the time I got the bags from the coach my wife had completed check-in.
The room, on the 4th floor, was a good size and had a good king size bed, settee, easy chair, dressing table, bedside tables, ample storage with hangers and a good sized bathroom with bath and shower.
The restaurant was very well run with good choices and excellent quality at both breakfast and dinner.
Evening entertainment was OK and the bars were well run.
The negatives were the lift which broke down regularly and the hot water system which struggled to cope with peak demand in the morning. Shower early in the morning and it's OK. The decor is a little dated.
All in all this hotel represents good value for money and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The overnight stay and 15 days parking is good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and would recommend the hotel to others; I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    422
    313
    205
    487
See reviews for
303
630
66
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tadworth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I recently stayed here for 1 night with 3 friend's. On our arrival we found parking very difficult and along with other guests had to park at the bottom of the drive on the grass. This is despite parking for around 600 cars. This was not the best first impression but it was to get worse! In fairness there was nothing wrong with our check in. 1 of our rooms was very dated and appeared unclean. On entering the corridor to the other room there was a sign printed on paper, saying 'to all guests: protect yourself and fellow guests, please sanitize your hands on entering and leaving the hotel and resturant' There was no sanitizer to be seen. This concerned us greatly, as this is only standard practice in hospitals, not hotels. When we asked about the notice's and why they were there. Reception staff said they were old, and in the parts of the hotel that there weren't any like where our other room was, was due to guests having pulled them down. When asked where the hand sanitizer was, we were told that there was 1 bottle at the far end of the reception desk. When we asked was this standard practice in Britannia hotels we were told not. We also asked how was this good practice for a 3 star hotel, we were told they are a 2 star hotel. On reading these signs our thoughts were that they had, had an outbreak of something D+V. Not at any point were we given answers that put us at ease. It's quite reasonable to say that we did not use the tea/coffee facilities in our rooms and when having a night cap later we only had bottle beer from the bottles. Yes the beds were comfortable and our 2nd room had been up dated. On our way to back in at about 1am we stopped for our last beer in the bar area, the other guests in the bar area were extremely loud and crude, to the point that we took our drinks to our room. As 4 girls in our early 30's we are not easily offended but felt that this was too much and could have been asked to be a little quieter with their crudeness. Needless to say we couldn't wait to leave the following morning and had been glad to be out most of the evening in Didsbury and just using the hotel as somewhere to sleep. Check out was fine just a little slow due to there only being one person on reception and 2 or 3 people waiting to check out. We have all made mental notes never to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.

We do have over 600 parking spaces at the hotel and at times it can be extremely busy and I am sorry you found it difficult to park.

I am sorry that you were upset that we had hand sanitizer around the hotel; this is purely as a precautionary measure to help protect both our staff and guests from viruses such as Norovirus which can occur. We have hand sanitizer in our toilets and on our reception, we have not had an outbreak at this Hotel and I can assure you that we take hygiene extremely seriously and there would have been no reason as to why you could not have used the cups in your room.

I am sorry that you feel that you would not stay with us again

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here overnight + car parking before a holiday. We'd used the hotel before and remembered that we hadn't been too impressed, but our latest visit confirmed it. On arrival there was a queuing system which took at least half an hour before we were attended to, despite there being three staff seemingly doing other things behind the desk. The room was very good and we were quite impressed. However, the meal in the restaurant was exceptionally poor and a drink in the bar afterwards was uncomfortable because the main doors were kept open and it was very draughty. Small points, but worth mentioning. The minibus to the airport the following morning was fine. However, on our return we phoned the number, as instructed, and were told there was transport waiting "so be as quick as you can please" - we were no more than a minute or so but still found no one waiting, except a group of eight or nine others in the same situation. A minibus arrived for them but didn't have our name so was unable to take us. I retraced my steps into the airport to phone again and was told that 'we' had missed the car waiting and another would be sent it, which indeed it was. All in all, we wouldn't use this hotel again and wouldn't recommend it. We don't expect luxury for these airport/car parking overnight stays but have had far better experiences than this one, especially at the Premier Inn if ever you get the chance to use one, which was excellent in all respects the year before!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Our check in time is from 2.00pm and there is no way of us knowing when guests will arrive and on some occasions when lots of guests arrive together there may be a queue, our reception staff do try and check guests in as quickly as they can. We have specific staff that work on reception; however there are other members of hotel staff that will need to go onto our reception desk however they cannot assist guests as they are not reception staff.

I am sorry that you felt the food in our restaurant and your drink at the bar was poor.

Our Airport transfers work to a strict timetable and can only collect guests that are prebooked, an information leaflet is given to guests on check in with all of the information on and unfortunately if a guest misses a transfer time they must wait for the next one.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with no great expectations. And it seemed about right. The room was ok. The bathroom was ok. Was reasonable for sub £50 per night.

One thing I will say is that if you are visiting with the expectation that you will have a car park, be prepared to be very creative making one. They claim to have parking for 600 cars or something ridiculous like that. Well, they certainly tried to jam those cars in. With no defined parks all the guests had to make up parks, resulting in cars that were double and triple parked and cars on double lines.

All I can say is that you get what you pay for, so set expectations accordingly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We do have in excess of 600 car parking spaces at the hotel and I am sorry that you found it difficult to find a parking space on your arrival at the hotel. The hotel can be extremely busy at times as we do have 255 bedrooms and extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities.

I was pleased to read that you were happy with the room that you were allocated and you found the hotel to be good value for money.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A group of us have just spend 4 nights in this Hotel and had a lovey time. Our rooms were large and very clean, clean towels every day. The food was very good at Breakfast and Dinner, plenty of choice and you could help yourself to as much as you liked. We used the swimming pool, although not big still gave you a swim. The staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to read that you found our staff to be helpful and polite.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel during a coach visit to Liverpool / Bakewell and Chester.
Found staff very friendly and helpful. We asked for a room change on arrival due to an extractor fan or similar noise out side of our room and changed with no problem. Restaurant clean and well arranged even to the sitting of 8 of us together when possible. Food basic but adequate,buffet style so able to pick and choose at breakfast and dinner, (I had lovely bacon sarnies for breakfast)
Entertainment. The room was badly arranged (only round tables for 10 on each) and crowded The room much much too small and we needed to sit in the corridor..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

I am sorry that you could not find anywhere to sit in the entertainment as it was extremely busy, I do wish that you had spoken to a member of staff who could have got extra seats for you.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our first coach tour and as we wanted to visit Manchester this was the hotel we were based in. Had read some poor reports but I didn,t find it too bad for a 3 star, feel the rooms could be updated but clean and comfortable. In reception area no local information leaflets or maps, residents bar offered Happy Hour but was charged £6.50 for pint of Tetleys and Vodka and draught coke, wasn,t very happy at that, then discovered there was another bar which opened at eight where all drinks were £1. Also felt male members of staff in restaurant were quite abrupt, on our first night we lifted 2 cups to go through for coffee and were told put these back your cups are in the other room! Meals were good, had to change our cutlery twice as we had a dirty soup spoon, then a dirty knife another night. Overall if we were to do another trip and were based at this hotel dont think I would mind.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor room 374 looking onto the front of the hotel, thought it would have been a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable; we do have an ongoing decorating programme at hotel. We have local information leaflets displayed in our reception area and I am sorry that you did not see these.

I have passed your comments regarding abrupt staff and unclean cutlery to our restaurant supervisor to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester > Didsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.