We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctive building worth exploring for an hour or so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Rylands Library

John Rylands Library
150 Deansgate, Manchester M3 3EH, England
0161 306 0555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 81 Attractions in Manchester
Type: Architectural Buildings, Libraries, Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The University Library of Manchester provides an extensive range of services and resources to actual and virtual visitors.
cheshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Distinctive building worth exploring for an hour or so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Worth popping in for an hour or so to explore this building built by the philanthropist John Ryland. This library is free to enter and the building style looks much later than the 1900 date it was built.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    261
    26
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“A treasure I finally uncovered!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I can't believe how many times I've told myself I'd visit the John Rylands Library and finally we did. What an amazing building! The story of its building in memory of her late husband, a Manchester cotton baron, by Enriqueta Rylands was very touching. The building, in a wonderful neo-Gothic style, almost usurps the fantastic collections. The exhibits were fascinating, especially the oldest extant fragment of the New Testament. The reading room, often used by my daughter to study, is awesome. And, even if you don't need to, a visit to the basement toilets is a must. Victorian plumbing at its best!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Gateway to another world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Free to go in, this is a neo-gothic library with exhibitions and displays to stimulate the intellect. A not so much a hidden as a lesser-known gem. Go and have a butcher's.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Worth a visit - if only to see the oldest known fragment of the New testament (I was awed, and I'm not even Christian!).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I wondered how one of the biggest attractions in Manchester could be a library. Yet it was quite an interesting place and there is no charge (donations accepted). Don't miss the beautiful stained glass windows along the corridor. The main reading room is stunning.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Rylands Library also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to John Rylands Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Rylands Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.