We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Midland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Midland to your Saves list
The Midland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was our third stay this year and as usual The Midland doesn't fail to disappoint. We have spent numerous weekends in London but The Midland together with the rapidly improving infrastructure of the city makes Manchester a very attractive proposition. The Midland is without doubt a five star Hotel, whatever anyone else says, because its not just about facilities, its about Class and Service. The moment you walk through the door you enter a different world. How many Hotels do you visit where you actually just want to sit in the lobby and pass the time of day? Where you can take pleasure in just sitting and looking at the surroundings. The reason for this is that you are made to feel at home and the fact that the staff can't do enough for you. As per usual the room was excellent and luxurious. Restaurants were up to their usual high standard with friendly and very efficient service. There can't be many high class Hotels where the restaurant staff make a fuss over children. We will be back at Christmas. And for many years to come.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Adrian S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed another excellent stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel over the festive period.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    808
    281
    84
    51
See reviews for
297
1,031
121
649
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! one of the best hotel breakfast we have ever had! We did have room service as I had read a few review of the restaurant being busy. Cosy comfortable rooms and nice big bathrooms with nice towels etc. great easy access to free wi-fi. Grand entrance friendly staff. Would recommend .

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Parosgirl1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's great to read that you enjoyed your room service breakfast and found our staff friendly. Thank you also for the fantastic picture of our Christmas tree!

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

my partner and i stayed for a long weekend, amazing foyer on arrival, room to die for ! ate in the french on first night, sensational and sublime if a little expensive but it was a special treat, next night we ate in the new restaurant mr coopers house and garden, it was packed, not surprising as cocktails to die for, (try the absinthe fountain) and food every bit as good as the french but at 1/3 the price. service great, breakfast very busy on both days but staff were great, proper local feel to their team and very chatty if a little rushed off their feet ! all in all a fab hotel with amazing ambiance/history at every turn with a splash of modern touches, we will definitely be back !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear emilysarah6,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your compliments are very much appriciated and I'm pleased that you enjoyed both of our new restaurants during your visit.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel several times and it has recently had a restaurant makeover with staff in new uniforms. Very comfortable hotel with pleasant staff. Good breakfast selection and even cope quite well when the hotel is very busy. However had to wait a bit for poached egg on the third morning - order seemed to have got lost - but worth waiting for!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear 200Elaine,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I'm very pleased to read your comments describing The Midland as a "Very comfortable hotel with pleasant staff."

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I just wanted to thank the staff at the MIdland Hotel for yet another fantastic stay, this is our third time there and we have just returned from a weekend break visiting the Christmas markets, from the reception staff to the restaurant staff to the room staff they were all lovely and very welcoming, the rooms were spotless and a lovely base for our stay. We also tried the new FRench REstaurant this time which was superb its clear to see why it's award winning!!! Everything was just perfect and we shall most certainly be returning and we always recommend it to our friends. And although all the staff were amazing we would like to say a special thanks to the lady on reception (who's name escapes me) but went out of her way to help us and also the man in restaurant at breakfast who I think may have been a manager but came over and chatted to us and made a special effort with our children, we noticed he went over to many tables to chat to guests, it's a nice little touch that made people feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble, when I'm sure he had lots of other work to be doing! Many thank MIdland HOtel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Teresa W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your kind comments regarding your most recent stay are very much appriciated and I know the team here will be pleased that their hard work has been recognised.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was my 7th stay at The Midland and again, as always, it was a fantastic experience. Great room, great food, great service. I'll be going back again soon! Love the new restaurant layout and decor!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear LeeStoker,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed yourself as always and that you're taken with the re-design of The Colony to Mr. Cooper's House & Garden.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Brilliant location, we were able to take in the Christmas markets and the theatre at a stroll. The hotel was spotless and spacious and lacked nothing for our needs. The staff were excellent. A good hearty breakfast was served to set up the day :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear toby1891,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your kind comments are much appriciated - I'm pleased to read that you thought our staff were excellent and the hotel was spotless.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#11 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building’s characteristic style continues inside, where you’ll find opulent décor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in.The Midland is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland have 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the leisure club which is home to a gym, swimming pool and squash court. As for your dining experience, well you can choose from a number of different options including the AA rosette award winning French Restaurant, voted one of the top restaurants in Manchester and our newest addition; Mr. Cooper's house & Garden, both overseen by two Michelin Star chef Simon Rogan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.