We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Roma Restaurant

La Roma Restaurant
Lord Nelson | Ringley Hall Rd, Manchester M26 1GT, England
01204 707 932
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 1,643 restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $17 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Riverside Italian with al fresco dining at Stoneclough, near Bolton.Stefano ran La Roma in Bromley Cross for 10 years and has now moved the operation to Stoneclough, near Bolton. It’s in a picturesque spot right next to the River Irwell and outside seating makes the most of the location. Expect classic Italian food prepared fresh to order with signature dishes like their Cartoccio Mushrooms, deep-fried mushrooms stuffed with pate and wrapped in filo pastry. It’s a large menu with lots of pizza and pasta choices and plenty of meat and fish mains with seafood a real speciality here. The wine list is all-Italian. La Roma is a relaxed and intimate venue, convenient for both Bolton and Manchester. It’s open for lunch and dinner, seven days a week. San Marco in Blackrod is a sister venue.
Salford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been to La Roma at least 4 times now & have never been disappointed. The food is beautifully cooked & presented by friendly, proffessional staff. A great atmosphere with customers from all walks of life. The specials are wonderful & the spahetti & meatballs are gorgeous. I would not hessitate to recommend La Roma.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    48
    19
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Regular diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Fabulous Deli, great staff and atmosphere. Genuine Italian food made to order. Friends and I are regular diners.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I had lunch at this restaurant, we decided to go for one of the house specials which was either roast beef or roast lamb dinner. We ordered our food and waited, the staff were attentive and there was a good atmosphere with plenty of diners. I have to say we were both disappointed when our lunch arrived the meat was not roasted on the premises, and looked like it had come from a sandwich meat catering pack, for the price of the meal I expected something a little more than what was served I would advise people to steer clear of the roast dinner menu and stick to there core menu. We left totally disappointed and it will be a long time before we consider going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Great!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have visited this restaurant many times an am always impressed with the quality of food and service. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fancy a change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Definately worth a visit for a change of venue if you want something fairly local and not treck into the city. Would nt rush back, but had a good time and there is a great pub across the bridge
The restaurant is an old pub and it still looks that way, but the food we had was very tasty and enough choices. The waitresses need to smile a bit, but the service was good & glad to see wine at reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Roma Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to La Roma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Roma Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.