We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Midland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Midland to your Saves list
The Midland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
U.K
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I had a lovely big room which was beautifully decorated and very clean. It was room only so I can't comment on the breakfast. I was meeting family and we spent quite a long time sitting in the lobby/lounge area where we ate lunch and also had tea and scones later on....the food was very nice and the staff were very helpful...we were quite a big group so it was a lot to deal with! My only complaint was that the check in was a bit slow....only one desk was staffed and they were dealing with another guest. There were 2 more staff floating around behind reception who didn;t acknowledge me. But the girl who did check me in (on the desk that was staffed) was very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Belinda4,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's great to read how pleased you were with your room, and that you found our team helpful during your visit.

I will pass your comments regarding check-in onto our Front Office Manager who will make improvements where possible.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    814
    282
    84
    51
See reviews for
297
1,036
122
651
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Midland with a colleague earlier this week to attend a conference at Manchester Central. It is literally 2 minutes walk from the back door of the hotel to the conference centre so couldn't be handier, and it's 5 minutes walk from Oxford Road station.
The building is very grand and it is beautifully decorated inside. Our rooms were large, comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful and the bar area very pleasant. The breakfast could be slightly more interesting but it was fine.
I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and fully intend to stay there again when in Manchester.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear AnnaF64,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read your kind comments describing the hotel as "grand and.. beautifully decorated inside". I will pass your compliments onto the rest of the team here.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I came here to celebrate my 18th birthday and was a wonderful experience.
Greeted within champagne on arrival and a Madeira wine to cleanse the palette. After a shirt while a selection of sandwiches were presented which were:
- egg mayo
- chicken mayo
- cheddar cheese
- honey and mustard
- cream cheese wrapped in salmon on a skewer.
I don't usually like egg mayo and ham but these were delicious, all served on different bread with no crust, cut into fingers. The came a sultana scone each with clotted cream and home made strawberry preserve which was also delicious. And finally, a selection of cakes and pastries which were very nice but very rich, but small so able to handle. It varied from batten-burg cake, to strawberry tarts to brownies.
The overall experience was fabulous and the staff were very friendly. Will definitely be returning soon!

Room Tip: Book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Lottie H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to The Octagon Lounge at The Midland. I'm pleased to read your kind comments regarding the warm welcome you received from the Lounge team and I hope we were able to make your birthday extra special!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I came here to celebrate my 18th birthday and was a wonderful experience.
Greeted within champagne on arrival and a Madeira wine to cleanse the palette. After a shirt while a selection of sandwiches were presented which were:
- egg mayo
- chicken mayo
- cheddar cheese
- honey and mustard
- cream cheese wrapped in salmon on a skewer.
I don't usually like egg mayo and ham but these were delicious, all served on different bread with no crust, cut into fingers. The came a sultana scone each with clotted cream and home made strawberry preserve which was also delicious. And finally, a selection of cakes and pastries which were very nice but very rich, but small so able to handle. It varied from batten-burg cake, to strawberry tarts to brownies.
The overall experience was fabulous and the staff were very friendly. Will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Lottie H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to The Octagon Lounge at The Midland. I'm pleased to read your kind comments regarding the warm welcome you received from the Lounge team and I hope we were able to make your birthday extra special!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I arrived for a two night stay on business. The welcome was warm and the check in process efficient. My room was on the small side although very comfortable. The air conditioning was loud and difficult to get right as on a slide scale. Breakfast in the restaurant was a little disappointing. The waitress seemed confused when asked to find a table for 1. In the end I had to point out a table laid for two. She thought that would be ok and left me to it. Breakfast is self service and lovely. I was disappointed that I was not offered toast and had to flag a different waiter down to get coffee. Service could have been better on this occasion. However, we all have our off days. I would still highly recommend this stunning hotel to business and leisure guests alike.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear JenWr35,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read your kind comments regarding the warm welcome you received from reception.

I will pass your comments regarding breakfast onto our Food & Beverage Manager - I will ask him to ensure that our breakfast team are aware of the requirements of some of our solo business travellers.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Arriving after 9.00 pm, booking in was rapid and the staff very helpful. An excellent meal in the lounge in comfortable surroundings and speedy service. My room was small but well appointed. My only criticism is that the air condition is noisy and the temperature adjustment is based on a slide rather than actual temperature. Not very helpful.
Breakfast was excellent. I will stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear peterbs28,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm very pleased to read such great comments regarding the speedy, professional service you received from reception and on the lounge.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed on Friday eve 1 Nov 13. Checked in no problem or wait like others have reported. Room had floor to ceiling windows (no noise from road though), comfy king size bed. Nice and clean, inc bathroom. Bar area ok but lacked atmosphere. Hotel is 5 min walk from Deansgate Train station, close to the Hilton if you fancy going for a cocktail like we did. Tram network close to hotel so you can get around Manchester and to media city/Lowry theatre easily and cheaper than taxi. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear DianeBolton,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's great to read such fantastic comments regarding the your room and the speedy service you received from reception.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA rosette, award winning restaurant The French by Simon Rogan, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Mr. Cooper's house & Garden is also overseen by Simon Rogan and offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland have 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the leisure club which is home to a gym, swimming pool and squash court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.