We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Midland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Midland to your Saves list
The Midland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Guernsey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A great hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We booked the Midland for a pre-Christmas break, having walked past it on a previous trip to Manchester when we thought it looked nice. We were not disappointed and woud definitely stay there again.

We had a basic room and were hoping that it wouldn't be poky or in a poor location but we needn't have worried as it was fine - plenty big enough and with a reasonably sized bathroom.

The staff were all attentive and professional and the surroundings were elegant without being stuffy. There was a wide choice of breakfast fare, which was constantly replenished right up until the end of breakfast. The Octagon was a lovely place to relax and the afternoon tea is recommended!

The location of the hotel is very convenient for lots of attractions and is near a tram station and a train station.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    809
    281
    84
    51
See reviews for
297
1,033
121
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
somerset,uk
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

Great hotel,lots of character throughout the building,with the decor and fitments being of a high standard.Staff were friendly and helpful.Only went B/B and again was not disappointed.Location is central to enjoy all the attractions Manchester as to offer My only gripe would be that there is no parking facility on site,but they do a concierge pickup and drop off service if required
The whole exprience only cost £75 and thats very good value for money for this top notch hotel,booked here and you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this review, January 9, 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

Myself and my partner have just spent 3 days at the midland hotel in Manchester. We arrived on Christmas Eve and have to say we had a wonderful time. The Bedroom was hugh and had everything we needed. Great view of Bridgewater Hall, G Mex and the surrounding area. The hotel is beautiful in side and we loved the Wyern bar
The staff were the brillant and so friendly. Everyone made us feel welcome and couldn't do enough for us. They worked hard. Breakfast was great. Just wanted to say thank you to all who work at the Midland for making our Christmas extra special. We will definately be back

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

We stayed for one night at The Midland as we had tickets for a concert and wanted to make a night of it. The location if perfect - we were a couple of yards from the tram and walking distance to the city centre. Check in was easy and the room we were allocated was a good size. We stayed for a drink in the bar and despite the fact that the hotel was absolutely full with various Christmas functions going on the staff were very attentive. Breakfast was fabulous - a great choice and plenty of it. The only downside was the mattress in our room. It was impossble to sleep comfortably. There were two definite dips on both sides of the mattress which you could not avoid rolling into. As it was only for one night we did not mind so much. If you were staying for longer you could end up with back ache. Apart from that it was great

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We usually stay in other hotels when visiting Manchester but I booked this hotel to celebrate our 6th Wedding Anniversary and be a surprise for my wife.

I rang and emailed the hotel beforehand in the hope everything would run smoothly and it was perfect.

From the moment you arrive at this impressive hotel, you are treated extremely well. The staff on reception are smartly turned out and nothing is too much trouble.

The reception lobby had 2 huge xmas trees beautifully decorated.

The hotel upgraded us to a fantastic room on the 6th floor which was probably one of the superior rooms as it was our wedding anniversary. The bathroom was very big and impressively decorated.

The Lounge bar had plenty of easy chairs/sofas with waiters on hand to order your drinks from the bar. The drinks are very expensive though with a Baileys or Barcadi setting you back £6.50 each. A pint of guinness will cost you £3.95. There is also a 10% bar surcharge put on your drinks bill.

The breakfast in the morning was lovely and food very hot. The chef was on hand to ensure food was replenished fresh all the time.

Overall this has changed our opinion on where to stay in Manchester in the future and we will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Hi

I travel regularly with work and hate hotels to be honest given the fact that I seem to spend most of my working life there so its with some Trepidation that I wander through the doors of any new establishment as I wait the inevitable drury reception and dreadful breakfasts. My first visit to the midland was in september and I have been back there on numerous occasions since. Overall I feel the experience was positive but I do think they could make some improvements:
* On the only occasion that I dined in the hotel I would rate the quality of the food as medicore, I had a burger and chips which wasnt up to scratch and to be honest I had trouble digesting. Two of my colleauges had a caesar salad which only contained chicken, lettuce and dressing. I am not a chef but arent there sapposed to be 7 ingredients on a caesar salad. Complaints about this salad seemed to fall on deaf ears with varying reports from wandering waiters about the correct approach.
* The breakfast wasnt great either and I now tend to avoid it.

* the staff are nice and the atmosphere is always appealing
* The rooms are always of a high standard but the quality of the channel selection leaves much to be desired

This may seem petty but with the quality of other hotels of such a high standard - radisson - they could up their game a bit...

nonetheless I will be back for more...

Silverfox out

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, Guestservices manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 8, 2009
Thank you for raising your concern, I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us, and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you.


Neil Butler

Guest services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for our wedding night, the hotel is fantastic, the staff are polite and helpful, breakfast was fresh and hot, we had the wedding reception in the hotel and both our families were amazed at how grand the hotel is and the Christmas decorations were WOW!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 8, 2009
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA rosette, award winning restaurant The French by Simon Rogan, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Mr. Cooper's house & Garden is also overseen by Simon Rogan and offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland have 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the leisure club which is home to a gym, swimming pool and squash court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.