We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for what we needed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Country House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Britannia Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England (Didsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 117 hotels in Manchester
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great for what we needed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

after reading some dreadful things about this hotel i was over the moon with our stay! We stayed 1 night on a national hol concert trip,our room was clean and very spacious,my daughter loved the big bath with the jackuzi thing! The self service buffet for tea and brekky was nowt flash but ok,what i'd expect really for the price! I did find a hair on my cake tho,which was a bit off putting! And it would of been helpful if sum1 had told us that there was a kids buffet 2 the right of the restraunt entrance,we only spotted that after we'd sat down and the kids had wasted there time in a q for which they ended up wiv nowt on there plate! i would go back there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that you were not aware of the children’s buffet in our restaurant.

It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    376
    274
    183
    448
See reviews for
267
577
56
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hu10 6as
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

we booked the hotel from previous experience just for price and nearby airport travel we had a good night time stay not modern, but clean we were let down with our pick up from the airport ,a delay of nearly an hour in the cold, picked up by a taxi but for the price you cannot complain.

Room Tip: just good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused following the length of time you waited for your transfer at Manchester airport. I have passed your comments on to our transfer company to ensure that this does not happen again.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Recently back from a National Holiday Break to Manchester and beyond, our base was this fine hotel in Didsbury Manchester.
Large imposing building set in its own grounds with swimming pool and leisurte suite to boot ( though at £4 per person for hotel guests).

Rooms where comfortable and very warm, large double beds with very firm matress plenty of room space for two
.
Bar was very spacious, though with three tour groups in then seating was at a premium, happy hour was 5pm until 7om though only on selected drinks, so check.

Food was served from 5-30 until 9pm and was a buffet style, all food quality was good, with no real complaints, plenty of selection, with choice of sweets and salad bar to boot., this was the same at breakfast, plenty of seating, even with the tour groups, service was effecient and nothing was too much trouble.
I believe there was evening entertainment but missed it most nights, quiz,bingo and a singer so plenty again for every one,

In all honesty I cannot fault the hotel and woulfd recommend to anyone looking for a Manchester park and go hotel, as they do deals for the airport.

There is a canal walk within the grounds though the path was muddy during our stay, if you are bored in the evening then take a stroll, get some fresh air.
Therer is also a frequent bus service on the door step into Manchester and a good shopping centre 10 minute walk.

All in all a good all round hotel that will satisfy all tastes and age groups.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor for other potential guests to read.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We arrived at the Britannia to be told that we were at the wrong hotel and actually staying at the sister hotel 15 mins away. So we had to put all our bags back in the car and drive a further 15 mins. The sister hotel was old, run down and the rooms stunk of cigarette smoke. We asked for a wake up call as we had to get up an hour earlier than intended to drive back to the first hotel at 5am to park the cars and be picked up by shuttle bus. The wake up call never came, but fortunately I had set my watch and phone as back up. If we had been staying in the main hotel, it would of been a much easier stay. But as it was, it just added to the stress of travelling having to drive around at that time in the morning. The food we had in the sister hotel was good and the young lad behind the bar was lovely. The rooms were dirty and our friends found a mouldy orange under the bed. We definately won't be going for the cheapest option next time, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Read the small print, if you have to stay in the sister hotel it's not worth the bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I am sorry that you feel that you were mislead when making your booking.

We have two hotels on Palatine road, the Britannia Airport Hotel and the Britannia Country House Hotel which are approximately 1 mile apart and I am sorry that you were unhappy with the room that you were allocated at the Britannia Airport Hotel.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute and wasn't sure what to expect as we it hadn't cost that much. Well we were pleasently surprised the hotel lobby and reception were clean, well lit and the staff were friendly (although he could have smiled a little more). We were given details of where to find the restaurant, bar and facilities such as gym etc. We paid for a Luxury twin room with Spa bath, again were pleasently surprised, the room had 2 double beds and a large bathroom, the room was very clean. We paid extra £4 each for the use of the spa facilities which we found to be ok. The only down fall for this hotel for us was the evening meal in their restaurant we wanted al a carte but they were only serving a buffet meat carvery @ £14 each, the meat was shriveled and dry to the point we could not tell what it was, we chose the to have the beef with salad as the veg was no better, if we had known we would have done research and found a local restaurant. The breakfast was better nice hot and fresh with plenty of choice. So all in all a good clean hotel excellent value for the money, but would not opt for the evening meal again.

Room Tip: Ideal for Manchester airport stopover as you can leave your car there and have airport transfers (re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be clean well lit and the staff friendly. Unfortunately do not have an a la carte restaurant, and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your carvery meal.

It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last May before an early morning flight to America.
We arrived here are the staff were helpful and friendly, they told us everything we needed to know.
They were slightly funny about taking a card payment for drinks at the bar and it wasn't the flashest hotel in the world but at £60 for a nights stay and two weeks parking with our transfers to the airport included we certainly were not complaining! Manchester wanted to charge us A LOT more than this.
I would state that if you are non smokers to ask for a non smoking room.
My partner is so it wasn't too much of a problem but the room to me as a non smoker did smell bad when we walked in.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Unfortunately we do not take card payments at our bars, however guests can open an account at reception which enables them to charge items to their room.

We do have both smoking and non smoking rooms at the hotel and I do wish that you had spoken to our duty manager who could have arrange an alternative room for you.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

stayed here on the 17 th Feb had a good deal executive room with whirlpool bath ,breakfast ,dinner and free bottle of wine room spotless bed very comfy only little snag at dinner and breakfast food was nice but had been standing out for a while both times at breakfast and dinner we sat down with our food and two minutes later fresh food was put out bad timing on our part ha,,staff were hard working and welcoming was very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on trip adviser following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be welcoming and the staff hardworking.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester > Didsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 117 hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.