We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-MAZE-BALLS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Union

New Union
Manchester, England (Manchester City Centre)
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 165 nightlife in Manchester
Type: Gay Bars
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This gay bar is always crowded because of its great drinks, good cheer and nighly cabaret revues.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A-MAZE-BALLS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Love the drag shows! Love watching the hen parties on the poles! Being the most femme in my group of lesbuddies I also love that I have the highest score on the punch bag between us. In the daytime it's a nice place to relax with the other side being very pub-like with a pool table and a jukebox so the music choice is up to you. Definitely head there at Pride for cheesy music, drag shows and karaoke. It will be a bit rammed but I met my lady there six years ago so it holds a special place for me. Drinks prices very reasonable too

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Dont be surprised to see this place absolutely heaving on a weekend!
Great cheesy and upto date music - dance floor complete with 2 poles - this is always entertaining when you see the average Joe have a try at being a pole dancer!
Cheap drinks, fast service at the bars.
Entertainment on through the week.
In a great location - close to public transport and other bars.
Usually about £1 to get in at weekends.
Toilets aren't a great size.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun Bar and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel and bar for 4 years now and i have booked again for next year's Mardi Gras. The staff are friendly and the regular clientele are chatty and good company

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Old School”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Old school pub with a great vibe and they even have drag shows! YAY!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fab fun and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

stayed in october 2010 going back in november friendly staff good fun and clean nice comfy bed good en suite . highly recomended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Union also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to New Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added New Union to your Saves list