We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Manchester East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wall Way, Debdale Park | Hyde Road, Manchester M18 7LJ ‎, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #36 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I detest driving to Manchester so I always look for a hotel on the outskirts to save the drive into the city centre.
This hotel has a brilliant location , large car park. It serves food but if that doesn't tickle your fancy there is a pub and Mcdonalds within walking distance.
Reception staff are always very friendly and efficient. The room are always kept in a high state of cleanliness.
Definately would recommend the hotle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Niviksters

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at our hotel. I agree with you that we are ideally located to travel into Manchester and many of our guests choose to stay with us and take advantage of our free parking, rather than pay a premium at some city centre hotels.

I am delighted by your kind comments on the staff here and I will communicate these at our next team meeting.

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    177
    63
    28
    15
See reviews for
108
104
30
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for one night for RW concert at Ethiad stadium. Booked in by friendly reception staff. Room clean and comfortable, free-view TV, drinks making facilities. Freephone for taxi company in reception (£7 to Ethiad, £10 return). Breakfast was buffet consisting of cerials / toast / fruit juice / tea / coffee / scrambled egg / sausage / beans. Were advised by reception staff to be early for breakfast due to hotel being busy. Overall, a good, overnight stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear MrJ692

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am delighted that your stay with us was a very pleasant one. We experienced a period of increased demand during the recent concerts at the Etihad stadium, I am delighted that the team here were still able to provide you with an excellent level of service.

I hope that we may welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Manchester. Contact us directly for our best available rates.

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed Here June 22nd 2013 Overnight As Me And Friends Were Going To Robbie Williams Concert! Room Was Really Nice, Staff Really Friendly And Helpful! Would definatly Stay Here Again! Mcdonalds Right By It Which Was A Big Plus But You Can Get Pizza 24 Hours A Day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Corrine_Chris

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted by your positive comments and the 5/5 score you have attributed to us. I am glad that the team here were able to provide you with an excellent level of customer service and I will pass your comments along to them at our next team meeting.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here last wednesday as went to robbie williams concert.Hotel was lovely and clean and beds were very comfortable.I especially liked the choice of either a soft or firm pillow.The guy on reception was friendly and helpfull.Breakfast was ok.All in all a great experience keep up the good work and a big well done to the cleaning staff as room was spotless

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear hazza23_12

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted by your comments and I will pass these along to the entire team here at our next meeting.

I hope that we will be able to accommodate you again on your next visit to Manchester. Book with us direct to find our best available rates.

Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Checked in earlier today and was greeted by a very miserable female receptionist who was like a robot! No charisma, no pleasantries!

So I'm now in my room and as its a warm day I try to open my window and it was stuck. A member of staff tried to open and couldn't so gave me a fan! Things like that should be checked daily!

Now for food in the hotel restaurant..... Had gammon and chips and rather than a pineapple I asked for an egg (normal question) to Miss Moody receptionist reply was "we can't cook eggs here, only scrambled" Awful!! It's an egg not a tiramisu!!

The "special" for the evening was beef and veg so my colleague asked for horseradish sauce and surprise, surprise they didn't have it! And the 2 orders were supposed to come out together but there was a 10 minute difference!

4 more nights of this!! God help me!!



  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Jacko1423

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your current stay. However, I must admit that I am very disappointed by your comments.

I am sorry to hear that your experience at check in and also at the bar was below your expectations. We generally receive a lot of positive comments about the team here and in the main I believe that they provide a consistent and excellent level of customer service.

With regards to your experience at dinner, we are a limited service hotel and offer a menu that is best suited to this type of hotel. Our gammon dish is only advertised as being served with pineapple. The only egg dish we provide is the scrambled egg during our breakfast service and is cooked from a pre-scrambled mixture. We will always do our best to accommodate any particular requests from our guests, but unfortunately we are sometimes limited by the stock we keep on site.
I have also discussed your comments with regards to the delay in time in dishes being served with the staff who were working at the time. The orders your party placed were placed separately and approximately 10 minutes apart. I feel your comments are somewhat unfair as we prepare and serve all orders in the order which they are received. We will always strive to deliver all orders to a table together should those orders be placed at the same time.

I understand that you are still currently in-house and I am sorry that you felt it necessary to post a review on Tripadvisor first, rather than discuss your issues with a member of management so that we may have be afforded the opportunity to rectify these issues.
Ultimately, I am very sorry to read your review and I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss your comments further and work towards a resolution so that the rest of your stay may be an exceptional one. I can be contacted at the front desk, however should I not be available please feel free to speak to member of the senior management team. Alternatively, I can be contacted at reservations@hiexpressmanchester.co.uk.

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 days as went to the Robbie Williams Concert.Hotel very clean has everything you would need fresh towels every day,coffee and tea refills,very friendly staff quiet hotel considering second night full of female Robbie fans.Need to take own toilet paper as theirs not very soft.Would stay again (good breakfast )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear KATE60-61

I am very pleased by the comments in your review of our hotel. All the staff here worked very hard during the recent nearby concerts and I delighted to hear that they were able to provide a service in line with their usual high standards. I will pass your excellent comments on to them at our next meeting.

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here on Saturday evening. This was a base for us to attend the Robbie Williams concert. The Hotel was very busy and a notice did state that breakfast would be a busy time. The staff were very pleasant considering they were extremely busy. Well done to them all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear sue j

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am delighted by your comments and I will make sure these are passed on to the entire team here at our next meeting.

Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester East

Address: Wall Way, Debdale Park | Hyde Road, Manchester M18 7LJ ‎, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#35 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn East Manchester East is just 1 mile from the M60 motorway, Junction 24, and M67, Junction 1. Rates include continental breakfast with hot choices and free car parking and coach access. We are just 2 miles from City of Manchester Stadium, Sport City and Manchester Velodrome home of British Cycling, and a short taxi journey to Old Trafford Stadium, home of Manchester United Football Club.All rooms offer wifi access, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. Manchester International Airport is 15 minutes away, whilst an hour's drive by motorway from the hotel will take you to the English Lake District and to the seaside coastal resorts of Blackpool, and the city of Liverpool. Within Manchester city centre are major and small art galleries and museums, including the Tate North, the new Lowry at Salford Quays, the City Art Gallery, the Manchester Museum and the Museum of Science and Industry , as examples. Whether you decide to do shopping in the Trafford Centre or attend a concert at the MEN Arena, you are always welcome at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, Gorton, Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Manchester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.