We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midland Hotel Stay for a wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Midland to your Saves list
The Midland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Midland Hotel Stay for a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Dates Stayed : Dec 27th to Dec 29th 2013
Reason : Wedding

Check-in : No issues. No queue, no fuss, no problem. Within 2 mins I was in my room and found it to be huge - about double the size of what I was expecting.

Room: However, being so large, I would have put a sofa in the room instead of two armchairs in the middle of the room which looked very lonely. There's plenty of room to set up another work top or a sofa seating area which would have been better.

I had some issues with setting the temperature though and also there was no toothbrush or toothpaste in the room. Maybe it was hidden away but I am sure I could have requested a set. I couldn't see any shoe polish either.

Wifi - excellent. Great connection and good speed.

TV Channels - I don't think there was sky sports but not to stress... watched Dave Channel instead.

Breakfast : Great choice of everything you can ask for except champagne (if I was going to be super fussy). Eggs made fresh and to order. No problem finding a seat also. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

Bar : I spent too much money at a bar in Manchester which just says it all. Fantastic.

I was here for a wedding and that went great and overall the hotel stay was lovely. Most definitely my first choice for staying in Manchester City Centre as everything is close by and convenient. During my stay I even requested an extra bed which came at no charge (very unusual). To make matters even better, the bed was set up within 5 mins of my requesting it. Either the staff have little to do or they are very efficient - I believe it's the latter and very well done for it.

Check-out : No problem. I asked for a late check out at 1pm which was given without any problems although I was warned that any time after that I would have to be charged for it - fair enough. I had just one bill to settle as my trip was pre-paid. Left luggage in the concierge and got that back without any stress whatsoever.

I can't fault the service one bit and other than saying this is the best place to stay in Manchester should you want a historic building.

Room Tip: Room 113. Big and spacious. Faces the back of the hotel so less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sklee,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's fantastic to read how pleased you were with your visit and especially with the efficient service which you received in all areas of the hotel.

For future reference, our concierge have a supply of toothbrushes, toothpaste and shoe-shine kits should they be required.

I was pass your kind comments onto the relevant teams and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    814
    282
    84
    51
See reviews for
297
1,036
122
651
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Central location, close to Deansgate for a variety of bars and restaurants. Booked on Lastminute.com so we had a great rate (room only). Not sure if I would want to pay the full rate. Did not use restaurant facilities so can't comment on food quality but what we saw looked nice. We had a standard double (218) no view but then we were only there for a night. Very comfortable bed. Large fluffy towels. Good power shower. Dressing table with hairdryer, trouser press etc. Complimentary magazines, tea and coffee. Well stocked mini bar. Room was very clean. Well maintained public areas, lots of seating. No parking! but again we arrived after 7pm and left before 10am so were able to park on a street meter. (Hotel charge £18 a day at the NCP)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Suzibanter,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's great to read your comments regarding the amenities available in your room and the cleanliness - I will pass your observations onto our Housekeeping team.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed at The Midland in a junior suite for the first time on NYE with my girlfriend, no complaints about the room itself, which we thought was great, we had a table at The French downstairs which was also fantastic experience, we left the next day after a great time.

Here's where the problems started..2 days later I noticed an unexpected charge to my account of £150, I assumed there was some kind of mistake so contacted reception expecting it to be cleared up quite simply, at this point I was told it was a charge for damage caused to the room, namely 'a chunk' was missing from the toilet, this was news to me as we had left the room in immaculate condition, my girlfriend even making up the bed!

The initial attitude of the reception staff was quite offhand and accusatory, informing me that 'No-one else had access to the room following your departure, so it could only have been caused by you'

After informing them that we 100% did not cause this damage I was put in contact with the 'Guest relations manager' he emailed me a damage report containing photos, a huge part of the actual toilet bowl was missing, not sure how anyone could cause that, I was completely shocked that this was a picture of the same room we had left!!

From my conversation with Thomas it now became clear someone else had been in the room after us (the cleaner) not quite the picture painted earlier when I first raised my concerns!

