We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good efficient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #40 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Swords, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very good efficient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Got this hotel through a Hotwire deal. The staff were were efficient and friendly. Room although small was comfortable. It is close to the centre of Manchester and close to the tramline and on the direct (although very slow) bus to Manchester Airport

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    283
    116
    30
    25
See reviews for
84
176
44
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is in a great location for the city centre/Oxford Road station and is done out in a nice, modern style. However, we had a few niggles with the room and a major problem with noise!

Firstly, the shower didn't drain very well and we had no shower gel in our dispenser. Secondly there was an obscene word scribbled on the wall in our room. Only small and at first just looked like a dirty mark. Having said that, I took a picture and showed reception the next day who were decidedly shocked and apologetic, and asked me to send them the picture in disbelief. Thirdly the breakfast area is far too small. One of our party grabbed a table while the other two of us got our food and vice versa. We had finished our food by the time our friend came back. This makes it quite difficult to just nip up for some more juice/coffe/milk etc. Also things weren't replaced until they actually ran out which meant standing waiting...only a problem when you realise you're holding up 10 people behind you just because you want some Frosties. Forthly, we had to complain about the noise at about 8pm as guests in nearby rooms were belting music, screaming and chanting as though at a football match. Security swiftly dealt with them, though we were told that we were on the 'party' side of the hotel...great. Fifthly, our room wasn't overly warm, however Riccardo (who was great) quickly brought us spare duvets.

Finally the major problem we had was with the noise from the club next door. In room 201, we may as well have been sleeping on the club floor. Went to complain (at about 12:30 on a Saturday night) and asked to be moved. Were told they were fully booked and we should have requested to move when we checked in...because we'd obviously know about the pumping club at 2 in the afternoon! The man on reception (unfortunately didn't get his name) was quite rude and told us there was nothing he could do and we'd just have to speak to Jackie in the morning. The club went on until about 4am.

Come morning, after about 4 hours sleep each, we went to complain. Ended up speaking with Laura who was lovely! She was very apologetic about the room, saying that they have an agreement with the club, haven't had a problem for about a month, but she would take the complaints back to them to sort it out. We argued about being put on the 'party' side of the hotel, she explained the bigger rooms are on that side and was shocked at the rude service we recieved the night before. She offered us a full refund, which did make our stay a bit more bareable it has to be said. We'd paid over £100 for three of us (they add on an extra £30 for each extra person...personally don't believe this is warranted as the sofa bed is already in the room).

I am coming back to Manchester in about a month, but won't be staying here purely because of the noise. I'd recommend ringing to book so that you can request a room away from the club.

Room Tip: Request rooms away from the club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear grooveyem,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I apologize apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice had one good experience and one bad . The hotel is on a busy street and it is not in the best area of town (they have to have a security guard on the door ) The rooms are as expected from a holiday in express and the breakfast was ok.
The problem i had was that i stayed for 3 nights, when we checked in the room was not that clean it could have done with a hoover and the room was not cleaned during our stay, the bathroom had now shower gel in the dispenser and i called down for some and it took over 2 hours to get some to the room. I am a gold priority club member and complained about the stay to the duty manger who advised would call me,but never did. Not really great service there are better hotels in Manchester to stay in.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Legin M,

Thank you for posting a review of our property and being a Priority Club Gold Member. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry that on this visit you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the condition of the room and shortcomings from the service of the staff. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is very convenient for Manchester City Centre, it is very good value and the free breakfast was brilliant. We had a room looking out on the main road it was noisy on Sat late evening, someone in the room next door decided to have people in at 1 am which woke us up but the night porter came straight up and sorted it out so well done to him. The shower in the bathroom was lovely and big but there was a stale smell when you opened the door which wasn't very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear LizzieAlice,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel in the area and enjoyed our breakfast selections. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with the noise which affected your stay negatively. We also apologize for the unusual smell of your in-room bathroom that did not live up to your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very clean and modern rooms well worth the money. right in the middle of manchester city centre so great location.

Would definitely stay here again this time it was with work but when I come here with friends I will book this one!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had my reservation booked and was hoping to stay at this hotel for a few nights in March. On my first night of arrival, they could not find my booking. Even with a print out of my actual booking, they advised that it was not on their system and as they were fully booked, they would not accommodate me. After some further questions from me, the receptionist appeared completely unsympathetic to their issue. I had to find another hotel for the night.

Unfriendly and unhelpful staff. Note that if you want to know that you are booked into this hotel, regardless of you having a confirmation that you are booked in, I would recommend you either call the hotel to check again or have another hotel in mind in case you face the same 'system glitch' as I did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear LainCoubert345,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Address: 2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
#34 Business Hotel in Manchester
#38 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Cc-Oxford Road Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.