We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant old place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Midland to your Saves list
The Midland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dover, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant old place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Beautiful from the outside and also inside. Great history comes with this hotel and you feel pretty special staying here. Got a good last minute deal so the price was fantatsic for such a top quality place. Good location and superb staff.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Dan H

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    897
    300
    90
    56
See reviews for
333
1,160
129
719
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Midland would be an excellent choice for anyone. Everyone was friendly (the doorman, reception, servers, chambermaids, exercise staff and management) and the overall hospitable experience left us feeling well looked after.
The traditional High Tea was quite tasty and very complete with a lot of choice and quantity. The breakfast menu was extensive and of good quality.
The location is great for the many sites (including theatre) which you can walk to or the trains, buses and taxis are at the doorstep.
Our room was pristine and was cleaned in a timely manner and kept well stocked by delightful chambermaids. Many thanks to all!!!!
Great location, great service........GREAT HOTEL!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor was very quiet and a nice view to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Willene C

Thank you for your excellent review. Your comments regarding the hotel and particularly the staff and service are greatly appreciated as we pride ourselves on the service we deliver.

I hope we can welcome you back to The Midland in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from an overnight stay at The Midland hotel. What can I say but had an absolutely brilliant time. It is the best hotel I have ever stayed in , at home or abroad. This was our 3rd stay and are always looking for an excuse to go back!! The food is excellent, the hotel is spotless with sumptuous surroundings, the staff cannot to enough for you. Our room was amazing!! Did not want to leave!! However, leave we had to and to my horror on the way home on the train, I discovered I had left my Kindle in the room. I was upset!! I rang the hotel who put me through to Joe Mossford ( Security manager) who was just brilliant! He located my Kindle, and posted it to me Special delivery on the Monday and I received it Tuesday!! I cannot thank him enough. What a Star! But that is what makes The Midland so special, the staff make it so!Also it is so well situated for the trains, the shopping area and the M.E.N.Arena So if anyone is off to Manchester stay at The Midland, you will not be disappointed. Thank you The Midland!

Room Tip: Don't need to they are all Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear bpj-2

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Midland. I'm delighted that you had such a fantastic stay and received such excellent service from Joe, I will ensure that he sees your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Famous then for the historical business meeting between Mr Rolls and Mrs Royce (1904) and still a well deserved reputation for excellence now almost 109 years later! We stayed for one night whilst attending a concert ("Clannad", they were brilliant too!), just across the road at The Bridgewater Hall - Fantastic stay - Thank you to all the staff who were very helpful and highly professional. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in in a hotel. The Midland has a central location with plenty of excellent restaurants within walking distance if you don't want to eat in the Hotel itself. We ate at the "Halle Restaurant" in Bridgewater Hall and also in Jamie Oliver's Restaurant, both were excellent. The only minor drawback was the lack of hotel parking and the nearest parking was the Manchester Central NCP car park across the road, which cost us almost £19 for 24 hours with no hotel concession for guests - but I guess that's the price you have to pay for the city center location. We felt that our stay was very good value for money and we enjoyed it so much I think we will be planning a few more regular trips to stay here - There is so much to do in Manchester, it's GREAT!

Room Tip: Rooms are excellent but views aren't so great and are mainly of the streets - But to quote a fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Oldilocks

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at The Midland. I'm delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay and that the team here played such a part in that. It's also great to hear of your intention to return and I hope to see you here again soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After attending a dinner dance at this wonderful hotel we decided last minute to stay over the staff were hugely accomodating and at midnight managed to find us a superb room. Having stayed in hotels across Manchester I have to say this is by far the best. We stayed in a beautiful room where the staff did everything to help. At 4 in the morning room service was quick efficient with a good range of food available and friendly staff to deliver it. The bar staff in the residents bar were helpful and provided us with superb table service.
At breakfast there was a big selection with a gluten free option for my partner which was fantastic.
Check out was easy quick and efficient.
Would definitely stay here and again and recommend it to anyone staying in Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Ciaramaloney

Thank you for your excellent review following your recent and unexpected stay at The Midland. I'm delighted that you were able to experience the fantastic service offered by our team as well as the hotel facilities. Your recommendation is much appreciated and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here with the familly for a wedding. Travel cot supplied by hotel, big room and all the facilities we could need for a 2 night stay. The swimming pool was empty first thing Monday morning, as we're the other leisure facilities. Helpful door staff to point us in the right direction. Parked in the public car park opposite which was handy if a little expensive at £40 for 2 days.
Would highly recommend for a stay in central Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Philcollins50

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland following your recent stay. Your positive comments and recommendation are greatly appreciated and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

And do you know what nothing did!!!! We had a great meeting at this lovely hotel. Now I know my last review of this place was less than pleasing but this time with a huge meeting to deliver the team at The Midland pulled out the stops. 175 delegates for 2 days, 2 parallel sessions, dinner for 180 etc there was the propensity for it all to go wrong. However, all was good. The Ops Team were great, they gave us a bat phone and we could call as and when we needed them. The food was all delivered on time and the dinner on Saturday night was very good considering the numbers catered for.

Oh and they upgraded me and left me gifts in my room - not that I am shallow enough to let this influence me but hey they didn't have to.

Thanks Team - our initial feedback from delegates concurred with us as well. Great venue and next time we are considering Manchester you will definitely be on the list.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Siobhan W

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to The Midland. I'm delighted that we were able to provide an improved experience than that of your previous visit and your positive comments particularly regarding the team and their service are greatly appreciated.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#11 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA rosette, award winning restaurant The French by Simon Rogan, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Mr. Cooper's house & Garden is also overseen by Simon Rogan and offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland have 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the leisure club which is home to a gym, swimming pool and squash court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.