We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, awesome food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No. 4 Dine & Wine

No. 4 Dine & Wine
4 Warburton Street | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 6WA, England (Didsbury)
+44 161 445 0448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,825 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $57
Cuisines: International, European, English, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Didsbury
Description: No.4 Dine and Wine opened in 2005 and has gone from strength to strength with a huge amount of regular customers from Didsbury and surrounding areas.Still owned and managed by Paul & Nina Burton who take part in the day to day running of the restaurant with a small team of friendly loyal staff.Menus are seasonal using as many local suppliers as possible. All dishes are homemade including bread baked every day, desserts and their popular chocolate truffles served with coffee.Ideal for a relaxed meal whether popping in for an early dinner or a special occasion. Small parties can also be catered for.Friendly & efficient service with the chance to watch the chefs in the kitchen! Booking advisable but not always essential.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, awesome food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Took my wife there for valentine's dinner and had an amazing meal. We had the valentine's day set menu - the starters, main and dessert were all amazing.

Food was all well presented and very tasty.

Very friendly staff with efficient service.

This place is definitely worth a visit and we will most certainly be going again to try the rest of the menu.

Booking is essential - it was fully booked when we were there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    28
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Went here for my birthday. Nice relaxed atmosphere and decor. Had 3 courses and each was delicious. Hosts were very attentive, and food was served quick no waiting even though all the tables were full. Would definitely recommend!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great choice for a date or special meal out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I picked this restaurant after seeing the great reviews, and wasn't disappointed. The set menu during the week is great value for such a lovely meal. I had bruschetta with goats cheese to start, which was good - but the main was especially delicious! Slow roast belly pork with an apple fritter - gorgeous! The pudding didn't let the meal down either - lemon and lime tart with creme fraiche and raspberry coulis. I'm a big pudding fan, and this was one of the nicest I've had in a restaurant for a while.

The service was really friendly, and there was no feeling of needing to rush through the meal. In fact, we arrived at 7.30pm and were among the last people to leave, but it didn't feel as though this was a problem or frowned upon.

We sat upstairs and perhasp the decor was a little non-descript, but this didn't really matter as the food was so good.

I'd definitely recommend checking out this restaurant if you're in Didsbury - I'll certainly be back!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great service and beutifully





We enjoyed our meal in this lovely restaurant. The service was friendly and efficient. The food was freshly prepared and beautifully presented. We'll certainly be visiting again soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“10 out of 10 for No 4”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

If you want to enjoy some really good food which is freshly prepared by an obviously passionate chef you won't be disappointed with the culinary delights on offer at No 4 in Didsbury. This little gem is tucked away down a small cobbled street and is a million miles away from the noise and mayhem of the main drag providing a little oasis of calm.

We relaxed with a reasonably priced bottle of Chilean Sauvignon, Sol de Andes, Central Valley and marinated Kefalonia mixed olives as we perused the well balanced menu. We both chose a starter of twice baked Roquefort soufflé served with walnuts, red wine pear & balsamic which was absolutely delicious. For the main course I chose the roast rump of lamb which was served pink with dauphinoise potato, minted pea & leek and smoked garlic cream, every mouthful providing a real pleasure on the tongue whilst my wife ordered the grilled Sea Bass fillet served with rosti potato, red pepper tapenade, niçoise vegetables & basil which was delicious.
Unfortunately, we had no room left for the fabulous offerings of deserts and instead we opted to finish our meal with coffee and home made chocolates. It was without doubt a memorable meal and we look forward to returning to try something else on the menu and hopefully leave room for the tantalising baked "Millionaires" cheesecake chocolate ganache & thick cream which sounds fabulous.
Well done Paul and Nina and thanks for a great evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No. 4 Dine & Wine also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to No. 4 Dine & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No. 4 Dine & Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.