We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was average!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rosso Restaurant and Bar

Rosso Restaurant and Bar
43-45 Spring Gardens, Manchester M2 2BG, England
0161 832 1400
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosso Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #242 of 1,766 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $26 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Housed in a Grade II Listed building, Rosso Restaurant Manchester presents fine Italian cuisine and exquisite wines in a magnificent and contemporary setting. Owned by Rio Ferdinand, Rosso has glamorous cocktails, regular live jazz and a cool celebrity crowd. Full of delicious dishes, the Rosso menu features fresh pasta, pizza and risotto, along with fine meat and fish dishes.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It was average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We went to Rosso's whilst visiting Manchester over Christmas 2012 and we found it just to be okay! The atmosphere in the restaurant was really great with a live singer and the restaurant was very busy but the food just did not live up to the surroundings.

I visit San Carlos in Liverpool a lot and thought this restaurant would be similar but it really is not. My friends often visit Rosso's for lunch and mentioned that they have really great deals for the lunch period so I would probably return for this deal but I wouldn't pay full price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    375
    194
    118
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Christmas Treat !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Atmosphere great, food good, service good. I would definitely be going back some time very soon. i found the restaurant was reasonably priced cost around £50 each for drinks and food plus starters, staff was helpful took our coats before seating us at our table. booked online had no problem once we arrived there email recieved back confirming my table booking. will be going back asap great place to dine. x

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

OK restaurant, but tends to be full of people visiting it because of it's famous owner, rather than the quality of the food! Good for celeb spotting, but if you're after decent Italian fare, try Stock or San Carlo

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The lunch deal is £13 for 2 courses and £5 per bottle of wine.

Food is great, wine on offer is Pinot Grigio and a very good wine for the price. Waiters come round and top up the wine regularly. Great place for weekend lunch on a budget.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surroundings and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had lunch at Rosso, Manchester this last week. Service, hospitality, and food of excellent standard. If in Manchester definitely a restaurant not to miss. Would not hesitate to recommend or revisit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosso Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Rosso Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosso Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.