We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with oustanding customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Midland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Midland to your Saves list
The Midland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
lancaster
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with oustanding customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We were made very welcome. The service was excellent from the valet parking to the welcome and room service. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was both spacious and comfortable. I would recommend the hotel to everyone and have done so. Many thanks

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 25, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and for your very positive comments about our team and our services. It is appreciated.

Kind Regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    809
    281
    84
    51
See reviews for
297
1,032
121
649
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

I booked a night to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. First impressions, stunning entrance, very grand and opulent, and generally impressive. A nice selection of xmas/jazz standards being played on the piano upon arrival which was a nice touch.

Room was nice enough, though the huge sash windows condensated like a waterfall (no double or secondary glazing) which also contributed to a lot of noise from the outside, which I assumed to be air con units or such like. Bathroom door only closed with a hell of a struggle. Call me picky, but this is meant to be a top-notch hotel.

Service from staff was not amazing sadly. I had to ask for a bottle stopper for the champagne I had ordered for the room, they forgot twice to bring our drinks at breakfast so had almost finished eating before we were served coffee, and I didn't find the staff quite as friendly as I had hoped.

We both enjoyed our stay, but would suggest they sort out some of the rough edges in accommodation finish, and service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 25, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thankyou for your comments and the time taken to write them up. We invest alot of time in training our team so if they failed to impress on what are standard service delivery matters within a reasonable timescale then we shall redouble our efforts going forward and immediately.

Can I ask politely that you make contact with myself so that I can personally look into the matters that you have raised just incase I am unable to identify your booking before I recieve your response.

Many thanks again for your time and input to date.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

What fantastic staff this Hotel has - they were very attentive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We had afternoon tea which was 'to die' for!!! We will definitely be coming back. The Hotel is so central for everything we wanted to do in Manchester. Thank you for our fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We booked an overnight stay at the Midland. A first time stay for both of us and we will, most definitely, be returning. The hotel is a magnificent building, very grand and well maintained. Fantastic location in the city centre of Manchester. The welcome at the door was great and checking in was swift and friendly. We upgraded to a delux room which was situated on the 3rd floor at the front of the building, just on the corner overlooking St Peter's Square. The room was spacious, with a kingsize bed. The furniture was lovely, beautiful light fittings and lamps. Just a really relaxing place to be. The bed was extremely comfortable and the temperature controls for the room easy to us. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice with very friendly staff. We would highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely be staying there again soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your kind remarks it is really appreciated and couldn't have described the Midland any better.

We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Stayed one night for concert in Manchester.
Afternoon tea was magnificent, wonderful food & friendly service.
Reception/concierge team very friendly & went out of way to be of assistance.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us and for offering such positive feedback about our people, our food (especially afternoon tea which goes from strength to strength) and buildnig that is The Midland.

It really is appreciated.

Kind Regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Excellent location in central manchester. Tram and bus stop across the road. Short walk to theatres and central businesses. Refurbished in recent years. Each room is different unlike conventional modern hotels. Outstanding breakfast buffet with staff to match.


Anything less good? No free internet service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 19, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and our staff in such a positive fashion.

We are extremely fortunate with our team and location and its great to read that our footprint in the centre of Manchester with easy access is one of our greatest assets.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

We have stayed here a handful of times and it just gets better and better. Our room was fantastic and we appreciated being welcomed early, even though it was a busy weekend. I like the fact that the concierge staff are the same, friendly chaps who are keen to assisst in any way not matter how small. And the reception is the same. It is so nice to have a conversation with someone and even in a hotel of this size, that they remember you the following day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Manchester, it is pretty central to all that's going on. We were at the MEN arena, just a 15 minute stroll away.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 19, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thankyou for the kind words about our team on Concierge and Reception and the housekeeping team for delivering your fantastic room.

Kind Regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#11 Family Hotel in Manchester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building’s characteristic style continues inside, where you’ll find opulent décor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in.The Midland is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland have 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the leisure club which is home to a gym, swimming pool and squash court. As for your dining experience, well you can choose from a number of different options including the AA rosette award winning French Restaurant, voted one of the top restaurants in Manchester and our newest addition; Mr. Cooper's house & Garden, both overseen by two Michelin Star chef Simon Rogan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.