We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #41 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Not too far from Piccadilly, also close to the university if you have business there. I did run into initial hassles with whether this was pre-paid, the card key didn't work at first, and the wifi was a slight hassle. I'm not keen on basement level reception areas. But the room was lovely, quiet, clean and modern with all facilities. Great bathroom, good coffee-making equipment. The price isn't cheap but OK for (almost) city centre, and a breakfast was included! Really not much to complain about, recommended.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    283
    116
    30
    25
See reviews for
84
176
44
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Room size and facilities were fine, nice bathroom and modern feel. Carpet was filthy! Looked like blood stains on the carpet near the bathroom and then lots of other 'mucky' marks thorughout the room. A/C unit was broken and the room was extremely stuffy and warm as you can't open the windows. Reported to reception who made a note in a book under the counter, they advised someone would look at it. I'm not sure if someone did look at it however it wasn't fixed. Would have been nice to have a message to say that it had or hadn't been checked and couldn't be fixed with an apology and offer of a room change - Is that too much to ask? In my view, as the customer, I shouldn't have to keep chasing the hotel to see if something has been done, basic (very basic) customer service. The staff in the hotel are friendly enough but lack enthusiasm and claerly not bothered if you have a problem. On the plus side the hotel is in a great location for shopping, theatre and gay village. So all in all I had 2 poor nights sleep due to the stuffy warm room. I would stay at the hotel again but only in winter (when the room's at an acceptable temperature!) and also with plastic covers on my feet due to the filthy carpets. Incidentally I completed a hotel on-line review, the last question was would you like to be contacted by a member of the hotel management team? - I answered yes, 3 days later and still no call. The management team need to lead by example, you can't expect to have a motivated, loyal and sucessful work force if you don't! Don;t bother with the call now, you have my feedback :-) (and from a Travel Industry professional who stays in hotels every week!)

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear Jon H,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room and bathroom.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the carpet condition, air conditioning and customer service which was unacceptable. We will address these concerns. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

First of all the location is very good who want to live in city center and its a good value of ur money, the cleanness is also dood,all main pubs and clubs are near to its,over all its a good
hotel, the staff is also very friendly,

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Holiday Inn Express during your visit to Manchester.

I am delighted to hear that you found our location helpful and you enjoyed your stay.

I shall be sure to pass on your kind feedback to the rest of the team.

Kind regards,

Sarah Hampton
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My daughter and I stayed last week for 2 nights as she was auditioning for a uni close by, Great location, easy to find everything. Although breakfast area small we found everything was good. Room was lovely and clean and the shower facilities was lovely. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Express and for leaving a review of your stay.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

Kind regards,

Sarah Hampton
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

near the train station
excellent shower
breakfast that will not excite
staff that has no soul for a job that works
surrounded by a variety of useful shops
exchange near the hotel
from traditional pubs to fast food restaurants surround this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear qulen,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you liked our shower. It is truly regrettable though that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us and sincerely apologize if the level of service you have received was less than satisfactory. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured that actions will be taken accordingly in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate England
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Room 511 corner room with interesting views out of two windows and fairly quiet.for a city centre hotel. Average size (not too compact) and decent shower room with great shower. Bed ok and good TV + desk for the workers. So, a nice comfortable room and at £64 for a double room plus one free glass of wine (priority club rewards member) and it was well on the way to 5 stars. Free wifi too was welcome (and quite strong signal)
But...the breakfast was dreadful- well not worth even going to! Self service tea machine with tray overflowing, no breakfast tea bags, very packed squashed tables- very poor quality food- peppery scrambled eggs- were they powdered?- no bacon, lots of queuing. I resorted to self service toast and honey and a mug of tea. Never had such a bad breakfast in a hotel before.
11.00 check out, too was a little early.
Holiday Inn need to look at Premier inns as their competitors- they have 12.00 check out and decent breakfasts.
Pity really as it has a lot going for it but that check out and breakfast leaves a sour taste- as does the scrambled eggs.
and....Reception need to practice eye contact though that's a minor issue I suppose. But the Chinese man failed this morning to get any info out of them about the VAT in his bill. Once he paid- he was a write off.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 5 and above will be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear cagedavid,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We're happy you liked your room accommodation. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret the breakfast served during your stay did not live up to your expectations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

i've had to stay in this hotel a lot recently due to a relocation with work. i chose this hotel over others due to the free wifi and the free breakfast. the wifi isn't the best (it cuts out sometimes) but i managed to watch things on iplayer without any big issues. the breakfast is basic but does cover most standard items i.e scrambled eggs, yoghurt, toast, beans, sausages, croissants.. etc. i mostly just had the yoghurts, although i was a bit dismayed to find that some of the spoons didn't seem clean at all - i had to wipe one down with a serviette.
the room (i had a standard one) was clean and relatively spacious. the shower was very good and the bathroom was also very clean. i thought the bed was very comfy and i liked the choice of pillows.
the location is pretty good, it's less than 10 mins walk away from the town centre and it was perfect for my new workplace.
at the end of the day this place is a holiday inn - it's not going to be entertaining or exciting, but it does the job and i would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Sarah Hampton
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Address: 2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#34 Business Hotel in Manchester
#38 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Cc-Oxford Road Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.