I left Thomas to conduct his 'investigation' over the weekend, which involved speaking to the cleaning staff, and awaited his response, still expecting the matter to be cleared up.

Today I received his email, basically the 'long serving' cleaner denied causing the damage, therefore they were keeping my money and consider the matter closed.

I'm absolutely disgusted with our treatment by The Midland, we are not the kind of people to damage hotel rooms and if we had, then we would have reported it on checkout and gladly paid the repair bill.

Unfortunately I am writing off my £150, but I would encourage anyone staying here to take pictures of your room before leaving (hardly the first thing on your mind after a romantic evening)

Expected much, much better from a hotel of this reputation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Midland Hotel for two nights 3rd & 4th Jan 2014. I must say what a fabulous time we had. The hotel is just superb, all the staff were so helpful, polite. Hotel facilities are also superb. There is so much choice at breakfast, from continental, yoghurts, smoothies,fresh fruit. We had a full English breakfast that was delicious . Free use of the indoor pool and sauna is an added bonus. We had a superior twin bedded room that was very plush and lots of room even enough room for a sofa and chairs. The beds were very comfortable,therefore a good nights sleep. Well worth staying at this beautiful Victorian hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear LillyStockport,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read such fantastic feedback for our Breakfast, Leisure and Housekeeping teams and will pass your kind comments onto those departments later today.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have one again just returned from a wonderful New Years stay at the Midland Hotel Manchester.

We would like to mention 2 people who stood out during our stay and looked after us so well and made our stay so enjoyable! They are Joao De Sousa who is the Manager of the Octagon Bar and Dining Area also Elisahete Hughes who is in Mr Coopers restaurant for breakfast both of whom looked after us so wonderfully. A big thank you to them! They went that extra mile.

It was a 2 night stay eating in the Simon Rogan French Restaurant New Years Eve. Wonderful food! the only negative things were the changes to the restaurant which we personally didn't like, too modern not in keeping with its history. As we had dined in the French last New Years Eve we were expecting just a few changes but we felt that the ambience that was there last year seem to be missing this year!

Last year we had music singing and atmosphere, none of that this year, also no decorations only 2 low cost crackers and no tablecloths or flower arrangements on the tables. We hardly knew it was New Year in there until we came out and met Joao in the Octagon Bar.

Our superior room 609 was first class. Just a few negative comments otherwise we have had a wonderful stay. Thank you very much.

We are members of the Breakaway Club and regard The Midland Hotel as the best hotel in the country.

Robert and Anne Ellis
Shropshire

Room Tip: 609 very good room very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear robert e,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I will pass your compliments onto both members of staff and ensure that they are rewarded for their excellent service. I'm sorry that you were disappointed by the atmosphere during your visit to The French & will feed your comments back to the team there.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon - Best wishes for 2014.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Fantastic stay at the Midland Manchester. The location was very central,Just a short walk away from the theatres, food amazing,room was spacious, the staff are excellent, very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delightful, everything cooked fresh and very tasty.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear sdolan849 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's fantastic to read such great feedback regarding your visit - your kind comments will be much appreciated by the departments concerned.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Overall a great evening - room was clean and had everything that was needed (including a wireless TV!) I felt very comfortable. All the service I had was great and everyone was polite.

However, I opted for the vegetarian meal and was slightly disappointed about the lack of flavour in the main meal. The majority of diners had duck pate and beef whereas I had melon and plain chargrilled vegetables on pastry. All the food was cooked properly but I was a bit disappointed and expected a main meal with more flavour or more to it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Stephanie W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read that you were comfortable in your room and thought the service you received was great.

I will pass your observations regarding the vegetarian option onto our Head Chef; however I'm glad that you enjoyed your evening overall.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon - best wishes for the New Year.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA rosette, award winning restaurant The French by Simon Rogan, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Mr. Cooper's house & Garden is also overseen by Simon Rogan and offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland have 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the leisure club which is home to a gym, swimming pool and squash court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.